Shop now Shop now Shop now Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
20
4.7 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 31 August 2007
This book helped me to get an A* in my Latin GCSE after having to start the subject from the very basics four to five months before my exam - it is very user-friendly, starts from scratch and covers all the main topics of the Latin course - grammar and vocabulary. The contents page is detailed and very useful and the information in the book is usually helpfully concise with no waffle, giving you what you need to know. I also found the harder translation practices at the back very helpful as I was doing that section - however, answers are not provided.

All in all, this book really is "Essential GCSE Latin" and together with "Latin Momentum Tests" by Ashley Carter, it is all the material a GCSE candidate will need for their exam.
55 comments| 106 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 February 2011
This book certainly doesn't substitute for any of the existing course books (such as the Cambridge or Oxford courses), nor is it meant to, but it does convey exactly what the title claims, and any student who pays diligent attention to it can count on good success. I have encouraged students to invest in this extremely helpful book and use it myself in teaching. John Taylor is a great gift to the world of classics teaching!
0Comment| 30 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 May 2012
As a wacky wrinkly attempting to do GCSE Latin in one academic year [language in just over a term!]Just wish I'd discovered this earlier.
It is very easy to follow. Only downside is there are no answers to check when you are working independently........perhaps authors could be persuaded to produce a separate answer book.....................
11 comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 April 2012
This is THE essential grammar book for GCSE students. If there is a point of grammar they are struggling with, it is easy to find the right section. There are good practice sentences too. The translations at the back are hard, but are good for last minute practice as the exam approaches.
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 December 2011
It does what a more complex grammar cannot.
Clear defined sections; brief but apt excercises after each; it is a perfect revision guide.
Subjunctive uses are especially well explained.
My favourite part is the unseen practice texts towards the end which help you see if you've understood well enough.
Obviously it's only for a GCSE level but I think this book explains far better certain aspects of fundamental Latin and, therefor, helps to consolidate that essential but basic knowledge which can be forgotten as we progress to higher levels of study.
0Comment| 14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 June 2014
This is a book that cannot be praised highly enough. Its best feature is the grammatical lore that one would usually only learn in a class taught by an excellent GCSE Latin teacher. It is also excellent in the extent of its coverage of Latin grammar itself. To get the best from the book, it would be better if the reader had had some teaching in Latin already. Learning Latin from scratch might require looking at a set of DVD lectures or attending classes first. Getting started from any book without tutoring/mentoring might be difficult for many people.
It is much more than just a reference book though. Its teaching is pretty comprehensive even for someone completely new to the language and a treasure trove for those more advanced in their learning of it. This book is in my opinion an indispensable addition to the bookshelf of the Latin student.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 June 2014
Do not let the slim-line nature of this volume fool you: it is a life-saver. As an MA student of medieval history, one of my course requirements s a one year fast-track module of Latin. which is extremely hard to do! this book was recommended to me by an ex-student, and it really does help. all the cases, nouns and declensions are clearly set out in understandable terminology, including helpful tables and a brief dictionary. this is a very useful aid to use together with whatever source books you are set by your Latin tutor.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 February 2016
This is a brilliant grammar book. I am revisiting Latin again after 20 years ready to teach it to my students. The explanations are exceptionally clear and it has been a pleasure to work through. Consider the books Latin to GCSE Parts 1 and 2 ordered.
If you are new to the subject, getting back into it or revising this will set you on the right path.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 June 2013
Very quick delivery and was exactly as stated. A big help for my son. Especially as Latin books are virtually impossible to find on the high street.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 June 2012
I was just wondering if anyone had any answers for the unseen translation passages at the back of this book. It is such a shame that I can't check if what I have translated is correct.
22 comments| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)