Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop now Shop now Shop now

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 5 November 2011
The book is simply updated from the BS7671:2008. As you know if you are a registered electrician the latest info does come in handy and is required by most trade bodies

Here are the main amendments:

Amendments to part PART 4

There are changes to tables 41.2 & 41.4 due to new fuse standards being introduced:

Old BS 1361 changed to BS 88-3
Old BS 88-2-2 changed to BS 88-2
Old BS 88-2-6 changed to BS 88-2

The effects of these changes are:
* Some Zs values are different
* Withdrawal of certain protective device ratings i.e. 15A devices
* Some time current tables in Appendices are altered
New Section 444- Measures against electromagnetic disturbances.

This new electromagnetic disturbances section provides recommendations to enable the avoidance and reduction of Electromagnetic Interference (EMI).

Electrical installations which include sources of electromagnetic disturbances could be transformers, Welding machines, electric motors, fluorescent lighting and where switching of inductive loads could cause EMI. Also includes routing of cables and inducing of voltages.

Recommendations also cover installations where EMI may disturb or damage IT systems/equipment and electronic circuits and components.

++++
New section 534- Devices for protection against overvoltage. Selection of Surge Protection Devices (SPD).

Transient overvoltages or surges could come from lightning or switching of electrical circuits.

This amendment includes requirements for the installation of Surge Protection Devices (SPDs) and filters to limit transient overvoltages and divert damaging surge current away from sensitive equipment such as computers and electronic circuits.

More info about Surge Protection Devices.

++++
New section 710- Medical Locations

This section involves the safety of patients likely to be subjected to the application of electrical medical equipment in medical locations such as hospitals and dental practices. This includes shock protection and secure supplies for life support. Section 710 also segregates medical locations into 3 groups 0,1 and 2.

++++
New section 729- Operating or Maintenance Gangways.

Mainly concerning Electrical Switch rooms and Restricted Areas. This amendment ties in with Regulation 15 of the Electricity at work Regulations and includes requirements for working space, gangway width, operational access, emergency access, and emergency evacuation.

++++
Appendix 6- New Model Forms for Certification and Reporting.

This amendment brings in the new Electrical Installation Condition Report which replaces the Periodic Inspection Report. More information on the new Electrical Installation Condition Report.
Minor Works amendment NOT introduced.

Note- There were to be changes regarding exceptions to RCD protection where Minor Works are carried out and where SELV and PELV cables are concealed in walls. The important thing to know is that these "proposed" changes (mentioned in the video) were withdrawn and don't feature in the amendments.
On-Site Guide and Guidance Notes

The amended On-Site Guide and Guidance books associated with BS7671 Amendment 1 are due to be published on the following dates:

On-Site Guide- October 2011
Guidance Note 7- January 2012
Guidance Note 1- February 2012
Guidance Note 3- March 2012
Guidance Note 2- April 2012
Guidance Note 4- April 2012
Guidance Note 8- April 2012
Electrical Installation Design Guide: Calculations for Electricians and Designers- April 2012
Guidance Note 5- May 2012
Guidance Note 6- May 2012

Taken from [...]
0Comment| 37 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 March 2014
Please note I do not wish this to be published as a review this is for your information.
The On-Site Guide currently for sale by yourselves was published prior to 2013 and therefore contains typing errors and certain corrections have not been made by the publisher, the 2013 version does not contain these errors. I did not return the book because some of the students I train either cannot afford the guide, or have forgotten to purchase it before attending the course, so as a tutor I feel I should help them and lend the spare copies I have, to them until they can purchase a copy, or if they cannot afford to buy one I lend them a guide until the end of the course. Unfortunately this means that I cannot recommend that they purchase this guide from your company at present, if you could email me when you have the new stock I will advise my students that amazon have the correct stock. I have no axe to grind over this matter these comments are made in good faith.
Yours Sincerely J Wilkins.
11 comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 November 2011
After placing my order for this, I immediately panicked due to the delinquent person who submitted the Amazon Listing (also to Google Shopping as well) put this down as Paperback.
I can safely assure everyone that it is a handy Spiral-bound, just like the Little Red 2008 On-Site Guide. (listing owner should change the format to Spiral-bound)
The cover is different, no free bookmark included with the symbols on, they just printed that straight onto the back page this time.

A few blunders are in the book as others have also found, page 169 Figure G4.9 (ii)
Observation(s)
1. Damage to cable for shower circuit (Cir.No.7) in loft, conductors visible, arcing evident. Classification Code C1 (Danger present, Risk of injury. Immediate remedial action required)
Yet in the Further Investigation Required, it states No...

Again, just a blunder, but they are present.

Good to finally get EMC in the book.

Overall 4/5, really wanted proof reading.
11 comment| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 August 2014
Bought the guide when I was taking the design course, It wasn't until I was part way through the course that my calculations were going slightly off scale. After checking with my tutors corrections and the values In the book we both took a very good look at the book and found that it was a fake.
For what it is the book is small and therefore being an essential book for practicing electricians and students it is an easy profit margin for the counterfeiters.
After contacting Amazon a month after purchase it seems the seller has disappeared and is no longer a marketplace seller, As mine is not the only complaint about this sellers books I wonder if they knew it was counterfeit and got out before they were discovered?
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 January 2013
This is another one of these books that is essential as a reference guide to the current BS7671 electrical wiring regulations, this being the latest version incorporating the latest amendment to the 2008 17th Edition No 1 2011. The amendments use to filter through very slowly over the years, but as can be seen by the dates above there is only 3 years from the 17th edition being published to these amendments being added. Unfortunately for the self employed electrician this is added cost of buying the new edition, at a time when there is very little work about and of course this applies to a vast range of documentation that it is necessary to refer to in order to comply with the current regulations.

I have used this guide for a considerable length of time now and I consider that I can provide a reasonable review on the overall contents, as I have found that it is easy to find what you are looking for and all the information that you require is available. Although this new edition on the surface appears to be very similar to the former edition, the similarity stops at the cover as this edition has been very much revamped and reorganized to cater to the new amendments. Also the diagrams and drawings have been enhanced and are clearer and more descriptive and hence better to understand. It is without doubt that since the IET took over the publication of the regulations and all related documents, they have certainly made there mark, as both the BS7671 edition of the regulations and this on site guide are a lot better laid out and are much more descriptive and are better to understand.

One of the most noticeable changes has been to the descriptions of equipment and the use of BS reference and equipment reference numbers. The whole book layout is crisper and clearer and the use of additional diagrams and drawings to illustrate what they are stating in the book is far better than the original IEE on site guide. There is no doubt that the IET are making their mark on all the original former IEE publications, but all may not be so rosy as I noticed that a new version of the Code of Practice for In-service Inspection and Testing of Electrical Equipment 4th Edition has been published by the IET and initially the price was £60 but has dropped to £48.40, but the 3rd edition was only £32. There is no doubt that the IET have rewritten and radically changed this publication and maybe this higher cost is down to the effort that has been put in, or is it the way things are going.

The original IEE publications although not as stimulating as the IET versions was published to state the regulations and to do them justice that is exactly what they did, but are the IET more of a business based institute and are publications set to rise dramatically with subsequent rewrites, only time will tell. There is no getting away from the fact that this on site guide is an improvement on the previous guide which was also released by the IET, but compared to the original on site guide it is radically different, improved and more understandable. I have no other choice but to rate this as top notch and value for money and certainly highly recommended, as I would not go on a job without a copy in my tool bag.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 December 2015
This is a great addition to an electrician's / technician's arsenal of equipment.
I am an electrical and electronic maintenance technician who on occasion has to carry out installation / modifications to electrical circuitry onsite. Simple diagrams and technical data are to hand in this very handly little ring bound book.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 January 2015
To Amateurs: If you have read Wikipedia on Earthing and UK wiring then this is an interesting, informative and valuable read. If you have been persuaded that you cannot DIY electrical then you are wrong. Read this and note the looseness of the definition of who may do what, and remember that apprentices are not qualified either.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 December 2011
This is the classic detailed reference book for ALL practising and aspiring electricians, to familiarise you with everything you need to know about BS 7671, and this edition incorporates the new first amendment 2011 to bring you fully up to date with the recent changes.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 November 2013
excellent prompt delivery, undamaged and as described by the seller - the latest on-site guide.

- really comfortable to the touch, it fits really lovely in the hand, I expect to have many wonderful years of use.(see tips and guidelines - review attributes). sorry had to add this to get review to submit - insufficient word count.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 March 2012
I purchased this bok to upgrade from the 17th edition copy I had. This book is in the same style and has been updated very well.
It has a number of additions whoing surge control and other parts subject to the amendment 1.
I beleive it is a good text reference and very handy.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse