Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars
195
4.5 out of 5 stars
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£4.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 22 May 2013
The patterns in this book work well, however as a beginner to crochet, I had to find another book to show how to do all of the required stitches. There are colour photos of how each square should look but no diagrams of any of the stitches. If you already know how to crochet then this book will be fine.
0Comment| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 50 REVIEWERon 9 November 2012
Part of the Twenty to Make series, this little book shows you how to make granny squares in all their forms - traditional, floral, scalloped even triangles and more. Interspersed between the motifs are ideas for using them. There are 8 projects in all. I do like the Daisy Loop scarf. Excellent for beginners, can't imagine why anyone else would particularly need this. This review first appeared on yarnsandfabrics website.
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 June 2013
Good ideas very pretty designs and clearly written giving both UK and US instuctions but sadly lacks detailed info on how to do stitches.
0Comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 May 2014
Not the best book I've ever read on crochet.
It's been poorly edited and is definitely NOT for beginners. The intro says that Each square takes just a few hours to make? Surely they mean minutes?

The instructions are occasionally wrong.
Page 18's photo does not match the pattern and page 44, round one should read repeat ten more times, not eleven.

The designs are lovely but it's a shame that the book wasn't better edited as it would be off- putting to a beginner.
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 September 2013
I brought this along with the crochet flowers book for my friend's birthday. she has tried a few and says that some are hard to follow and has been unable as yet to decipher them into English crochet.
nice ideas in there.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 May 2014
It's cheap, but the instructions aren't that easy to follow and I suspect the designs are not that well worked-out.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 September 2015
I’ve been crocheting since the 1960’s and to be honest, have got stale. This little book is just what I wanted. It has simple patterns, easy to follow instructions and mixes stitches I would never have put together in squares. HOWEVER. I wouldn’t recommend it to beginners because it has no basic tutorial. Before starting on these squares you need to be grounded in the basics… chain, double, trebles, slip st etc and understand how to follow a pattern. There are some excellent tutorials on learning to crochet on Youtube and it won’t take you long to get the basics and then you will be well away with this book
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 December 2012
Had been asked to teach members of our Knit and Knatter group to crochet, this book is just right, to show what you can do with a 'Granny Square'.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 29 April 2013
I love these little books, they are loaded with 20 lovely designs and another 20 suggestions on the same theme.
These granny squares are delightful and are fun to make. An ideal way to use up scraps of yarn that would normally accumulate in a plastic bag at the bottom of your yarn stash.
These can be used to make a wonderful blanket or just a little coaster.
There are also circular squares (huh?) to make too! Well they all come under the same category.
This little book is well laid out with lovely colour pictures of the project and alternative with clear instructions and the tool required and sort of yarn needed. They maybe a little challenging if you are a complete beginner and I think a knowledge of some of the stitches is needed before attempting any of these as the instructions are not step by step.
All in all a sweet little book with some valuable patterns.
Recommended
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 April 2014
Well, what can I say? There are some very lovely and different squares to crochet and I have done a couple but I am not very good at crochet so will have to be patient. My intention is to make a throw from all the different types of squares. It's a case of watch this space I think. Would have given 5 stars but some of the photos are not as informative as they might be (my fault I think).
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)