Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
51
4.6 out of 5 stars
Format: Hardcover|Change
Price:£14.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 14 August 2014
I was a little disappointed with this book. It has amusing comments from the presenter about the styles of each era and as a stand alone book is quite good. I bought it after watching & loving the TV series as I thought that it would contain more information regarding some of the things that were covered. The majority of the book covers the history of clothing & whilst that is interesting I bought this book for hints & tips regarding vintage clothing so not as useful as I had hoped. However a nicely laid out book with lots of pictures.
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 August 2014
I borrowed this book from the library and am glad I did that instead of buying it. Dawn O'Porter certainly suits the 60s clothes she loves to buy and she is full of enthusiasm for vintage clothing owing to its quality and superior finish, fabrics etc. However from the TV series I expected much more practical information on how to update and alter vintage items for modern tastes and shapes, and there is little of this other than an extremely basic (even inadequate) guide to sewing on buttons, hemming etc. Most of the book is a history of fashion through the decades which may be of interest to those who did not live through those times, and there is guidance on how to buy vintage items with a list of vintage shops round the UK and online shops. So OK on that basis, but if you need advice on how to make old items wearable in the ways demonstrated on the TV shows this is not the book for you.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 July 2014
Love the TV programme, love the book! A fun look at unique and stylish dressing, the irrepressibly cheerful Dawn has inspired me to start trawling the vintage stores.
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 January 2015
This book makes no attempt at serious history of clothing, or of showing readers how to alter or mend clothes. It covers both topics in a rather superficial way. From the language I get the impression it is aimed at a teen/youth audience, and I personally found it very irritating. It's evidently written for girls; each history chapter has a short section on "What the men were wearing" tacked on at the end. It seems to be written for women of an age at which the seventies or even the eighties seems distant history.

Although it has interesting content, the style is very irritating, to the extent that I'm just wondering how to get rid of it. Not recommended.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 July 2014
A lovely book to delve into with alteration tips and style tips
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 July 2014
I loved this book! I feel very inspired to try vintage, already cleared my wardrobe out. So many unworn clothes!
Thanks Dawn! I highly recommend this one!
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 August 2014
The book was every bit as good as the program's, each era is covered with plenty of information and attention to detail.
Hints and tips abound, help with styles and shapes, background knowledge of reasons for styles, what influenced the changing of styles. I loved it, and it has opened up a whole new world of shopping.
Thanks
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 August 2014
Excellent book, very useful sewing techniques and tips, and a really interesting read.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 August 2014
Fab purchase to run alongside the brilliant programme.
Definitely recommend!
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 August 2014
A lovely book. Encourages you to look afresh at what is in your wardrobe already and not to wear mainstream clothes exclusively
A good read too.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse