Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
79
4.6 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 29 September 2013
For people of a certain age who can vaguely remember the Paul Temple series on the radio this is pure nostalgia. I believe the chances are, if you like one story, as in my case you will like them all. Each Paul Temple adventure has the same ingredients, with danger lurking around every corner.Yes, maybe the series is a bit dated, but I love to sit back and enjoy a fondly loved character from yesteryear, when in my opinion the BBC employed higher standards than t
they do at present. To sum up, a bit dated by today's standards maybe, a little p
predictable in places, yes, but without giving anything away, It was uncomplica
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 September 2013
Format: Audio CD|Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
As a relative newcomer to the Paul Temple shows (having listened to only one broadcast previously) I was very much looking forward to this collection - and I wasn't disappointed! 10 episodes across 5 CDs - what a pleasure and a joy to lose myself in these nostalgic tales for over four and a half hours!

Reproduced to recreate the style of the earlier lost programmes, the whole package comes across as one big nostalgia trip - and I'm certainly going to be buying more very soon - perfect for those long winters nights which will soon be upon us!
0Comment| 14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 September 2013
These new radio serialisations of the Paul Temple crime novels capture perfectly the spohisticated but often darker side of postwar London and the Home Counties. The relationship between Steve and Paul is definitely from a bygone era. To a new listener, it might seem that Paul is horribly condescending to his wife, protecting her from witnessing the sight of a dead body and moaning about the price of her hats. However, he is a man of his time and this faithful replication of the older radio series is immaculate in its depiction of a more secure social structure where an upper middle class crime writer can employ a servant, own a country house and have a close connection with the Home Secretary and the Head of Scotlnd Yard! As always, Steve and Paul take on the ' Gregory Case' and meet a selection of interesting characters including the inevitable 'shady foreigners' and nightclub hosts! Forget the 21st century cynical and tired detective and sit down with a martini to enjoy the mellifluous tones of Paul Temple.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Those enthusiasts who eagerly await another modern "recreation" of a lost Paul Temple broadcast will get a bumper issue this time - it comprises not 6 nor 8 but 10 episodes. Writer Francis Durbridge experimented only once with a radio series of this length, possibly realizing afterwards that listeners could not be expected to remember the content of weekly instalments over so long a period. And how is the mystery extended? Well, the plotting and the dialogue are not as tight as usual and there are often lengthy scenes for characters other than Paul and Steve.

Marjorie Westbury, who played Steve in the original 1946 broadcast, had been a singer prior to her acting career, so here, and elsewhere in this series, Steve is given a few snatches of song. Steve also, in this episode, in her husband's absence, prevails on someone to take her dancing. As for the light-hearted badinage and gentle chivvying that was to endear Paul and his wife Steve to millions of listeners, well, there's not much of it here.

Durbridge usually included in his cast of characters several from North America or European countries, Scotland and Wales, facilitating easy identification for his radio listeners. Attention to voice differentiation has been given in this new "recreation", but I could not always distinguish who was who.

Those who like thrills and spills are well served here: the discovery of two corpses and a plunge off a bridge for Paul and Steve occur before the theme music - Rimsky-Korsakov's "Scheherezade" - closes the first episode.

Overall, I rank this well below the best of the later Paul Temple mysteries, mysteries where the social dynamics and characterization is livelier then here.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 24 September 2013
Format: Audio CD|Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
I am sure that anyone buying this product would be aware that they will be journeyed back to a different time - if not, be aware.
The lost tapes of 1946 have been rebroadcast with a modern cast but using the sound effects and music of the time. Brilliant, pure nostalgic joy. You are in the 40's so you have to be aware of the differences in the attitude to women and foreigners.
Any update would have made this not as enjoyable - the fact that you are transported back to a different time is superb.
I do agree with other reviewers though, ten episodes is a little bit long and certain episodes do appear to be fillers rather than move the story along.
That said, the CD's are a joy to listen to - the BBC broadcasts only finished in the summer, but you can relive each episode in your car or at bedtime.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 28 September 2013
Format: Audio CD|Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
The BBC has released this new recording of a lost Paul Temple mystery. It has been recorded using all the old equipment and effects which certainly gives it a period feel. Sadly missing are the magical Peter Coke and Marjorie Westbury not to mention the thrilling music of "Coronation Scot" that we fans all knew and loved. Crawford Logan and Gelda Stevenson do a first class job as Paul and Steve, but on the whole it lacks the warmth that was present with Peter and Marjorie.
As a story it is enjoyable but the end leaves a lot of unexplained plot. I counted nine bodies in total, which is not a bad innings, but the usual cliffhangers were just not there. Later mysteries were an awful lot better. I just hope that the BBC find some more missing scripts and we here from the Temples again.
A useful addition to the collection, nevertheless.
22 Comments| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 September 2013
I admit to being a committed Paul Temple fan and had been waiting for this release for some time. I have to say that I find Crawford Logan's interpretation of Paul Temple patronising compared to Peter Coke and that 10 episodes is perhaps one or two too many as things start to drag around episodes 6 / 7. Some strange interludes where Steve sits at the piano and sings? Overall worth the wait, but not the very best, let's hope that they keep on finding lost scripts.

The download version is out of sequence in which the final chapter is in Chapter 2's place - not very good.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 22 September 2013
Format: Audio CD|Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
During the second world war a major radio distraction from the surrounding horrors were the Paul Temple mysteries. Whole families collected around the radio and thrilled to the imaginary exploits of Paul, writer and amateur sleuth and his long-suffering wife, Steve.

The Gregory Affair first broadcast in 1946 has been superbly recreated for this new radio series as all the original recordings have been lost. This sounds like a labour of love as the actual sound appears to have been reconstructed along with the sound effects and occasional music ~ the Rimsky Korsakov theme still thrills after all these years

The story, in ten parts, is as complex and inventive as anything written by Francis Durbridge with its plot twists, false leads and spine-tingling adventures.

This new recording will thrill any original Temple fans and may well seduce a new generation into the thrill of radio mystery!!
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 1 October 2013
Format: Audio CD|Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
This is another classic Paul Temple story full of murder, mystery and intrigue. It is beautifully read and dramatised. The story line is fast moving and full of twists and turns keeping you interested all the way through. 10 episodes, two per CD means that this is great value. Highly recommended.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 12 October 2013
Format: Audio CD|Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
I have been a fan of this detective series since it first became available to me when the BBC began to reissue the original with Peter Coke and Marjorie Westbury. What hooked me at first was the wonderful music - The Coronation Scot. Then when it emerged that, as usual, the BBC had lost, destroyed or recorded over the early productions [how could that be?] and recreated them with Crawford Logan and Gerda Stevenson, I was sure that there would be the temptation to update them, which would have meant wholesale destruction of what made the original so enjoyable. However, my fears proved groundless. If anything the updated version is even better than before as the leading characters, as portrayed by Crawford and Gerda, make an even better job than the original actors - though that is not intended to denigrate the earlier actors. It is the same as with films made in the 1930's where filmakers and actors were still learning their art.

Although the Coronation Scot music seems to have disappeared [I know that this music was a relatively late addition], the music chosen for the new series is, in my opinion, very acceptable.

I won't reveal the story, because lovers of the Paul Temple series' will have a pretty good idea of the storyline. It begins with Paul having to be persuaded to help Scotland yard and then followed by Paul solving the mystery, By Timothy!, ably helped by Gerda in the role of his helpless, but intuitive, sidekick, who just loves buying hats. The script cannot always be subjected to too close a scrutiny, but what the hell, that is part of the fun of the series. That said, it is a very good story, well acted and with excellent sound effects.

All in all, very good value and great fun. I hope that there will be lots more and I know that I am not alone in enjoying this period piece.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse