Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.1 out of 5 stars
18
4.1 out of 5 stars
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£13.78+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 3 July 2014
This meander through the mind of the man that is Peter Doherty is little short of miraculous.
Miraculous that he is still here to pen these fragments of scattered thoughts, penetrating observations and moments of genuine genius....miraculous that his will-o-the-wisp charisma and intuitive charm has survived his concerted efforts to obliterate them.
Trying to describe this book is like trying to catch a shadow, between it's pages we glimpse him captured at a moment in time, then are swept up in the meandering malestrom of his thoughts and carried off on the wind.
I doubt he can be contained even within his own words.
Blisteringly insightful yet achingly tortured, Peter is a paradox. He is a man at war with himself yet he retains a mischievous wit that delights in love, life, laughter and longing. He wields it like a sword, piercing his own ego and the incongruousness of others.
I find myself quite unable to call up words that could encapsulate this man, his thoughts, the demons gnawing at his soul.
He is steeped in self-disgust yet he remains aware of his own worth. He is truly an anomaly.
To submerge yourself in his words is like free-falling through Arcadia and wading through of the Rivers of Hades. At the same time.
This isn't a book, it's an experience.
44 Comments| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 July 2014
Feckless rake or reckless fake? That's the question that seems to dog Peter Doherty's career. Like Rochester and Crowley before him, this libertine appears to tread the fine line betwixt genius and madness as he careens rootlessly through life causing disaster to those around him, while like the late Johnny Thunders or the seemingly invulnerable Keith Richards he is one of those rock stars always on the dead pool list of those about to die. Those about to buy salute your crazy life, Peter!
There have been bios, even a book by his mother, but the most fascinating was his Albion Diaries, a kind of uncommonplace scrapbook of the barefoot, bloody inside of his head. This sequel, ably edited by Nina Antonia, is more like a prose and poetry delve into where he found himself (or not) over recent years. It's more readable than visual, though I understand the Kindle version has some extras. It veers from self-pity to real insight and is bound to intrigue fans and even those who dismiss him as a loser. No, he's not the Peter Doherty who wrote a book on how to win a Nobel prize, but maybe if he could shake himself out of his death trip he could win the prize of life. Nobody can tell a drug addict when to quit, it's something only the addict can decide for themselves. Let's hope he makes it soon, but I suspect if he had all the money he's spent on drugs, well, he'd spend it on drugs.
22 Comments| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 June 2014
Peter Doherty's last effort at prose was essentially a photocopied version of his diaries. Although well presented, it served little more than a coffee table book to thumb through, as most of the entries were illegible nonsense.

This book is transcribed which makes for great reading. His diary entries chart from 2008-2013 including his journals and the diaries he wrote whilst on tour.

An engrossing read, written by an artist who is clearly in a dark place. There are funny, moving moments, some entries written by friends and fans, as Peter oft leaves his diaries open for anyone to use at their own behest. There are glimmers of light in the darkness too.

Jokes, poetry, lyrics, setlists, gossip, confessions, truth, lies, nonsense. Peter lays his cards on the table in a twisting, turning, turbulent journey and offers you his hand to join him.

Well worth the asking price.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 August 2014
As a admirer of Peter this book is a must have for any Doherty fan or even if your not a fan.Honest charismatic inspiration too me.Pete's a natural musician and poet and having met him a true gentleman,to many people judge in this world unfortunately and no ones perfect,thanks Pete for sharing and to anyone who wants an honest journal and magnificent diary buy this book . Viva Liberty
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 May 2015
While the Books of Albion was hard to decipher but looked great (I believe they won some graphic awards) yet trying to read Doherty's text was quite the chore and I always felt that a simple translation would have been much better.This time around Doherty's team have done just that and it makes things much clearer.I find it at times half finished, a little prosaic and at times slightly nonsensical.The odd comments with Amy Winehouse seems slightly exploitative,as if a publisher spotted this and used it as a selling device.For me I always feel that with Dohertys reputation as a literary man I've always been slightly disappointed with both diaries, a feeling of a opportunity lost.These could have been The Orton Diaries for the noughties generation but are simple notes and musings from a befuddled,if at times, inspired man. Maybe we expect too much from him but I feel it could have been so much more.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 January 2017
I consider this book to be average. I was a member of the original babyshambles forums and enjoyed the rambling posts, but that was a long time ago, so maybe I've just grown out of it. I still like his outlook, generally, and attitude, and the hat doffs to Yeats, Dickinson, Sassoon etc.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 August 2014
Purchased the Kindle version and now wishing I'd brought the actual book. As a fan of Mr Doherty's I was excited to read his latest offering but think I would have enjoyed it more having a printed copy as the book really reads like a journal/scrapbook of a period of his life.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 September 2014
Although this book is extremely interesting, it is also quite worrying. Pete is obviously an intellectual, however this book can only be described as a collection of his drug induced ramblings.

His excellent prose shines through, but in a very strange way
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 May 2014
Atmospheric and authentic insight into the mind, music & life of Peter Doherty. It's all been assembled by Nina Antonia with characteristic insight and sensitivity. Her introduction is the best writing here by a long way. The tour diaries and interview between Nina and Peter at the end are fascinating too, as are the photos and illustrations.

In between these highpoints are a mass of lyrics, thoughts, observations and other fragments, some more developed than others. They accumulate to create an overall demi-mondain, four-in-the-morning atmosphere, and at times feel like eavesdropping on someone else's all night dope session.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 August 2014
Before opening these pages, I only knew Peter Doherty by reputation and tabloid headline. This is not the full picture and I suspect Peter himself is tired of being judged by such criteria. I don’t know if this was a motivation in his decision to release this book (and bravely lay bare his private thoughts and intimate moments to public scrutiny) but I am glad he has done so. Reading this work will allow you to see the real Peter Doherty – in 3D rather than as a media caricature. The book combines Peter’s Journals and Tour Diaries. The Journals were written at a time in which Peter had already been through the Libertines and had grown used to notoriety, media intrusion and the trappings (and tribulations) of a ‘celebrity’ lifestyle. As a result, a certain world weary and jaded cynicism often pervades his musings. However, refreshingly, Peter is also utterly candid and frequently insightful regarding his own failings and errors of judgment – openly wearing his heart on his sleeve and bravely laying bare realities that show him in a less than flattering light. Thus, the Doherty you encounter in these pages is very much his own man – what you see is what you get – making the Peter Doherty revealed in these pages far more real than the one you might find in any ghost-written ‘celebrity autobiography’. The Tour Diaries section offers a glimpse of life on the road that will likely disabuse many readers of the notion it is especially glamorous. The mundane reality of chaos, squalor, ennui and petty tensions comes across loud and clear. So, who is the Peter Doherty revealed in these pages? A more vulnerable, introspective, thoughtful and well-read individual than the media will have led you to expect. Whether you are already a fan or simply wish to know more about the ‘man behind the headlines’, this is the book that will take you inside Peter Doherty’s world and give you the unexpurgated truth from (and about) the man himself.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)