Shop now Shop now</arg> Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
8
4.6 out of 5 stars
5 star
6
4 star
1
3 star
1
2 star
0
1 star
0
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 3 August 2004
All three artists are well known in America and have strong traditional background and they have embraced digital printing into their work. They have taken the work behind digital prints. If you love to transfer you images onto other materials beside prints this book is perfect. I am amazed what they have achieved, sometimes you cannot tell if it was created on a computer and this gives an original 'feel'. The artists in my view have expanded printmaking in a new direction.
0Comment| 22 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 July 2008
This book is magnificent! It comes at the perfect time, when so many new techniques are available and it has just enough description to make you want to have a go without being prescriptive. The work of the three artists is inspirational and the book a beautiful thing in its own right. As a warning, though,for UK readers all materials are only described in US terms and US trade names, and I had to do a bit of work in finding UK equivalents.
11 comment| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 September 2010
I have a few books on the subject of combining inkjet printing with traditional art materials (there aren't many) most of which are very disappointing. This is a diamond in a sea of sand and stands head and shoulder above the nearest rival.

The book is printed on good paper with decent sized examples of the three authors work. It's very logically laid out starting with the basics and progressing in complexity, without being at all condescending. It covers substrates (printing surfaces) you can buy and then moves on to preparing your own surfaces for your art work. The progression from chapter to chapter is logical and adds another level of (easy to understand) complexity to this interesting and varied art technique. As you can `look inside' the book on Amazon, I won't go into the content of each chapter, suffice to say they are all very interesting. Each chapter has great commentary and instructions with step by step illustrations and a list of materials used. They also have a `Tips' section, a `Creative Explorations' section (ideas of variations and what you can explore next) as well as a `Trouble Shooting' where appropriate.

The level of detail described with each technique is fantastic and never leaves you confused. I have been truly inspired by this book and cannot recommend it enough. A clear five star rating!
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 June 2012
This is an area I have an interest in. I love mixed media. I am trained in Textiles with a major in Embroidery. I use computer textile design in my work and computerised embroidery. I am interested in mixing fine art practice with textiles and combining image with print into stitch . The techniques in this book have been extensively and comprehensively researched, moving from comecially available papers and substrates which I already know about to more complex tecchniques and surfaces. I am still reading and digesting.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 December 2011
It is written by experts in the field of digital art and this makes it a prudent purchase for artists wishing to diverse into digital art printing. There is a lot to be learned along the way, however to achieve the results of these three accomplished artists. This is a good inspirational starting point.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 February 2012
i brought this as an extra christmas present for my wife and she tells me that it is very good!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 July 2016
Happy With Purchase.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 October 2015
bad buy fir me
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)