Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Fitbit



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 9 March 2017
A frightening picture of life in Tudor England, the turmoil of life under Henry the eighth is so real you almost feel you are living there! However it also made me think that the world doesn't change much, greed and power still corrupt! Having said, that a thoroughly readable book that I could hardly put down. Can't wait to read the next book in the series.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
HALL OF FAMETOP 10 REVIEWERon 26 November 2016
I just love this series of "Shardlake" books by C J Sansom. Set in Tudor England they are all a compelling read and highly recommended. I won't give the plot away, however, I would strongly suggest you read the series in the 'correct' chronological order to get the full benefit of these tales. They also served to teach me a bit more about the history of the Tudors.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 April 2017
Again a very gripping book. C. J. Sansom has written a truly brilliant story. I look very much forward to reading the next one in this series
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 April 2017
Brilliantly entertaining and thoroughly deserves the high praise it is getting. Surely only a matter of time before a TV/film deal!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 April 2017
An excelletnt historial novel, judged by someone who doesnt' like historical novels!. Splendid descriptions of Tudor London, smells and all. Page-turning plot and a good array of interesting characters.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 June 2017
Sansom takes you back to Tudor England and to life within the city walls of not just London, but York and Hull. Tying historical acts with interesting fictional characters and plot. From the greed of the rich and powerful to the horrors of the tower and mechanisms of torture. Maybe far fetched but a cracking yarn.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 May 2017
What a gripping story.
This is the fourth I have read, and best yet of the Shardlake series. So much rich history from London to York, then back to the Tower and so on. It brings home how frightening those times were. Gripping story, interesting characters, lots of historical detail. I've had many a late night when I couldn't put this down.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 May 2017
It's Sansom, and it's Shardlake....what's not to love! Trust me, if you adore properly researched history, and mystery....this is your duo!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 May 2017
C J Sansom once again kept me rivetted with the historical detail and the engrossing storyline. Can't wait for the next chapter of Shardlake and Baraks' lives.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 June 2017
As always, C. J. Sanson has produced another brilliant book. The Shardlake series are exeptionally good. Highly recommended.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse