Learn more Download now Shop now Browse your favorite restaurants Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more

on 15 February 2014
This 'how-to' guide is a must read for any business that wants to promote itself online. Gary Vaynerchuk gets it. And as this is the 3rd book in a hugely series, you can also be sure that he translates what he knows into a highly readable book.

In Gary's own words, "I hoped that if I wrote a short, useful book... that broke today's most popular and exciting platforms down to their essential building blocks of text, image, tone, and link capabilities, it would make the exploding social media scene seem a bit less daunting to any marketer or business owner trying to keep up with it." Gary has achieved exactly that.

There is a huge temptation on social media to continually work from the inside-out, tweaking what you do according to your analytics. The reason this book packs such a big punch [sorry for the pun] is that it looks at each platform from the outside-in, never losing sight of the fact that successful marketing leads to sales.

And it does this in a highly informative, entertaining way. Gary Vaynerhook gives you six simple rules of outstanding content:

1. It's native.
2. It doesn't interrupt.
3. It doesn't make demands - often.
4. It leverages pop culture.
5. It's micro.
6. It's consistent and self-aware.

He then channels his huge wealth of experience into critiquing actual posts on different platforms to show what works to create sales, and what doesn't work and why. So that you can go back to each platform, and do things better and sell more.

I read this book on the kindle version, but I have found it so useful that I have ordered the paperback for easier reference. To sum up: buy this book, read it, do the hard work and reap the rewards of increased sales.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 5 August 2015
mainly critiques of other people's social media
22 Comments|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 13 December 2013
I've loved Gary's work for years now and Crush It got me to take social media seriously when, in 2008, it was considered something new and a bit whacky in the UK.

Thank You Economy on the other hand gave long term and strategic advice which didn't just apply to social media but to business and life generally.

JJJRH tells you in simple detail how to use the various platforms that are popular now, in 2013. Each chapter can be read in it's own right and you will get something from each and every page - even if, like me, you consider that you know quite a bit about SM.

The first two books gave you lots of "why" you should be using social media. JJJRH is the manual to tell you how. And from someone who lives it.
11 Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 20 June 2014
In fairness this book has some good general advice and the approach has value regardless of what business you are in.

Howver, the review by KindleLover has it spot on. For those of us selling B2B much of the advice is limited in its use. I was dismayed that LinkedIn was dismissed at the end of 2013 as an emerging network. It's already almost as big as Twitter and has a much higher net worth and relevance for many businesses. There's no real advice there or detailed analysis of the context.

Similarly most of the examples are consumer focused. It's not that the advice isn't good, it's just that the value of the practical examples are lost.

Worth a read but doesn't quite deliver the blueprint for dealing with the proliferation of social networks and dealing with their unique aspects it promises.
11 Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 31 December 2014
wow, Gary even sign it! Paper quality you want keep reading! Arrived in no time! wow The Book is absolutely Aesthetic!
review imagereview image
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 27 February 2018
Jab, Jab, Jab, Right Hook is Gary Vaynerchuck’s ghostwritten book (by Stephanie Land) from 2013. 5 Years on the book is pretty current, as sales and marketing teams still don’t seem to understand the way things work now in the Internet age. As buyers we don’t have to ring you up and get a brochure in the post three days later. We can now go on-line and research your company and it’s products, we can select or deselect your company without you knowing.

Gary, takes you through how brands and marketers need to act with such buyer dysfunction. He also takes you through case studies of the various social networks with examples of good and bad practice.

If social media is new you or you company, this is worth a read, but 5 years on, needs a revamp.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 27 March 2016
Packed full of practical examples, insightful analysis and in-depth guides on how to master each platform. A must have for anyone working in (or using) social media for business.
review image
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 3 June 2016
I bought this being a big fan after "Crush It" and seeing him on YouTube a few times. Sadly the book disappoints. The guidelines are generic and doesn't really expand on what's already said in "Crush It". It's high level, not enough detail and generally underwhelming. It also only really looks as 2-3 avenues: Twitter, Facebook and one or two others. LinkedIn (which is the only channel relevant to me was not included in detail despite the logo being on the front of the book. You can find much detail by Googling for free. Shame as I don't think I'll buy anything else from him. It's ONLY sold in hardback (to make is more expensive) and just feels like its designed to make money. How can it have value when you can find out more (quite easily) on the internet for free?!
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 3 March 2014
The world is shifting, and shifting quickly.

Kids in schools are starting to learn using Ipads - they will be brought up with all this technology at their finger tips.

The older generation are learning more 'social' tech. Hell, my nan not only has Facebook but also a Ipad Air, and uses it a lot.

You now struggle to get a teen away from their link to the internet.

As the internet, technology and social media become more important in peoples life you have to realize that, as a business, you need to attract them where their attention is. Their attention is online. On Facebook, Twitter and other massive social sites.

JJJRH shows you how to grab their attention, keep their attention and then take action <- Important stuff right there.

So if you want to improve your social presence (which trust me, you do) then you NEED to pick up Gary's latest book.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 18 April 2014
I am a fan of Gary Vaynerchuk and his no nonsense plain speaking style, he writes like he speaks in his famous presentations (with the four letter words edited out of course) about a subject he is so passionate about the effective use of social media. Unlike his previous books which focus on relationship building (thank you economy) here he gives loads and loads of practical examples illustrating what is good and what is bad for different B2C social media and the reasons why. This book is also of real quality in terms of illustration and text with a nice to read layout. One for every persons coffee table even if they are not professional marketers.

We may not always agree with everything he says but he does present coherent arguments. It would be nice if he teamed up with some marketeers in the not for profit sector I am sure he would have a lot to offer in helping to stimulate change in behaviour through the use of social media as well as getting people to buy stuff.

I hope he does more especially need a quality book on analytics and what to look for.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)