Learn more Download now Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle New album - Eminem Shop now Shop now

Customer reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
80
The ABC Murders (Poirot)
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£7.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


TOP 500 REVIEWERon 29 August 2017
M. Poirot is faced with the daunting case of a twisted serial killer, stalking the country, oddly leaving an 'ABC' railway guide as his/her calling card at the scene of each murder. Furthermore, the murders are following on alphabetically in sequence for both names of victims and place names. The killer is deliberately teasing M. Poirot with clues and the country is up in arms. An enjoyable psychological mystery that Poirot must solve to prevent the continuation of deaths. Packed with red herrings, clever misdirection and prose, narration switching between first and third person, psychological study - there's alot going on here - making for an excellent read and, furthermore, the absolutely superb denouement does not let us down. Rather different from the traditional murder mystery from Agatha Christie, there is a bigger element of realism here. Overall, very enjoyable indeed.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 21 September 2015
This was my first Agatha Christie book and I thoroughly enjoyed it.

I found the mystery intriguing. I also smile at how how things have changed since the book was written e.g. 'An electric bell trilled sharply above the girl's head' (to you and me, that's a doorbell); when a man packs an overnight bag, he includes a 'spare collar'; and '...The evening post arrived about ten o'clock...'.

The plot is simple: someone arrogantly writes to Hercule Poirot telling him that he/she (no spoilers here!) will murder someone whose surname begins with the letter A in Andover on a certain date. The murderer signs the letter as "ABC".

After the murder, Poirot receives another letter: this time the victim will be someone whose surname begins with the letter B, living in Bexhill-on-Sea, and again ABC names the date.

It's risky business, giving prior notice of a murder - naming the location, date and even first letter of the victim's surname. It increases the chance of being caught. That's part of the tension in the book.

The quest is not just a whodunnit but also who will the next victim be and how far down the alphabet will it get. (And how would ABC ever handle Z?)

The plot is simple but the book isn't (when you read the book, you'll understand what I mean by that). Thoroughly recommended.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 27 June 2017
A review of the hardback book.
Clear print.
A very good mystery, cleverly thought out and keeps the reader guessing.
A very good twist at the end.
Features Captain Hastings and Inspector Japp.
A recommended read
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 1 September 2017
I was introduced to the world of Agatha Christie, many years ago, through this story. To have it in this hardback format, is a delight.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 26 November 2017
Bought for an Agatha fan !
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 16 September 2017
good
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 2 November 2017
Great for what I was looking for, classic Agatha Mystery
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 19 February 2011
This Poirot novel, narrated by Captain Hastings, differs somewhat from the norm. The killer has written to Poirot to announce his act in advance, and so the famous detective joins the hunt.

This is an interesting book, as Hastings chooses to narrate some of the action in the third person - something he's not done before - which I initially found quite an odd move on Christie's part, as it distracted from the flow, and by telling the reader about the murderer removed us from the mystery of who done.

This has to be one of the best Poirot books in the set. The action moves at a good pace and there is a wide range of characters who avoid the usual stereotypes. Christie even drops in a few in jokes about detective fiction. The plot is surprisingly complex and lulls the reader into a false sense of security - and though my thinking towards the end was close to the concussion, I failed to work things out before the big reveal.

A good entry in the series, and something nice to quickly read and get me back into a reading mood after some disappointments.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 21 February 2001
Fans of Christie have marvelled at the 'quaint english country village with a dark secret' stories that we have known and loved for years. What a delightful departure in the ABC Murders. A brutal serial killer goades Hercule Poirot with clues as to the next victim, but he always arrives too late to save them. Why has the killer chosen to write to Hercule Poirot? What have the victims got in common? When will the killer strike again? A very clever and thoroughly enjoyable read.
0Comment| 15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
HALL OF FAMETOP 500 REVIEWERVINE VOICEon 29 October 2014
Hercule Poirot receives a taunting anonymous letter telling him there will be a murder in Andover on a certain date and signed 'A B C'. When a woman is found dead in her tobacconists/newsagents shop with a copy of the ABC train timetable open at the page for Andover it seems the letter wasn't a hoax.

Another murder is announced to Poirot - this time in Bexhill. Poirot is getting increasingly concerned and he and his friend Captain Hastings are soon hot on the trail of this mystery murderer. I found it a totally baffling mystery and I definitely didn't work out who the murderer was until Poirot himself explained in his inimitable fashion.

I really enjoyed reading this story and Agatha Christie could certainly teach many authors writing today a thing or two about plotting! The book is well written, the characters are varied and interesting. The book definitely justifies Christie's unofficial title - 'The Queen of Crime.'
22 Comments| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse