Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 70% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
456
4.6 out of 5 stars
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£7.69+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

TOP 50 REVIEWERon 21 November 2013
"Undisputed Truth" is memoir book of one of the most controversial man and athlete in past decades, Mike Tyson. And what is more important to emphasize, a very good memoir book.

Tyson who grew up in one of the meanest and poorest Brooklyn neighborhood Brownsville, he managed to become one of the most famous and ferocious all-time boxers and the youngest heavyweight champion ever.

Tyson who never knew his father and lost his mother when he was teenager, was member of the gang, walking around with the gun in his hand, he dropped out of the school but nevertheless became a successful boxer, married movie star and earned plenty of money.
But no matter how quickly he earned money even faster he spent all went bankrupt, eventually even ending up in prison humiliated before the whole world.

It's incredible to read how he spent money when he had it in abundance, for example buying the entire stock of Rolls Royce cars.
He had problems with alcohol and so it's interesting to learn that during recording of "The Hangover" movie in which he appeared he was also drunk or going through a hangover himself.

Mike Tyson's autobiography is very brave and honest book that speaks frankly about his life from his own mouth, being equally brutal on himself like he was in ring to other boxers. He speaks about those people who once were with him all the time when he was popular, and then turned their backs on him when everything went downhill.

He will also mention his (in)famous promoter Don King about which he doesn't have anything nice to say calling him names for his theft of around 50 million dollars from Tyson due to his naivety.

He also speaks about his ex-wife and his ex-mother-in-law for which he also uses rather harsh words accusing them for his financial crash and manipulation.
He is telling that his ex Robin Givens faked a pregnancy in order to receive lot of money being supposedly three months pregnant when they got married and sometime later she told him that she had miscarried baby even though there weren't any evidence that she was pregnant at all.
Inside, Tyson also tried to give more information on his rape conviction asking reader how is possible to rape someone who come to your hotel room at two A.M....

Overall, "Undisputed Truth" is not the book that speaks about Tyson the known boxer, but the book about Mike Tyson, a man of flesh and blood, honest and intimate story about the private life of a man who has made countless mistakes in life.

And as much he was loved or hated, this is the book that after you read you will have the opportunity to learn the full truth of what had happened in his life, what made him like he was.

It doesn't mean that his life justifies everything he done, but it certainly gives a lot of explanation.
Definitely book that should be read.
11 comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 February 2015
Was a big fan of Iron Mike, grew up seeing him terrorise opponents as an 18 year old. This book does however show he was really on the edge. Littered with constant profanity, Iron Mike still comes across as a slightly rough individual and his musings about all manner of things and the way he still describes his interactions with various women leaves me feeling a little uneasy. The good thing is Mike has not sanitised his story.
Mike appears to be the product of his childhood and tough adolescence. If his writings here are accepted on face value, he's been as much a victim as a victimiser.
A phenomenally gifted and dedicated athlete (at least dedicated in the early days) Mike's legacy should have been even brighter than it undoubtedly always will be in the world of boxing- if he hadn't lost his mentor Cus so early in his career I can't help but think things may have been different for him.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 December 2013
Its hard to know where to start with a review for this book. Over the past 25 yrs there have been many so called Mike Tyson biographies I've read a few so thought that I knew the full story but there was a lot in here that took me by suprise. I thinks its fair to say of all of the books on Tyson this is the only one that counts.
There's certainly a lot of content at almost 570 pages this is twice the book that most autobiographies are. During the time I read this my opinion of Tyson went up and down like a rollercoaster, from being shocked, to thinking that this guy is a complete idiot to feeling sorry for him and at the end I'm still not entirely sure.
One point worth mentioning is that Mikes actual boxing career probably accounts for less than half the content of the book.

If you don't want to see any spoilers stop reading now:

Otherwise he's my overview of this book,

We all know the story of Mikes rise to become the youngest ever Heavyweight champ under the guidance of Cus D'Amato, the marriage to Robin Givens, the legal battles over his management and his loss to Buster Douglas then conviction and incarceration for rape. The comeback and loss to Holyfeild and the ear biting incident.

However the real interesting insights that are less known about and covered in this book are the stories of Mikes childhood and just how big a criminal he was and how brutal the environment was.

The complete lack of ability he had with dealing with his finances (which stemmed from his childhood) it really seemed like someone should have given him some help, although trying to tell a young Tyson what to do with his money would have been a thankless task. Some of the frivolourity of his spending even after his second reign as champ (when he should have learned his lesson) is truly mind blowing! Its clear that giving Mike access to money was like giving a alcoholic the keys to your liquor cabinet.

The hassles of women trying to file lawsuits against him after just before and just after his incarceration (it seemed every golddigger in the country saw him as an easy target).

The biggest shocker to me was finding out the true extent of his drug addiction which spiralled after his loss to Lennox Lewis and his actions after his career finally ended. He basically went on a huge drugs binge that lasted for years living off the charity of wealthy fans and indulging in serious amounts of drugs and hookers.

Throughout it all Mike seems to be brutally honest which some of the times makes it difficult for the reader to have and sympathy for him, even admitting in a postscript to the epilogue that he is still battling his cocaine addiction.

In summary even if you have a slight interest in Tyson or just enjoy A list Biographies then you should read this book.
11 comment| 19 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 May 2016
This is a superb book and is very well written. What I liked the most was nothing is off limits. You can just tell Mike is telling it how it is/was and no stone is left unturned. Everything is in here, the rise, the fall, the road back to where he is now. I was a big fan of his back in the day, staying up late here in the UK just to watch his fights on SKY. For me he is the best heavyweight ever and given some of the names in this weight division I know that this is a statement that is not to be made lightly. You only have to watch his fights from this era to see how devastating he was.

If you have read/seen the wolf of wall street you ain't seen nothing. Mike's life makes Jordan Belfort seem like a choir boy, seriously, I didn't realise what his life was like but then I guess its easy to forget at the height of his boxing career he was one of the most famous people on the planet.

A great read if you are not a boxing fan. My only niggle would be I would have liked to have read more about his training/diet regime but thats just me.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 50 REVIEWERon 26 December 2014
"Undisputed Truth" is memoir book of one of the most controversial man and athlete in past decades, Mike Tyson. And what is more important to emphasize, a very good memoir book.

Tyson who grew up in one of the meanest and poorest Brooklyn neighborhood Brownsville, he managed to become one of the most famous and ferocious all-time boxers and the youngest heavyweight champion ever.

Tyson who never knew his father and lost his mother when he was teenager, was member of the gang, walking around with the gun in his hand, he dropped out of the school but nevertheless became a successful boxer, married movie star and earned plenty of money.
But no matter how quickly he earned money even faster he spent all went bankrupt, eventually even ending up in prison humiliated before the whole world.

It's incredible to read how he spent money when he had it in abundance, for example buying the entire stock of Rolls Royce cars.
He had problems with alcohol and so it's interesting to learn that during recording of "The Hangover" movie in which he appeared he was also drunk or going through a hangover himself.

Mike Tyson's autobiography is very brave and honest book that speaks frankly about his life from his own mouth, being equally brutal on himself like he was in ring to other boxers. He speaks about those people who once were with him all the time when he was popular, and then turned their backs on him when everything went downhill.

He will also mention his (in)famous promoter Don King about which he doesn't have anything nice to say calling him names for his theft of around 50 million dollars from Tyson due to his naivety.

He also speaks about his ex-wife and his ex-mother-in-law for which he also uses rather harsh words accusing them for his financial crash and manipulation.
He is telling that his ex Robin Givens faked a pregnancy in order to receive lot of money being supposedly three months pregnant when they got married and sometime later she told him that she had miscarried baby even though there weren't any evidence that she was pregnant at all.
Inside, Tyson also tried to give more information on his rape conviction asking reader how is possible to rape someone who come to your hotel room at two A.M....

Overall, "Undisputed Truth" is not the book that speaks about Tyson the known boxer, but the book about Mike Tyson, a man of flesh and blood, honest and intimate story about the private life of a man who has made countless mistakes in life.

And as much he was loved or hated, this is the book that after you read you will have the opportunity to learn the full truth of what had happened in his life, what made him like he was.

It doesn't mean that his life justifies everything he done, but it certainly gives a lot of explanation.
Definitely book that should be read.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 September 2015
I didn't think I'd like this book, as Tyson's fall from grace was hard for me to take given the excitement of his peak years. But I was wrong - it's a fascinating read, shocking at times, a real insight into his life, from his youth, through the rise to the top, and then as it spiralled out of control. Love him, like him, hate him, or just vaguely interested in him, this is a great story. It's shocking at times - the drinking, drugs, and women, leaving you wondering how he ever managed to reach such heights in the ring. Talent, excess, madness, exploitation - it's all there.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 January 2015
Rather daunting read at 500+ pages, but once you start reading, it's phenomenal. It became rather like a research project for me, watching the fights on You Tube after reading about them in his book. Believe me, he doesn't embellish his life story at all, it's 100% accurate. I was a big fan of his in my teenage years and it reminded me what a devastating, driven fighter he was. We haven't seen any fighter that gets near him since he retired. Today's fighters lack the "killer instinct" Tyson had in the ring. Big men were visibly frightened by him and who can blame them. He recounts his personal life in an extremely pragmatic and honest way. Very self critical yet he has hopefully learned from his mistakes. Reading it,it makes you angry at the many leaches who took advantage of him and bled him of hundreds of millions of pounds. Don King, hang your head in shame!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 December 2013
If you are even remotely interested in Mike Tyson then this will prove a most worthwhile read. Far more eloquent than one would inpmagine (as witnessed by his one man shows) yet despite the aid of a ghost writer, most definitely the authentic voice of the formidable former heavyweight boxing champion of the world.

The book is perhaps the most brutally honest biography I have ever read. For this alone it is worth buying.

To seemingly become a fly on the wall to Iron Mike's personal development as a boxer and to gain insight into his life of crime and harsh upbringing in the early days is another reason to consider purchase.

Mid way through the book I was compelled to rewatch some of his best moments on YouTube (maybe one day we will have e-books intermingled with the authors voice as an option and access to visual clips all in one package when we buy our books in a few years time). Iron Mike was truly formidable and the story that unfolds provides insightful insight into what makes a champion and ironically what contributes to his fall.

I was particularly fascinated by the insight given by the strategies and physchological shenanigans of his mentor Cus D'amato. Without his input and the chain of events that led to Mike Tyson's involvement with him there would have been no champion (which gives us food for thought as to all those out there who never did manage to reach the extraordinary potential to which they were capable).

A fascinating read. A jaw dropping read in places. Funny, at times tragic, but to its credit honest and ultimately entertaining.

Mike Tyson has packed more living into his life than most and whether one ultimately liked the man or not, this book captures a most interesting life and fully justifies the rave reviews.

Did he rape or not rape? User or used? Violent perpretrator and victim of his upbringing? Or monster, rapist, animal?

Mike Tyson appears to lay his soul bare and the reader has enough scope in this honest biography to form or strengthen an opinion.

Five stars if you are a boxing fan or a fan of Iron Mike Tyson. Four stars plus if you are coming into this biography with little knowledge of the famous . If you hate the man I would still give it four stars.

People are complex and Mike Tyson especially so. For me, I came away understanding more about the man. I enjoyed his company and marvelled at his formidable boxing legacy but was left wary of his violent potential and capacity for self loathing.

When Tyson shook up the world by becoming the youngest heavyweight champion my friend called him an ' awesome animal' - such was his ferocity.

On reading this biography I feel compelled to conclude my friend summed it up about right...
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 August 2015
I was excited to start reading this book, hoping for an insight into the infamous Mike Tyson. Overall, it was "OK"...although I found myself skipping pages to try speed up the point he was trying to make. I agree with some other previous reviewers, that it became a bit of a list of girls and booze but really did feel some chapters could be a lot shorter and more to the point.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 July 2015
Its an interesting read for the most part. Its difficult to believe that all he writes can be true. I cant imagine anyone living that kind of life, but it explains in part some of the outrageous behaviour he displays. While it has its insights, it does get a bit of a laborious read in places, monotonous due to his repeating the same type of behaviour, that I find hard to believe is really true.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)