Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Worried Blues Shop now Fitbit

Customer reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars
43
4.5 out of 5 stars
Format: Hardcover|Change
Price:£12.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 26 June 2017
This is a review of the hardback novel
It should be noted that the font size is rather small.
A classic whodunnit, lots of twists and turns.
Everything is logical and the reader has as much chance of solving the riddle as Poirot himself, indeed an astute reader may well beat Poirot in soving the case.
Features Captain Hastings and Inspector Japp. I confess to prefering the stories with Hastings in them.
A recommendable crime novel.
Remember it was written in a different era and one or two expressions which were (wrongly) considered acceptable are now frowned upon and considered offensive.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 April 2011
This is one of Christies earlier Poirot books, narrated by Captain Hastings. Lord Edgware is stabbed to death, and it looks like a clear cut case against his wife, Jane Wilkinson. However, at the same time she was seen entering Lord Edgwares study she is also at a dinner party, seen by 12 witnesses, and even more strange is that Lord Edgware has just granted her a divorce, removing her motive for the murder........

The book has Christies brilliant plot, with excellent suspense and hidden twists, dead ends and red herrings. There is quite a bit of anti-Semitism, though this is the last book that its really noticable in, and at that time It was the general way of speaking/ thinking rather than Christies particular personal beliefs.

A must read for all Christie fans, or for fans of crime fiction in general.
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 June 2017
It's Agatha Christie and Hercule Poirot in a classic case. WHat else is there to say other than it is a thoroughly good read.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 June 2017
As a fan of Agatha Christie I am enjoying re reading of this story.
Have not read it for years.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 July 2017
A nice cosy mystery with plenty to keep you guessing.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 March 2016
These are classic titles which stand re reading from time to time. Cosy crime as written by the best of them all.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 June 2017
Love Poirot books
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 June 2017
Classic Agatha Christie.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 September 2010
This is one of my favourites of the Christie novels I've read so far. It's fairly traditional in its set up but keeps the reader guessing.

Poirot is hired by Lady Edgware to obtain a divorce for her, but even after the Lord grants his consent, she is still witnessed to murder him, despite also having a watertight alibi at a dinner party.

The reason I loved this book was because I found it very easy to come up with my own theory, and to adapt it as each piece of evidence came to light - ultimately resulting in my correctly identifying the murderer. Admittedly, in one or two places this made some elements feel a little to obvious for the characters to miss, but then it is written from Captain Hastings viewpoint and so Poirot's thought processes can remain a mystery.

I enjoyed it and can only hope that this signifies something of a return to form for the Poirot novels, which I am working my way through in publication order.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 March 2016
One of the only Poirots in which I've 'got' both the culprit and twists before the big reveal.

Well written and as readable as always this isn't one of my favourite Poirots, I found the plot a little simple and predictable and the characters just a teeny bit bland.

Having said that, I did enjoy the interplay between Hastings and Poirot.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse