Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars
31
4.4 out of 5 stars
Format: Hardcover|Change
Price:£12.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

TOP 500 REVIEWERon 3 September 2017
Murder in the Mews, by Agatha Christie, consists of four novellas - all featuring the inimitable M. Poirot. As novellas, they are longer than the very short stories from Christie but nowhere near the length of a full novel. For the avoidance of doubt those novellas in this volume (note that there are other editions which only contain three novellas ) are as follows :- Murder in the Mews; The Incredible Theft; Dead Man's Mirror and Triangle at Rhodes. It's a nice medley, for sure, and a little show piece for our Belgian detective. Each is a well and tightly plotted little piece and each a puzzling scenario for Poirot, each putting his 'little grey cells' to the test. On the whole very enjoyable indeed, although, I always feel that the shorter stories do not do our little Belgian detective much justice (and I judge by the Christie yardstick :) ) - character development is sleight and there is very little depth - so, if already well versed in the joys of Poirot, then this is a good addition to whole picture and is an enjoyable, entertaining read.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 September 2011
Murder in the Mews is a collection of four novellas, each depicting one of Hercule Poirot's minor cases. There are two cases of suspect suicide, a theft and an accidental murder.

The first three cases each have a good amount of meat on them, though number three has a few too many characters to keep track of in such a brief tale. I'm afraid I didn't find any of them particularly strong, particularly in some places where vital clues were withheld from the reader - something Christie is usually very good at avoiding. This having been said, even in the stories which did keep everything in the open I was unable to successfully pinpoint the culprit before the big reveal.

I don't think the the novella formats lends itself well to Poirot's adventures, and story three (which was my favourite) looked as if it could have been extended into a full novel. However the short story format of the final tale felt even more of a let down after the more detailed episodes that it followed.

Overall, I'm afraid to say that this collection is probably best one for the purists rather than the casual reader, and hitting the full length novels would better serve anyone seeking a whodunit to tax their brains.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 July 2017
Agatha Christie at her best with a short selection of Poirot stories, never get tired of reading these stories and other ones by a truly unique Author
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 May 2017
good read
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 April 2017
Intriguing as always.Good value with several stories together.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
"Murder in the Mews" was the last book Agatha Christie published in 1937 and consists of four Poirot short stories - although all are quite long by her usual standard, and one really novella length. All feature Poirot, one features his old friend Inspector Japp and another has a guest appearance by Mr Satterthwaite, of the Harley Quin stories and "Three Act Tragedy".

The first title story, "Murder in the Mews" and the third story, "Dead Man's Mirror", both feature a suicide, later suspected of being murder. One story is set in a small house, in a street peopled with those who service the aristocracy (there are, for example, a large amount of chauffeurs living nearby). "Dead Man's Mirror" sees Poirot summoned to a country house by a wealthy man obsessed by his family name, but both cleverly weave the plot around ties of family and the past.

The second story, "The Incredible Theft" involves espionage and important documents stolen from a study during a weekend party. Lastly, there is the enjoyable "Triangle at Rhodes", with Poirot on holiday. Christie always wrote excellent stories in exotic locations and this is no exception. For me, it is the best story in the collection, with an actress (often a baddie in Christie novels!) causing jealousy and marital discord on the beach. These are a nice collection of stories, with Poirot cleverly solving each case in his own special way. Out of interest, for a man who distained the methods of Sherlock Holmes, you will find that he is actually inspecting footprints in "Dead Man's Mirror", the first time I can remember him doing so. Overall, a fun collection with the author, and her detective, at their best.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 September 2016
Very enjoyable series of novellas from the queen of crime. Each story was engrossing with a surprising twist.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
This is a collection of four novellas featuring Hercule Poirot. In the title story - Murder in the Mews - a woman apparently shoots herself in the left temple with the gun in her right hand. Neither the police nor Poirot himself are satisfied with the idea of suicide and they need to try and find out what really happened especially as the young woman who shared the house with the victim seems to be telling less than the truth.

In the second story The Incredible Theft, top secret plans disappear when it seems to be impossible that anyone could have taken them. Poirot is called in to try and establish where the plans have gone and of course arrives at the only possible solution.

Dead Man's Mirror features a shattered mirror in a room where a man has apparently committed suicide but the mirror is in the wrong place to have been shattered by the fatal bullet. The truth of what happened is surprising - or at least it was to me as I definitely didn't have any idea of who had done it. The clues are there but the author as ever leads us skilfully in the wrong direction.

The final story is a chilling episode set on Rhodes where Poirot has gone on holiday to escape from murder. He soon sees that a developing eternal triangle is going to lead to tragedy in one form or another. His prediction naturally comes trues though not perhaps in the way anyone could have expected.

I really enjoyed these four novellas. They are perfect examples of Christie's art and would make a good introduction to her Poirot series if you have not read any before. They are well plotted with vivid and believable characters and plenty of clues and red herrings to keep the reader guessing.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 June 2007
This is not one of my AC favourites, but it's a Poirot classic - very good if you want to have a few short stories to read in one go. I love this new edition - the latest slick paperback one was horrible, printed, with a computer image cover that had no relation to the story whatsover. It is refreshing to be able to buy a hard back so cheaply. It is a little lovely object to have with you. I am certainly buying more of this edition.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 February 2001
I'm not really into Agatha Christie's short stories because the beauty of her books many times lies in the development of the characters in a 'standard' novel.
However, after reading this book, my impression changed. Hercule Poirot has to be at his best to solve four curious crimes.
In 'Murder of the Mews', a widow committed suicide with a shot in her left temple, by the gun was in her right hand. Was it murder? Was the murder intended for another person?
In 'The Incredible Theft', the plans of a bomber was mysteriously stolen in the study of Lord Mayfield. Poirot has to uncover the motives behind the guests in the house to discover the shocking truth.
In "Triangle at Rhodes', a popular actress with her 'ways with men' was murdered in a bar after taking a poisoned drink intended for her husband, and Poirot must clear the name of the obvious killer.
In "Dead's Man Mirror' which is my favourite story in the book, Sir Chevenix-Gore was found dead in his locked study, keys in his pocket and pistol in the room. The key to solving the apparent suicide (which is, in fact, murder) is the broken mirror in the room.
Read the book to enjoy a refreshed Poirot experience!
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse