Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Fitbit

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
285
4.6 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£16.54+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

VINE VOICEon 2 June 2014
I picked this up because I heard that in 2013 the Crime Writers' Association voted this book as the best crime novel ever written. So, if a book has been written by the queen of crime fiction and then voted as the best crime novel ever by the Crime Writers' Association there is not much to be gained by me giving it a 5 star review - ca va sans dire - as M. Poirrot himself might say.

This novel has all the ingredients which we associate with early 20th Century crime novels. A murder in a country house with a large cast of characters. Everyone is a suspect. Everyone has a motive Everyone has something to hide. The cunning Belgian detective investigates each suspect meticulously in turn. He doesn't quite eliminate them, but instead keeps all the balls in the air until the last few pages, keeping the reader guessing till the last. We finish off with the much-copied classic scene - M. Poirrot drawing all the possible suspects together in a single room with the lines we all want to read at the end of a novel like this "I know the murderer is in this room now".

Crime Fiction doesn't get more classic than this. Even though the novel is now almost 90 years old it still reads as fresh as though it was written yesterday. There is nothing out of place and nothing dated about the writing. Perhaps most refreshingly, even though there are wealthy people and servants, there is none of the shocking upstairs/downstairs class prejudice which is seen in other fiction from early 20th Century.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 November 2016
The fourth Poirot novel (using the reading list on the back of these Harper novels) and probably my favourite so far. A really clever plot and reveal. A proper 'page turner' that I managed to get through in next to no time. Highly recommended.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 March 2010
Classic Christie with some special twists that make it clear why this is one of the most popular of Hercule Poirot's adventures. When Roger Acroyd is murdered the help of Poirot is quickly enlisted to find out which of his friends/family was the culprit.

It's interesting that Poirot's usual assistant, Captain Hastings, has been written out 'to the Argentine' and the narrator's spot is taken by one of the characters close to the victim - the local doctor. This provides a good point of view as it's someone who knows and can explain the characters' backgrounds, and who doesn't understand Poirot - whereas Hastings would have come to expect things. Unlike some of the Marple novels which have this structure, it doesn't feel as if the detective has been shoehorned in, but is there as a natural extension of his own ongoing narrative.

The Christie clichés are still present - the large country house full of suspects, all of whom have motive, opportunity and secrets (but then that's integral to the mystery). It's amazing that I can read these still without seeing through the clues. I need to remember in future that nothing is mentioned by Christie without being relevant, even tiny things - it was not until about two pages before the reveal that I fell in, and everything that had been mentioned clicked. Christie really was a genius.

So yes, it's a good book and it certainly had me fooled, although a couple of bits were a little 'meta' - with the doctor writing the narrative forming a part of the narrative, and even lending his manuscript to Poirot. A satisfying mystery.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 March 2017
Christie utilises a surprisingly simple and straightforward narrative, which is coupled with simple plot twists that’ll leave you stupefied. It’s refreshing to read such a modest novel and if you’ve never read one of Christie’s works before, The Murder of Roger Ackroyd will make you a lifelong fan.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 December 2016
a classic murder mystery with a super twist in the tail. I did realise who dunnit so there is enough to figure it out, very satisfying.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 December 2016
A very enjoyable murder mystery.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 April 2017
I read to a partially sighted lady who loves Agatha Christie novels and we both enjoyed this one
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 April 2017
This is a very exciting book filled with cliffhangers. It also had a very charismatic detective, Hercule Poirot, and a very unexpected twist at the end which only make it more exciting.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 August 2016
Great read. Twisted complicated plot as you'd expect but brilliantly written with atmosphere and fantastic characters. A classic house murder novel.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 April 2017
Great read as always.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse