Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle New Album - Drake Pre-order now Shop Women's Shop Men's

About the Effects of Signing Out from Amazon Apps

When you sign out from one of Amazon's single sign-on apps, you're automatically signed out from all of them.

The following Amazon apps currently support a single sign-on experience:

  • Amazon Music App for Android, version 3.0 or higher
  • Kindle App for Android, version 4.3 or higher
  • Amazon Appstore App, version 7.0 or higher
  • Amazon App for Android Phones and Amazon Underground app, version 2.9.7 or higher
  • Prime Photos for Android, version 3.2 or higher

When you first sign in to one of these apps, you're automatically signed in to all other single sign-on apps installed on your device as well. You won't need to enter your email address or mobile phone number and password to sign in to each app separately. In turn, when you sign out from one of these apps, you're also signing out from all of them.

To sign out, launch a single sign-on app, open the Menu and tap Settings. Tap Sign Out or Log Out and then confirm.

Note: You can't sign out directly from the Appstore app but if you sign out from another single sign-on app, you'll also be signed out from Appstore.

While you're signed out, you won't be able to access your cloud-based content (books, music, personal videos, etc.) or apps downloaded from Amazon Appstore. The list below includes additional information about the effects of signing out for each single sign-on app:

Amazon Music App for Android

You won't have access to your cloud-based digital music but you'll still have access to the music downloaded to your device. When you sign back in, you'll regain access to your cloud-based music.

Kindle for Android

You must be signed in to your account to access your Kindle library. When you sign back in using the same account, you'll regain access to your books and magazines; if you sign in to a different account, you'll have access to the cloud-based books on that other account.

Amazon Appstore

You won't have access to your downloaded apps. These apps aren't deleted, you just won't be able to access them until you sign back in. You also can't download additional apps from Amazon Appstore until you sign back in.

Amazon Underground App for Android

If you regularly sign out from the Amazon Underground app after placing an order, you'll also be signing out from all other single sign-on apps on your device.

Tip: Shopping within an Amazon Underground app is just as secure as making purchases from the Amazon.co.uk website. For existing accounts, your credit card information is not transmitted when you make a purchase as it is already associated with your account and encrypted at Amazon. We do transmit credit card information when you first set up a new account from your mobile device but we use SSL encryption during this transaction to ensure that your information is secure.

Was this information helpful?

Thank you for your feedback.

Please select what best describes the information:

Thanks! While we're unable to respond directly to your feedback, we'll use this information to improve our online Help.