Learn more Download now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more

Customer Review

17 July 2018
Of all Shostakovich’s symphonies, his fourth is his most extravagant and surreal, confronting the listener with wildly garish and provocative images. His eleventh symphony pursues a contrasting somber tone, basing its subject matter on the revolution of 1905. Instead of surreal images, Shostakovich paints literal aural representations of those painful and historic actions.

Nelsons and the Boston Symphony Orchestra present both these symphonies in gripping and virtuosic performances, captured in exceptional sound recordings in which transparency, richness and impact are keenly felt. The results leave you spellbound and emotionally drained.

How Nelsons and the BSO play the opening of No 4 at such speed yet with such ‘pesante’ and ferocity is a marvel in itself. It marks the extremes created in this vivid and remarkable performance at a stroke. Every instrument seems to shed new light on its individual and collective lines, with details to dynamics and phrasing that are quite simply jaw dropping! The sheer power, the extreme range of colours, the exquisite lyricism in parts and the overwhelming weight of sonorities have not yet been presented in greater abundance. Nor has the speed of the fugue in the first moment been so fast yet so frenetic and tight. The virtuoso strings leave one in awe!

But the felicity of woodwind solos, the gleaming power of the brass, the precision and impact of percussion all contributes to an utterly compelling achievement.

Symphony no 11 is painted equally magnificently. The opening mystery is fantastically caught, and the subsequent murmurings leave a disturbing air. The gradual momentum is sweeping and all embracing. The listener hurtles through the frightening landscapes as if caught directly in the terrifying events the score depicts.

Again, it would be hard to imagine greater levels of orchestral precision. These performances must have been meticulously prepared, yet they have exceptional vitality and energy.

So, Nelsons and the Boston Symphony Orchestra have created a double disc of immense significance and one that lovers of these important and powerful symphonies will surely relish and treasure.

This is an important issue, and should receive many accolades.
10 people found this helpful
0Comment Report abuse Permalink
What's this?

What are product links?

In the text of your review, you can link directly to any product offered on Amazon.com. To insert a product link, follow these steps:
1. Find the product you want to reference on Amazon.com
2. Copy the web address of the product
3. Click Insert product link
4. Paste the web address in the box
5. Click Select
6. Selecting the item displayed will insert text that looks like this: [[ASIN:014312854XHamlet (The Pelican Shakespeare)]]
7. When your review is displayed on Amazon.com, this text will be transformed into a hyperlink, like this:Hamlet (The Pelican Shakespeare)

You are limited to 10 product links in your review, and your link text may not be longer than 256 characters.

Product Details

4.7 out of 5 stars