Learn more Download now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Learn more Learn more Learn more Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more

Customer Review

20 May 2018
Peter Ackroyd has written a very informative account of most of the Stuart Period, starting with James I in 1603 and ending with the Glorious Revolution in 1688. The reigns of William and Mary and Anne are excluded from this book and are included instead in the next volume in the series. The book has been written in a very readable style that makes it accessible to the layman. As well as focusing on the kings and leading statesmen, the author has cleverly interspersed the historical narrative with shorter chapters on key thinkers and writers of the time, such as Bacon, Milton, Hobbes, Newton and Pepys, which both adds to the readability and brings out the cultural achievements of the time.

An excellent read for anyone interested in the Stuarts.
One person found this helpful
0Comment Report abuse Permalink
What's this?

What are product links?

In the text of your review, you can link directly to any product offered on Amazon.com. To insert a product link, follow these steps:
1. Find the product you want to reference on Amazon.com
2. Copy the web address of the product
3. Click Insert product link
4. Paste the web address in the box
5. Click Select
6. Selecting the item displayed will insert text that looks like this: [[ASIN:014312854XHamlet (The Pelican Shakespeare)]]
7. When your review is displayed on Amazon.com, this text will be transformed into a hyperlink, like this:Hamlet (The Pelican Shakespeare)

You are limited to 10 product links in your review, and your link text may not be longer than 256 characters.

Product Details

4.5 out of 5 stars