Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Fitbit
Profile for Mr. Andrew J. Coote > Reviews

Personal Profile

Content by Mr. Andrew J. ...
Top Reviewer Ranking: 237,078
Helpful Votes: 42

Learn more about Your Profile.

Reviews Written by
Mr. Andrew J. Coote "AJaCques" (Bath, UK)

Show:  
Page: 1 | 2
pixel
Police Academy 2 - Their First Assignment
Police Academy 2 - Their First Assignment
Dvd
Price: £3.49

4.0 out of 5 stars Like so many police comedies, 7 Jan. 2017
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
On a cheap promotional price, revisited this 1980's classic comedy. Like so many police comedies, it captures some beautiful characterisations, that (for police officers) are uncomfortably close to true people. Tackleberry still lives (and in this film marries a Mrs Tackleberry that will horrifically produce some baby Tackleberry's - God save the world!), and Steve Guttenberg is like so many new police recruits. What makes this film a touch above others in the series, is a fun yet eternally topical script about gang culture wrecking local communities. And Zed is so untypical of your average gang leader - a touch of genius.


The Grand Tour Season 1
The Grand Tour Season 1
Dvd

5.0 out of 5 stars May and Hammond ingredients that made TG great and GT fabulous, 7 Jan. 2017
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Let's not beat about the bush here. It's the Wilman, Clarkson, May and Hammond ingredients that made TG great and GT fabulous. The best is definitely the Namibia double episode trip - gorgeous filming of beautiful landscapes; unbelievable driving challenges; and the biting between the 3 presenters was on top form. Hope there is plenty more in the future.


Ghostbusters (2016)
Ghostbusters (2016)
Dvd
Price: £9.99

3 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Enjoy some real entertainment, 7 Jan. 2017
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ghostbusters (2016) (Amazon Video)
Enjoy some real entertainment. A fantasy, funny, a film that leaves you with a lasting memory. Just sit back and love the way the unbelievable unfolds before you in a series of outrageous, action packed scenes. I don't subscribe to the reviewers who want a mind provoking script, outstanding professional acting, award winning film-making. I want to watch an entertaining, escapist story. The five lead characters are terrific, and its a cornucopia of detail and guest performances. In the same spirit that the Airplane movies could be watched many times - so can this.


All the Light We Cannot See
All the Light We Cannot See
Price: £5.49

5.0 out of 5 stars A beautiful story, 16 May 2016
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
In a France split by war, blind Marie-Laure is a child fascinated by the sea snails when she moves to stay with her grand uncle Etienne in St Malo. Whilst in Germany, clever little Werner develops his interest in radios. As the story moves the children through the war years, their lives touch in unknown ways, until they finally meet as St Malo is crushed by the advancing allies. Add a priceless antiquity, a German gem hunter who will stop at nothing to seize the diamond, and a cast of characters for you to love and hate, to give a beautiful story of adolescent naivety, adult greed, and wartime tragedy. A book that will leave a lasting impression.


Make Me: (Jack Reacher 20)
Make Me: (Jack Reacher 20)
Price: £4.99

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Reacher #20. More of the same, 29 Nov. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Lee Child has written a book starring his hero Jack Reacher. Having read most of these books, I can assure you the character remains unchanged. A man of high morals - fighting for the little man or woman. Reacher is a deadly foe, and will think nothing of using extreme violence against Dr Evil and his thuggish henchmen. Now if this starts to sound a little corny then that's only partly true, because the novels are written with pace, enthusiasm and with plenty of adult action. I find this highly readable, unputdownable, and tremendous escapism. For anyone who enjoys violent retribution, where the good guy always wins, and gets his woman. And yes, I grew up loving James Bond too.

The big but with this book is that the formula really doesn't change. The reader who has even a slight discernment for originality will get bored with the repetition of the series. But then I only read one Reacher a year, usually on holiday, with a few beers.


Labrador: The Story of the World's Favourite Dog
Labrador: The Story of the World's Favourite Dog
Price: £4.49

24 of 28 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A fascinating compendium, 14 Oct. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This book will appeal to all Labrador owners (there are a lot of us about), potential Labrador owners, past Labrador owners, and maybe a few curious types. Despite the opening with the death of author Ben Fogle's own Labrador, Inca, this is not a book in the vein of Marley and Me. Ben provides something more of an owners handbook, a journey through the history of the Labrador, to the modern uses for the dog, and a personal analysis of owning referring to his own experiences with Inca. And for me it was informative, and interesting. If you don't fit the category of reader above, you would best give it a "pass". The book is not well edited, with some material needlessly repeated, and some sections tackle the "telephone directory" of breed histories. But it does bring something new to the shelf, and if you, like me, have a black Labrador in your family, it is an essential read.


The Girl on the Train
The Girl on the Train
Price: £4.99

3.0 out of 5 stars A different if predictable thriller, 13 Oct. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Comparisons with Gone Girl are understandable - both authors tackle their subjects with intelligence and deliver a well paced novel with plenty of suspense. But if you read a lot of thrillers then you will quickly identify the murderer and the outcome is very predictable. If I am unkind then I would say that both books authors lacked ability at delivering surprise, which is, after all, what you expect in a thriller. But the criticism is unfair to many readers who (maybe normally read only highbrow fiction) may not so easily predict the outcome. The characterisations are well developed, the principal character (Rachel) is particularly enjoyable with the darkness and light of her character. Overall the story is superb,if only it had been written to catch out our predictions.


Bose ® QuietComfort ® 20i Acoustic Noise Cancelling Headphones (Discontinued by manufacturer)
Bose ® QuietComfort ® 20i Acoustic Noise Cancelling Headphones (Discontinued by manufacturer)

4.0 out of 5 stars Superb headphones, 4 Mar. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The serenity that comes over you on turning on the noise reduction the first time is an experience in itself. Turn on the music and warm clear delivery into your ears means you do not need it loud to enjoy. Owning several Bose audio products I can attest to these delivering what you expect from Bose - extremely well made, outstanding music quality, excellent bass when needed, but not a true hi-fidelity product.

These are expensive, but are probably as good as it gets for in-ear noise reduction headphones.


Moonraker: James Bond 007
Moonraker: James Bond 007
Price: £4.99

4.0 out of 5 stars a cracking spy thriller, 6 Dec. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
After a weak foray into exotic locations in Live and Let Die, Fleming brings us a proper spy thriller with Moonraker. Set into the mid 1950's this Cold War story has a believable plot that ages well in the 21st century. The central characters are painted in detail and developed well throughout the book. Fleming even gives us a strong female character with Gala Brand - untypically she can resist Bonds charms and stands her ground in the onslaught of 00 heaven!

Highly recommended as a great book even for Bond cynics and intellectuals who dismiss Fleming as a populist novelist. If you have never read Fleming and wonder at his popularity.. Try this book.


Live and Let Die: James Bond 007
Live and Let Die: James Bond 007
Price: £4.99

3.0 out of 5 stars Flemings fictional 'Thrilling Cities', 5 Dec. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Not one of Flemings best. It reads like an extended travelogue, taking the reader across the American East Coast, from New York through Florida and out to Jamaica for the final act. At each stage Fleming treats the reader to a detailed picture of the location, to the extent that the plot almost serves to punctuate the travelogue. Whilst Fleming imagines some horrific set pieces, they lack the detail and integration into the story that we had with Bonds torture in Casino Royale. In fact the most thrilling and detailed event to trouble Bond is the flight from Florida to Jamaica which is troubled by a violent storm mid-flight.

The central characters are interesting but only Mr Big feels fleshed out with detail. Even Solitaire feels shallow and her decision to join Bond on the train to St Petersberg lacks credibility - after meeting Bond for a few minutes she sees him as her saviour from a violent and oppressive relationship with Mr Big... Bond then kills 3 men as he exits from their meeting!

Overall, the novel feels like it was written in a rush, I felt the film (with Roger Moore) had a better plot. I don't believe it is a good thriller, but still an essential read for anyone reading Bond.


Page: 1 | 2