Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Learn more Shop now Learn more Fire Kids Edition Shop Kindle Pre-order now Shop Men's Shop Women's
Profile for Guildfordbookgal > Reviews

Personal Profile

Content by Guildfordbookgal
Top Reviewer Ranking: 4,732,894
Helpful Votes: 6

Learn more about Your Profile.

Reviews Written by

Page: 1
After the Silence: Inspector Rykel Book 1 (Amsterdam Quartet with Inspector Jaap Rykel)
After the Silence: Inspector Rykel Book 1 (Amsterdam Quartet with Inspector Jaap Rykel)
by Jake Woodhouse
Edition: Paperback
Price: £5.42

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Tautly written, 16 May 2014
This is a tautly, often beautifully, written crime novel by debut author Jake Woodhouse. Set in Amsterdam, it follows the efforts of flawed but decent police inspector Jaap Rykel as he tries to avenge the murder of his colleague and friend, Andreas. Violence and more murders follow and Rykel delves deep into the ruthless world of a Russian crime gang, assisted (or not) by drugged up colleague Kees. Woodhouse does not shy away from shocking details and there may be a touch too much insight into internet child pornography for those of a sensitive disposition.
There is love interest too, however, in the shape of Tanya, a dynamic policewoman whose skeletons also rattle loudly. What will happen between Jaap and Tanya? Fortunately After the Silence is part one of a quartet, so we have plenty of time to find out. It is this character development which should keep readers hooked as the series progresses.

Page: 1