Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop now Shop now
Profile for A. W. SHAW > Reviews

Personal Profile

Content by A. W. SHAW
Top Reviewer Ranking: 110,876
Helpful Votes: 56

Learn more about Your Profile.

Reviews Written by
A. W. SHAW (UK)
(REAL NAME)   

Show:  
Page: 1 | 2 | 3 | 4
pixel
THE GIRL IN THE WINDOW (The Inspector Samuel Tay Novels Book 4)
THE GIRL IN THE WINDOW (The Inspector Samuel Tay Novels Book 4)
Price: £3.77

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A first rate crime thriller, 21 Aug. 2016
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Sam Tay is thrust into an operation to catch an international terrorist, but who is the girl in the window watching him watch the terrorist?

Smoking, drinking, thinking and haunted by the nagging ghost of his dead mother, Sam Tay finds himself embroiled in a murder case and a conspiracy, that if made public would rock the Singaporean establishment to its very core.

Jake Needham is a master in creating literary atmosphere, reading a Sam Tay novel one is transported to Singapore, the real Singapore. Tay’s voice of dissent in the city-state is refreshing and enlightening, he is the inwardly ‘grumbling detective’ who lets little slip. As always Needham’s writing is convincing, vivid and astute.

No one can solve a case like Sam Tay, and no one can write about Singapore like Jake Needham. The Girl In The Window is a first rate crime thriller.


San Francisco Night: The 6th Jack Nightingale Supernatural Thriller
San Francisco Night: The 6th Jack Nightingale Supernatural Thriller
Price: £3.99

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars American Nightingale, 22 April 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This latest Nightingale novel sees our hero relocated to the states to start afresh but, as often happens with Jack, the darkness wastes little time tapping him on the shoulder. Some new characters here mix with those we know of old and Jack finds himself once again battling forces that few others believe to exist. Stephen Leather's books are never disappointing and always expertly written with vivid prose and sharp dialogue. Another great novel.


THE DEAD AMERICAN (The Inspector Samuel Tay Novels Book 3)
THE DEAD AMERICAN (The Inspector Samuel Tay Novels Book 3)
Price: £3.65

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars His best Tay novel yet., 22 April 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Needham's latest Tay novel is his best yet. Tay, as a character, has grown on me and his idiosyncratic views of both the world and Singapore are refreshing and eye opening. He is a voice of dissent in a city state of nodding heads and insincere smiles. Needham's narrative is convincing; his prose is astute, his dialogue fresh and his descriptions vivid. If there was ever a man to solve a crime it would be Samuel Tay, and if there was ever an author to depict the realities of Singapore it is Jake Needham.


Murder Most Rural (The Rizwan Sabir Mysteries Book 5)
Murder Most Rural (The Rizwan Sabir Mysteries Book 5)
Price: £0.99

8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Thrills, jokes and Bang Bang, 22 April 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Fans of Riz and Bang-Bang will love his this latest outing. This time the MOD troubleshooters, whilst staging a routine training exercise with the SAS in a sleepy Essex village, get embroiled in the aftermath of a suicide. But is all as it seems?

This newest Riz romp is filled with operational detail and the type of off-beat humour, that only Mr Flowers can pull off. At times anarchic at others thrilling but never disappointing.
Comment Comment (1) | Permalink | Most recent comment: Apr 23, 2015 11:44 AM BST


A Case of Noir (Atlantis)
A Case of Noir (Atlantis)

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A gritty, witty masterpiece, 27 Nov. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Having once been an ex-pat in Easter Europe I recognised the universal truths behind the black, gritty humour of these tales. We follow our hapless hack from one drunken, sex-fueled cityscape to another and gradually learn that he is not quite what he seems. Populated by misfits and mischief this is a gritty, witty masterpiece.


Russian Roulette (Konstantin Book 2): The Konstantin Files
Russian Roulette (Konstantin Book 2): The Konstantin Files
Price: £1.99

5.0 out of 5 stars Konstantin the enigmatic Russian returns!, 27 Nov. 2014
Konstantin the enigmatic Russian is back is a new series of seedy underworld exploits. Nixon’s staccato writing style mimics Konstantin’s monosyllabic speech yet produces a complex and compelling character. Russian Roulette is recommended reading for all fans of gritty crime thrillers.


Crocodile Cape - Kids Costume 3 - 6 years
Crocodile Cape - Kids Costume 3 - 6 years
Offered by Theme Fancy Dress
Price: £12.95

5.0 out of 5 stars A quality product, 12 Oct. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Very well made and the boys loved it


Remote Control: A Spider Shepherd Short Story (Dan Shepherd series)
Remote Control: A Spider Shepherd Short Story (Dan Shepherd series)
Price: £0.99

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great quick read., 19 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The ability to insert technical details and information into the narrative of a story without detracting from the action or plot is a difficult task at which Stephen Leather excels. In a tightly written short story Leather manages to inform, entertain and pose a moral dilemma. A great quick read with the added bonus of an old character making a surprise return.


Plastic Fantastic (A Konstantin Novella Book 2)
Plastic Fantastic (A Konstantin Novella Book 2)

5.0 out of 5 stars Compelling Konstantin, 16 Jun. 2014
Konstantin the enigmatic Russian is back. Plastic Fantastic sees the former KGB asset battle local ‘hard men’ to help a neighbour in distress. Nixon’s staccato writing style mimics his monosyllabic character. His economy of words is both refreshing and compelling making ‘Plastic Fantastic’ one of the most effective pieces of writing I have encountered in a long time.


Locked and Loaded: A Riz Sabir Thriller Omnibus
Locked and Loaded: A Riz Sabir Thriller Omnibus

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A major new talent., 15 Jun. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Hoodlum turned Jihadi turned UK Government agent - Riz Sabir has been there done that and got the Kalashnikov. Written from a unique perspective these three thrillers follow Riz and his crew of 'Black-eyed girls' as they rid the western world of Muslim extremists.
What sets Flowers work apart from other genre thrillers is his knowledge of Islam and Jihadi operations. This Riz omnibus is proof that a new UK writing talent has been discovered.


Page: 1 | 2 | 3 | 4