Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Blind Boys of Alabama Shop now Fitbit
Profile for JC Martin > Reviews

Personal Profile

Content by JC Martin
Top Reviewer Ranking: 8,526,949
Helpful Votes: 14

Learn more about Your Profile.

Reviews Written by
JC Martin

Page: 1
Frans Bruggen Edition
Frans Bruggen Edition
Price: £30.42

14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A must for any lover of the recorder., 5 Jan. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Frans Bruggen Edition (Audio CD)
The Frans Brüggen Edition is a box-set of 12 CDs containing many recorder recordings made by Frans Brüggen for Telefunken between 1962 and 1979; there are also a few for transverse flute. The content is the following:

CD 1: Telemann: Recorder Sonatas and Fantasias
1. Sonata in F major, TWV 41:F2
2. Fantasia in D minor, TWV 40:4
3. Canonic sonata in B flat major, TWV 41:B3
4. Fantasia in G minor, TWV 40:9
5. Sonata in C major, TWV 41:C5
6. Fantasia in A minor, TWV 40:11
7. Fantasia in C major, TWV 40:2
8. Sonata in F minor TWV 41:f1
9. Fantasia in B flat major TWV 40:12
10. Sonata in D minor TWV 41:d4
11. Fantasia in F major, TWV 40:8
12. Sonata in C major, TWV 41:C2
CD 2: Italian Recorder Sonatas
13. Corelli: Variations on “La Follia”, op.5 no.12 in G minor
14. Barsanti: Sonata in C major
15. Veracini: Sonata in G major
16. Bigaglia: Sonata in A minor
17. Chédeville: Sonata op.13, No.6 in G minor
18. Marcello: Sonata op.2, No.11 in D minor
19. Corelli: Sonata op.5, No.4 in F major
20. Veracini: Sonata in A minor
CD 3: English Ensemble Music
21. Holborne: Dances and Airs a 5
22. Taverner: In Nomine a 4
23. Tye: In Nomine
24. Byrd: In Nomine a 5
25. Simpson: “Bonny Sweet Robin”, Ricercar a 4
26. Byrd: “The leaves be green”, Browning a 5
27. Morley: “La Girandola” a 2
28. Morley: “II Lamento” a 2
29. Morley: “La Caccia” a 2
30. Jeffreys: Fantasia a 3
31. Parcham: Solo in G major
32. Carr: Divisions upon an Italian ground
33. Babell: Concerto a 7 in D major
34. Pepusch: Sonata No.4 in F major
35. Purcell: Chaconne “Three parts upon a ground” in F major
CD 4: Early Baroque Recorder Music
36. van Eyck: Batali
37. van Eyck: Doen Daphne d’over schoone Maeght
38. van Eyck: Pavane Lachryme
39. van Eyck: Engels Nachtigaeltje
40. Frescobaldi: Canzon per Canto solo e Basso Continuo “La Bernadina”
41. Cima: Sonata in D major
42. Cima: Sonata in G major
43. Riccio: Canzon a 4 in A major
44. Riccio: Canzon in A major “La Rosignola”
45. Scheidt: Paduan a 4 in D major
46. Anon.: Sonata in G major
CD 5: Late Baroque Chamber Music
47. Telemann: Quartet in D minor, TWV 43:d1
48. Fasch: Quartet in G major
49. Loeillet: Quintet in B minor
50. Quantz: Trio sonata in C major
51. Scarlatti: Sonata in F major
52. Mattheson: Sonata IV in G minor, op.1 no.3
CD 6: French Recorder Suites
53. Dieupart: Suite in G major
54. Hotteterre: Première Suite de Pièces à deux dessus sans Basse Continue, op.4, Paris 1712
55. Dieupart: Suite in A major
CD 7: French Recorder Sonatas
56. Lavigne: Sonata in C major “La Barssan”
57. de Boismortier: Sonata in F minor (D minor)
58. Philidor: Sonata in D minor
59. Dornel: Sonata [a 3 Dessus] in B flat major
60. Couperin: Le rossignol-en-amour
CD 8: Vivaldi: Chamber Concertos
61. Concerto in D major, RV 94
62. Concerto in D major, RV 92
63. Concerto in G minor, RV 105
64. Concerto in C major, RV 87
65. Concerto in A minor, RV 108
66. Concerto in C minor, RV 441
67. Concerto in F major, RV 442
CD 9: Handel: Recorder Sonatas
68. Sonata in A minor, op.1 no.4 HWV 362
69. Sonata in C major, op.1 no.7 HWV 365
70. Sonata in B flat major, HWV 377
71. Sonata in G minor, op.1 no.2 HWV 360
72. Sonata in D minor, HWV 367a
73. Sonata in F major, op.1 no.11 HWV 369
74. Sonata in A minor, op.1 no.4 HWV 362
CD 10: Telemann: Overture in A minor. Concerto in C major. Concerto à 6 in F major
75. Overture in A minor, TWV 55: a 2
76. Concerto in C major
77. Concerto à 6 in F major
CD 11: Bach: Chamber and Orchestral Music
78. Concerto in F major, BWV 1057
79. Trio Sonata in G major, BWV 1039
80. Concerto in A minor, BWV 1044
81. Sonatina from: Cantata BWV106 Gottes Zeit ist die allerbeste Zeit (Actus tragicus)
82. Sonata Concerto from: Cantata BWV 182 Himmelskönig sei willkommen
CD 12: Recorder Sonatas and Concertos
83. Loeillet: Sonata in C minor
84. Sammartini: Concerto in F major
85. Handel: Trio Sonata in B minor, HWV 386b
86. Naudot: Concerto in G major
87. Loeillet: Sonata in G major
88. Telemann: Concerto in E minor

We hear Frans Brüggen to play with Gustav Leonhardt, Anner Bylsma, Nikolaus Harnoncourt, Kees Boeke, Walter van Hauwe and Bob van Asperen, among others.

The booklet contains a description of each track of these CDs; all the productions dates, and when available, recording dates and instruments used. There are also a few lines about Frans Brüggen as recorder player.

These versions have nothing to do with recordings for Seon label. A must for any lover of the recorder.

Page: 1