Profile for nancytownsend > Reviews

Personal Profile

Content by nancytownsend
Top Reviewer Ranking: 151,671
Helpful Votes: 19

Learn more about Your Profile.

Reviews Written by
nancytownsend

Show:  
Page: 1 | 2 | 3
pixel
The Phoenix Variant: The Fifth Column 3
The Phoenix Variant: The Fifth Column 3
by Nathan M Farrugia
Edition: Paperback
Price: £12.99

5.0 out of 5 stars Fast-paced fun, 1 Jun. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The third instalment of a great series and there is certainly no letting up on the action. Sophia and her gang are back, in a fast-paced game of wits and skill over and under the streets of New York City. With a hurricane, The Fifth Column, Denton AND the Crazy Jamaican Woman to contend with, they need all the help they can get and it seems like there is a life threatening cliff-hanger at the end of almost every chapter. It's enough to make you dizzy.

As we learn more about The Fifth Column and the various gene enhancing viruses, this series just gets better and better. I have one small point I would like to raise about The Phoenix Variant though. I don't know if a resident of New York City would be able to follow the geography of this episode, but I was completely lost. In this, I would have found the odd diagram or map, a la Matthew Reilly, to be a helpful addition in following where everyone was in relation to each other.

That said, it didn't stop me really enjoying this book and I look forward to the next one.


The Seraphim Sequence (Fifth Column)
The Seraphim Sequence (Fifth Column)
by Nathan M. Farrugia
Edition: Paperback
Price: £12.99

5.0 out of 5 stars Perfect for fans of Matthew Reilly, 15 April 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Sophia, Damien and Jay are back! They have to try to save the world from The Fifth Column's planned mind control and it's going to take all their enhanced abilities and all the allies they can muster to pull it off. Not easy when The Fifth Column have blackened Sophia's name and everyone - including herself - seem to hate her.

A welcome sequel to The Chimera Vector, the action sequences are as exciting and intense as ever in The Seraphim Sequence. There's lots of heartbreak and desperation and people dropping like flies. Will the friends prevail? If you love Matthew Reilly, you MUST read Nathan M. Farrugia!


Ground Zero: A Zombie Apocalypse
Ground Zero: A Zombie Apocalypse
Price: £2.22

4.0 out of 5 stars Great!!, 18 Nov. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Yet another book where the baddie is an Iraqi Muslim. Is this an American thing? It made a nice change to have biological warfare rather than the usual suicide bomber though. The action was great. Loads of death and destruction, splatter and gore - what's not to like? Nicely fast-paced with just enough background to round out Jack Cutter's character without eating into the action too much. I would recommend this for any zombie fan and I look forward to reading the next book in the series.


The Chimera Vector (Fifth Column)
The Chimera Vector (Fifth Column)
by Nathan M. Farrugia
Edition: Paperback
Price: £13.95

5.0 out of 5 stars Gret start to a new series., 20 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The first few chapters didn't really grab me, but once Sophia, Damien and Jay got on the bus the story began to hot up. There's plenty of military-style action in here and they certainly love their "flashbangs". It took quite a while to get to know the three main characters but once I'd learned a bit of back-story and grown accustomed to them, I got to like them and care about what happened to them. There is plenty of action and techno stuff to keep you entertained in the meantime. I felt that this book was a good introduction to world of The Fifth Column and now that I know the characters I look forward to reading the next book.


A Charm of Powerful Trouble: Volume 4 (Harry Reese Mysteries)
A Charm of Powerful Trouble: Volume 4 (Harry Reese Mysteries)
by Robert Bruce Stewart
Edition: Paperback
Price: £5.99

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another great Harry Reese Mystery, 30 April 2014
I was lucky enough to be given a copy of this book by the author, for review.
This is the fourth Harry Reese Mystery I have read and they are a wonderful antidote to the "gritty realism" of so many modern whodunnits. Set in early twentieth century America, with nostalgic charm, Harry and his wife Emmie love investigating murders. In this story they zoom about, in an increasingly convoluted case of two murders, white slave trading, crickets, shrews and the length of donkeys' facial hair! Encountering numerous Chinamen and vaudevillians and helped (or hindered) by assorted relatives, Emmie's wild flights of fancy seem to take them in all sorts of unhelpful directions while Harry as usual appears to just go with the flow. Yet in the end their methods prevail amid the madness. There are so many characters this time that occasionally it was hard to keep track of who had done what, but the wonderful séance scene made it worth the effort of keeping up.


This is the Life
This is the Life
by Alex Shearer
Edition: Hardcover
Price: £12.99

5.0 out of 5 stars This is the Life, 30 Mar. 2014
This review is from: This is the Life (Hardcover)
A fictional work inspired by the death of the author's brother, this is a poignant memoir of two brothers spending time together before the older one dies of cancer. I liked the style of writing and found it an easy read.


Arm & Hammer Bad Breath and Tartar Control Dental Rinse, 32 oz
Arm & Hammer Bad Breath and Tartar Control Dental Rinse, 32 oz
Offered by BestBuyerDirect
Price: £8.65

4.0 out of 5 stars Fresher breath, 18 Oct. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
With four dogs a bottle only lasts about 10 days, but they do seem to have sweeter smelling breath. It's too early to tell if it is attacking their tartar.


Kalorama Shakedown: Volume 3 (Harry Reese Mysteries)
Kalorama Shakedown: Volume 3 (Harry Reese Mysteries)
by Robert Bruce Stewart
Edition: Paperback
Price: £5.79

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Harry and Emmie rock!, 14 Oct. 2013
I was lucky enough to be given a copy of this book by the author, for review. This is the third Harry Reese Mystery I have read and in Kalorama Shakedown I think the author has found his style. Less Wodehouse and Christie, more his own delightful creation. Harry and Emmie are back to their wonderful bantering selves and Harry has further developed his own way of coping with his wife's eccentric ways - he seems content to just let her be herself. (Why aren't more men like that?) This adventure takes them to Washington along with two more great characters - Elizabeth and the Countess. A slightly bemused, amiable Harry ambles through the plot involving jewel thefts. the Press, politics and so much more. The story was gripping, shocking and yet great fun. I look forward to the next instalment.


Crossings: Volume 2 (Harry Reese Mysteries)
Crossings: Volume 2 (Harry Reese Mysteries)
by Robert Bruce Stewart
Edition: Paperback
Price: £6.29

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Harry's married!, 14 Oct. 2013
I was lucky enough to be given a copy of this book by the author, for review. This is the second Harry Reece Mystery I have read and I was a little disappointed. Although Harry and Emmie have married, they spend less time bouncing off each other in this book and I think it suffers a bit as a result. That said, Harry was still his humorous self, not taking life too seriously. The story was less hectic than in Always a Cold Deck but there was still plenty of death, travelling and fun. It was a good mystery with a clever conclusion.


Always a Cold Deck (A Harry Reese Mystery Book 1)
Always a Cold Deck (A Harry Reese Mystery Book 1)
Price: £2.56

5.0 out of 5 stars A whirlwind adventure, 14 Oct. 2013
I was lucky enough to be given a copy of this book by the author, for review. I know this is not his favourite book, but I loved it. It was a beautiful period piece - think P. G. Wodehouse mixed with a little Agatha Christie, transported to North America. Harry Reece and Emmie McGinnis were a joy together and their banter made the book for me. The story was a whirlwind of travel and so many theories it made my brain spin at times but the ending was still a surprise.


Page: 1 | 2 | 3