Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Fitbit
Profile for L. F. Carson > Reviews

Personal Profile

Content by L. F. Carson
Top Reviewer Ranking: 122,622
Helpful Votes: 79

Learn more about Your Profile.

Reviews Written by
L. F. Carson (West Yorkshire)
(REAL NAME)   

Show:  
Page: 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5
pixel
Nomad: The most explosive thriller you'll read all year (The Marc Dane series)
Nomad: The most explosive thriller you'll read all year (The Marc Dane series)
by James Swallow
Edition: Paperback
Price: £3.85

4.0 out of 5 stars A Page Turner, 26 Jun. 2017
Nomad by James Swallow is a page turning thriller and the start of a new series.

The "hero" of the story, Marc, faces a race against time to not only clear has name but to save the world from a potential catastrophe.

The twists keep on coming as book maintains a frenetic pace throughout and is fully action packed as the globe is criss crossed.

As with just about all thrillers you sometimes have to put reality to one but that doesn't detract from the book or the story.

The author is an experienced screenwriter and this shows through and you can see this book being easily transferred to the small or large screen.

I thoroughly enjoyed the book and so looking forward to reading the next one.


Stasi Child: A Chilling Cold War Thriller (The Oberleutnant Karin Müller series)
Stasi Child: A Chilling Cold War Thriller (The Oberleutnant Karin Müller series)
by David Young
Edition: Paperback
Price: £7.99

5.0 out of 5 stars A Great New Series, 19 Jun. 2017
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is a new crime series but set in Eastern Germany in the 1970s.

The author describes the day to day life of people living behind the Curtain very well and the story is well constructed and keeps you hooked to the end

Hopefully this series will run & run as it deserves to


Stasi Wolf: A Gripping New Thriller for Fans of Child 44 (The Oberleutnant Karin Müller series)
Stasi Wolf: A Gripping New Thriller for Fans of Child 44 (The Oberleutnant Karin Müller series)
by David Young
Edition: Paperback
Price: £2.00

5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 19 Jun. 2017
The first book in the series was very good and this second one is even better.

Set mainly in the mid 1970s in East Germans our favourite characters star once again with an investigation where they are confined by the order of another part of the State.

The research undertaken by the author shines through every page and 1970s East Germany is vividly brought to life

As stated things are far from easy for our investigators but they find new ways to work the system and to continue their investigations.

The backstory of Karin Muller is progressed nicely with some gaps from the first story filled in

Do Muller and her colleagues succeed. Well you'll need to read the full book to find out.


The Mayfly: The chilling thriller that will get under your skin (Charlie Priest Thriller 1)
The Mayfly: The chilling thriller that will get under your skin (Charlie Priest Thriller 1)
by James Hazel
Edition: Paperback
Price: £2.00

1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good Debut, 15 Jun. 2017
The Mayfly is the first novel by James Hazel and stars Charlie Priest who is an ex Detective Inspector and is now a lawyer.

The story revolves around Priest investigating the death of the son of a wealthy and influential individual and keeps you turning the pages as the story progresses.

The book is definitely from the Thriller genre and keeps you fully entertained as the action and twists keep coming at you

The blurb on the back of the book states that this is for fans of Thomas Harris and M.J. Arlidge however whilst I haven't read anything by either of these 2 authors I am looking forward to the next book in the Charlie Priest series when it is published.

This is a good debut and worth getting a copy


Troll
Troll
by D.B. Thorne
Edition: Paperback
Price: £12.08

4.0 out of 5 stars Topical Thriller, 1 Jun. 2017
This review is from: Troll (Paperback)
I have read David Thorne's 3 previous novels but "Troll" is a slight change of both genre and of name.

D B Thorne still produces a fast paced, page turning thriller as a Father tries to locate his missing daughter in an attempt to make up for his failings as a father.

The story is topical bring based around social media bullying and what can happen to the gullible and not so gullible.

As in most good novels the main characters have complicated but interesting back stories that are not too far fetched.

The story moves along quickly and I found it entertaining and engaging. My only reservation is that the ending felt slightly rushed although that is a minor issue.

This is a standalone book so it will be interesting to see what comes from next from this author


The Body in the Ice: A gripping historical murder mystery perfect if you love S. J. Parris (A Hardcastle and Chaytor Mystery)
The Body in the Ice: A gripping historical murder mystery perfect if you love S. J. Parris (A Hardcastle and Chaytor Mystery)
by A. J. MacKenzie
Edition: Hardcover
Price: £18.95

4.0 out of 5 stars A Historical Murder Mystery, 15 May 2017
The Body in the Ice by husband and wife team A J MacKenzie is the second book in the Hardcastle and Chaytor mystery series.

It is based in the late 1700s in Kent and despite having not read the first book of the series I found it a very good and interesting standalone historical murder mystery.

The story moves along and there is enough detail to ensure that you can tell that it is set over 200 years ago without that detracting from the story.

The two main characters are well developed and have interesting backgrounds etc.

Without giving too much away the story includes French spies, smuggling, an American family and conflicting loyalties.

The book kept me entertained throughout and now I'm off to locate a cool of the first in the series


Amnesia
Amnesia
by Michael Ridpath
Edition: Paperback
Price: £12.08

4.0 out of 5 stars Moves along at a pace, 10 May 2017
This review is from: Amnesia (Paperback)
The story of this book revolves around one of the main characters suffering from amnesia following receipt of a blow to the head.

As his memory recovers with the help of his young relative a complex backstory emerges with lots of family secrets brought out.

The author, Michael Ridpath, original wrote thrillers based in the finance sector and whilst this story is based in a different area it is still a page turner and I wanted to read the next chapter.

The twists and turns continue until the end although, in my opinion, the decision made in the last page is a bit too corny for my liking and doesn't impact on the outcome of the story or add anything to it. Others may disagree

So if you are looking for a book to keep you interested the this is one to chose


In Deep Water: The exciting new thriller from the #1 bestselling author (The Cathy Connolly Series)
In Deep Water: The exciting new thriller from the #1 bestselling author (The Cathy Connolly Series)
by Sam Blake
Edition: Paperback
Price: £12.99

4.0 out of 5 stars A Good a Second Book, 6 April 2017
This is the second book in the Detective Garda Cat Connolly series by Sam Blake.

In Deep Water picks up the story a few months in from the conclusion of book one with Connolly back at work but still suffering the after effects of the explosion that left lives in the balance.

This story moves at a pace and develops the main characters of the series whilst they try to find one of Connolly's friends who is missing.

As in all detective or thriller stories there are many twists and turns and this keeps the pages turning.

My only criticism about the style of writing is that the thoughts and feelings of Connolly appear too often and feel at times slightly contrived but overall the book is well worth reading although I would recommend that you read book one first


Spirit [Deluxe]
Spirit [Deluxe]
Offered by FLASH
Price: £10.98

14 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 17 Mar. 2017
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Spirit [Deluxe] (Audio CD)
4 years since Delta Machine Depeche Mode return with another excellent album that gets better with each listening.
The complex sounds that you expect are here although with some very topical and hard hitting lyrics


Silverlit PicooZ Remote Control Helicopter
Silverlit PicooZ Remote Control Helicopter

1.0 out of 5 stars Very poor product, 31 Dec. 2016
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Whilst the item arrived on time etc it did not work when my nephew opened it on Xmas Day. I am unable to add anything further on the item


Page: 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5