Shop now Shop now Shop now Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now
Customer Discussions > fiction discussion forum

Writer reviews

Sort: Oldest first | Newest first
Showing 26-50 of 193 posts in this discussion
In reply to an earlier post on 5 Dec 2012 08:57:03 GMT
Ethereal, I have answer for you, but it's not for public consumption.

In reply to an earlier post on 5 Dec 2012 08:52:21 GMT
Ethereal says:
"As a thriller writer I am constantly attempting to outwit and misdirect thriller readers."

But of course I'd expect that in a thriller.
It's a different kind of outwit I was referring to, not as part of the story but the way it's been written. Why it's been written the way it has. I doubt readers are interested in a writer's experiments, only that they work. For yours to work you say it should be invisible yet want to draw attention to it afterwards. This need to explain ...

Posted on 5 Dec 2012 08:42:40 GMT
Ethereal, you know how I love you and everything but . . . I'm not feeling that one, sorry. As a thriller writer I am constantly attempting to outwit and misdirect thriller readers.

Sou'Wester, I'm kind of gonna disagree with you, too. A story is a story, within the story there are invariably other stories some the writer is aware of, others just leapt from the subconscious and buried themselves in the text. Here, again, I'll highlight the vast difference between novel writing, and journalism. A novel, for me, is not judged on how successfully the story (singular) has been put across. Within the story are nuances and subtleties some conscious, some inserted subconsciously. Whether these subtleties are picked up by reader governs your story as you are writing for readers with different levels of comprehension. Often I find myself writing entire chapters on one subject when really they relate to another.