Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.0 out of 5 stars
10
4.0 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

VINE VOICEon 17 June 2010
Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
I've been playing the guitar for nearly 20 years and i've been more impressed with this eMedia My Guitar tutorial than the millions of books/CD's/tutorials i've come accross over the years.
Firstly, this is certainly not just for adults. In fact, for the sale price (I note that it's around the £20 mark), the chord dictionary and tuner alone would be worth it. Here we have something that any beginner would benefit from, child or not. The software is fun, friendly, clear, engaging and most importantly - you WILL be able to play real music at the end of it, not just nursery rhymes.
Wait - it just gets better! Not only do you have a comprehensive chord dictionary at your fingertips, the chords PLAY. Yes, you can actually hear them strummed. This may seem like a minor point but often when playing music by ear, it's very helpful to have a quick example without having to mess about finding the fingerings. But wait, it gets EVEN better still. The music pieces can be Slowed down - an essential aspect to learning a new piece. Also included are other gems such as the ability to record yourself playing (via use of a microphone, not supplied).
Over 60 lessons are taught by by Kevin Garry, Ph.D an American University Lecturer. We have clear fingering diagrams and games that help engage and capture the users interest. I play medium-advanced fingerstyle folk/country. This software, although on the surface too basic for me, has been a wonderful practice/warm up tool.
Many adults ask me for advice on learning the guitar. To be honest, I'd recommend this to them even though it appears to come from the kids section of the store!
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
Feedback from my family who have been using this with a 10 year old is that it is a big hit.
Easy to follow and with the ability to slow down certain aspects etc, the package appears to have been extremely well thought out with the teaching input also coming from a very reputable source. Definite progress has been reported by the 10 year old learning the guitar and it is fun enough to avoid being a chore!

Installation on a W7 machine was no problem and the software caused no discernible strain on the machine and suffered no problems in use.

On the basis of the above, can do nothing other than give it a wholehearted recommendation.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 15 July 2010
Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
This is a great little programme for learning guitar. Designed with the kids in mind it is also good for those of us who are a little older and who have not yet won the battle to learn this fantastic instrument.
Well designed and easy to follow this is a recommended purchase - for the big and little kids in your life!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 7 June 2010
Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
eMedia My Guitar is a very good introduction to learning the guitar; it is geared up for the younger audience, but could equally work for adults new to the guitar.

The installation was very straight forward on my PC (using XP Home) with no issues to report other than it did not auto-run the installer when the DVD was inserted.

Running the program from the start takes you into the first lesson "Using my Guitar" and it is simple to move forward and back between the sections, or repeat examples again. It remembers where you are in the lesson too, so if you quit the application and start it up again later, it starts from where you left off. There is a contents section to skip to which ever section you wish.

As for the lessons, these cover the very basics, starting with the simplest chords and simple rhythms. Gradually, further chords are added, backing up theory with practice exercises and examples plus an occasional "game". In the last chapter, tablature is introduced, with some simple well known songs to play along with.

A nice touch is the "left-handed fretboard" option; with the animated fretboard enabled, the fretboard is shown with the correct frets/strings to hold down whilst a song is played. Enabling the left-handed fretboard option reverses this, thereby helping left handed players. It should be noted though that all the static and video examples are all right-handed, so possibly only of minor assistance.

As a package, it is very well thought out, with 60 different sections explaining theory, techniques, tips and games. On top of that there is an extensive chord dictionary, a useful metronome, a recorder plus an obligatory tuner. Interactive multi-media is put to good effect with video examples as well as music examples; the DVD needs to be in the PC for these to work, so not a completely standalone product.

Overall a very good package, one that children will enjoy, and possible a few more "mature" beginners too.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 26 April 2012
Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
I had high hopes for this package but my 3 children (aged 9 / 7 / 5) just couldn't seem to get either interested or excited in this program and ultimately it quickly fell flat and hasn't been used anywhere near enough to justify a recommendation.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 February 2011
Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
Research has proven that children who play an instrument do better in school, make friends more easily, are more creative, learn self-discipline and gain self-confidence. In eMedia My Guitar, an animated character named Gary the Guitar leads kids through 60 lessons by Kevin Garry, Ph.D. My Guitar covers the basics, such as tuning your guitar and learning chords, and moves on to reading music, playing songs, and much more. An animated fretboard shows you where to put your fingers as the live recorded audio plays. With MIDI tracks, the speed of the music can be adjusted so you can learn at your own pace. Special features such as an automatic tuner, metronome, chord dictionary, and digital recorder are all included. eMedia My Guitar is the perfect way to introduce children to playing guitar!

Ages 5 and up.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 June 2010
Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
I ordered this specifically for my 6 year old son to help him learn some simple chords. He is keen to learn to play and thought this may be a good option and if he takes to it then I can get him lessons with a music teacher later on.

It was reasonablly easy to install, although our pc uses vista and there is an additional helpline if using vista, it wasn't necessary to use the helpline.

So far he has watched the programme through to get a feel for it, but hasn't yet taken any of the lessons (this is more likely because he recieved this on his birthday and has been busy trying out all his new toys and gadgets).

It looks very user friendly, with animations and bright colours it will appeal to most primary school age children.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 16 June 2010
Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
Very easy to use and set up. Idea for children of any age including those of shall we say more more mature years. Very good way of introducing a musical instrument in a fun way. Full of simple and fun things to hear and do really good idea.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 17 December 2010
Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
I have been playing guitar for a long time and hoped this would help me to inspire my young children to play. The girls were both keen to have a go but quickly lost interest, as they couldn't fret the notes very well. I spent a lot of effort in helping them hold the guitar properly and they did fret the odd note, the first examples were also quite simple, but all in all I had to conclude that the girls at five and seven weren't ready. The eldest is playing recorder and has found the notes to the tunes she had learned on the recorder on a piano by herself. Last week I found she had worked out happy birthday on her own so I don't think it is motivation, but conclude maybe that guitar isn't her instrument, and I haven't wanted to mark down this software for that.

At its price it is good value coming in at roughly equal to one half hour lesson with a teacher, I installed the software on a Mac and found that the inbuilt tuner wasn't particularly effective. I also thought that the bits of video didn't offer much more than proof that something could be played, giving no instruction in themselves. So in summary I think this software is a good aid to someone learning guitar but probably needs to be used side by side some teaching if used with its target audience, young children.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 May 2011
review image review image review image review image review image
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)