Enter your mobile number or email address below and we'll send you a link to download the free Kindle App. Then you can start reading Kindle books on your smartphone, tablet, or computer - no Kindle device required.

  • Apple
  • Android
  • Windows Phone
  • Android

To get the free app, enter your mobile phone number.

Kindle Price: £2.98

Save £5.01 (63%)

includes VAT*
* Unlike print books, digital books are subject to VAT.

These promotions will be applied to this item:

Some promotions may be combined; others are not eligible to be combined with other offers. For details, please see the Terms & Conditions associated with these promotions.

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

Defy the Stars by [Gray, Claudia]
Kindle App Ad

Defy the Stars Kindle Edition

4.4 out of 5 stars 27 customer reviews

See all 5 formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Amazon Price
New from Used from
Kindle Edition
"Please retry"
£2.98

Length: 432 pages Word Wise: Enabled Enhanced Typesetting: Enabled
Page Flip: Enabled

40 Kindle Books for £1
Browse our selection of Kindle Books discounted to £1 each. Learn more
Get a £1 reward for movies or TV
Enjoy a £1.00 reward to spend on movies or TV on Amazon Video when you purchase any Amazon Kindle Book from the Kindle Store (excluding Kindle Unlimited, Periodicals and free Kindle Books) offered by Amazon.co.uk. A maximum of 1 reward per customer applies. UK customers only. Offer ends at 23:59 on Wednesday, September 27, 2017. Terms and conditions apply


Product description

Review

Marvellous worldbuilding that takes us from planet to planet, each of them distinct and fascinating; a well-thoughtout glimpse of our future and the repercussions of our current lifestyles; a measured, intelligent depiction of multiple societies and cultures... The story works beautifully on an emotional level too, and the pacing is masterful - never do you feel as though anything's being rushed, yet the story powers along at a rate of knots... usually to unexpected places. SFX magazine Intelligent and thoughtful, a highly relevant far-off speculative adventure. Huffington Post Blending high stakes adventure with science fiction, romance and a thrilling plot this is a book that deserves to be huge. Fantastic storytelling. Wow. Claudia Gray just wow. Perfect for fans of Star Wars, V. E. Schwab, Becky Chambers and Sarah J. Maas. Madwoman in the Attic

Review

Marvellous worldbuilding that takes us from planet to planet, each of them distinct and fascinating; a well-thoughtout glimpse of our future and the repercussions of our current lifestyles; a measured, intelligent depiction of multiple societies and cultures... The story works beautifully on an emotional level too, and the pacing is masterful - never do you feel as though anything's being rushed, yet the story powers along at a rate of knots... usually to unexpected places. (SFX magazine)

Intelligent and thoughtful, a highly relevant far-off speculative adventure. (Huffington Post)

Blending high stakes adventure with science fiction, romance and a thrilling plot this is a book that deserves to be huge. Fantastic storytelling. Wow. Claudia Gray just wow. Perfect for fans of Star Wars, V. E. Schwab, Becky Chambers and Sarah J. Maas. (Madwoman in the Attic)

Product details

  • Format: Kindle Edition
  • File Size: 1340 KB
  • Print Length: 432 pages
  • Page Numbers Source ISBN: 0316394033
  • Publisher: Hot Key Books (6 April 2017)
  • Sold by: Amazon Media EU S.à r.l.
  • Language: English
  • ASIN: B01MRPNT2E
  • Text-to-Speech: Enabled
  • X-Ray:
  • Word Wise: Enabled
  • Screen Reader: Supported
  • Enhanced Typesetting: Enabled
  • Average Customer Review: 4.4 out of 5 stars 27 customer reviews
  • Amazon Bestsellers Rank: #34,760 Paid in Kindle Store (See Top 100 Paid in Kindle Store)
  • Would you like to tell us about a lower price?


Customer reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars
Share your thoughts with other customers

Top customer reviews

Format: Kindle Edition Verified Purchase
A great story from Claudia Grey, I saw on the front cover it said for fans of Divergent. As such a fan how did not like the ending or Carve the Mark, this is a space story in the divergent style done right. The book is told from 2 perspectives Noemi and Able. I like the was Grey differentiates between the perspectives and the character development is great.

I really prefer Greys style of story telling that the characters do not simply fall in love at first site each character has their moment to shine and they both earn each other's respect, as well as changing perceptions. none of the characters in the story are one dimensional. The only one thing I would have liked more of in this book is actions. A couple extra space battle or mech on mech combat would have made this would have made this perfect for me, however that is just me. Though I do understand this is more a story of self discovery for Noemi, seeing other cultures and how her planet is perceived from the outside, and for Able what it means to be human, and dealing with raw emotions Vs his programing. If this if the first book I can't wait for the second one. I want to see what the characters do next, and can their be and Able without a Cain?
Comment One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
Format: Kindle Edition Verified Purchase
My daughter loved this book. She has described the plot to me in vivid detail. The ending made her cry but she said it was easily one of the best books she has ever read.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
Format: Kindle Edition Verified Purchase
This was brilliant. Loved the characters, the building of tension, and most of all, the slow budding change in characters I thought were cemented into their personalities.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
Format: Kindle Edition Verified Purchase
Very good absorbing story with a believable relationship between the female soldier and the male AI. It leaves you wanting to know more about what might happen next between these two characters
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
Format: Kindle Edition Verified Purchase
Fantastic book, a real page turner. Can't wait to see if there is a follow up.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
Format: Kindle Edition Verified Purchase
I came across this book by accident and the premise intrigued me. I absolutely loved it. Couldn't stop reading it. Well written and a fabulous story. It really drew me in.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
Format: Paperback Verified Purchase
My daughter really enjoyed this book. Different to a lot of other teen novels.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
Format: Kindle Edition
This book was kindly provided to me for honest review by the Publisher via Netgalley. This has not impacted on the content of this review, which it my own honest opinion.
This was my first time reading something by Claudia Gray, though I have heard good things about her other books, and will definitely be checking them out in the future.. The synopsis for Defy the Stars really drew me in, I’ve been looking to read more science fiction, so I was over the moon when I got accepted to read this.

Defy the Stars is told across two perspectives, alternating between Noemi, a seventeen year old soldier from Genesis willing to sacrifice her life for her planet, and Abel, an advanced mech from earth who has been stranded alone on a space ship for 30 years. They are from opposite sides of a conflict between Earth and Genesis, but they are thrown together my circumstance and forced to work together.

This novel is science fiction, well done, in an accessible way. The concepts are solid and interesting, but not overly complicated. Defy the Stars is set several hundred years in the future and there are a handful of different worlds linked by a loop of worm holes. Each of the worlds we learn about are very distinct, with different priorities and lifestyles. I love this sort of thing personally, and here, we are viewing these world through the eyes of a character who has never left her own planet before, meaning we get to discover them with her. This also highlights the state of things for humanity. Earth is dying, its resources have been so stretched, and pollution and global warming have taken their toll. This is the source of the conflict between Earth and Genesis, Genesis is the perfect place for humanity to settle, but it’s people stood against Earth, to protect their planet.
Read more ›
1 Comment 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse

Most recent customer reviews

click to open popover

Where's My Stuff?

Delivery and Returns

Need Help?