1 used from £85.01

Have one to sell? Sell on Amazon

Come Alive! The Complete Colombia Years

4.0 out of 5 stars 1 customer review

See all formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Amazon Price
New from Used from
Audio CD, 16 Sep 2013
"Please retry"
Available from these sellers.
1 used from £85.01

Amazon's Joanie Sommers Store

What other items do customers buy after viewing this item?

Product details

  • Audio CD (16 Sept. 2013)
  • Number of Discs: 1
  • Label: Real Gone Music
  • ASIN: B00DU11FGY
  • Other Editions: Audio CD
  • Average Customer Review: 4.0 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (1 customer review)
  • Amazon Bestsellers Rank: 288,721 in Music (See Top 100 in Music)
  • If you are a seller for this product, would you like to suggest updates through seller support?

Track Listings

Disc: 1

  1. The Shadow of Your Smile
  2. On a Wonderful Day Like Today
  3. Call Me
  4. I'm All Smiles
  5. It Had to Be You
  6. Too Late Now
  7. You'd Better Love Me
  8. Watch What Happens
  9. Sunday in New York
  10. Girl Talk
  11. You Take What Comes Along
  12. You've Got Possibilities
  13. Never Throw Your Dreams Away
  14. Never, Never
  15. Alfie
  16. Let It Be Now
  17. Love Song
  18. It Doesn't Matter Anymore
  19. Take a Broken Heart
  20. Try to See It My Way

Product description

Product Description

Capable of singing jazz, pop and rock 'n' roll with equal aplomb, Joanie Sommers was one of the most accomplished and versa-tile singers of her generation, so much so that at various times she was hailed as "The Voice of the '60s" and "The Pepsi Girl" (after contributing vocals to several jingles for the soft drink brand). However, while much of her work for the Warner Bros. label has been reissued (most notably by another Real Gone release, The Complete Warner Bros. Singles), her subsequent recordings for the Columbia label have re- mained untouched in the digital age…until now! "Come Alive - The Complete Columbia Recordings" includes the complete stereo version of Joanie's 1966 album "Come Alive" - a title de-rived from a Pepsi ad campaign of the era - plus nine non-LP single sides, four of them unreleased. Joanie's manager Alan Eichler contributes liner notes featuring quotes from the singer herself, with photos from her private archive. This was the last album Joanie recorded be-fore going into semi-retirement in the '70s; it's a key part of her legacy.

Customer Reviews

4.0 out of 5 stars
5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
See the customer review
Share your thoughts with other customers

Top Customer Reviews

Format: Audio CD Verified Purchase
Fine cd
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse

Most Helpful Customer Reviews on Amazon.com (beta) (May include reviews from Early Reviewer Rewards Program)

Amazon.com: 4.8 out of 5 stars 13 reviews
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars What a difference a label makes 15 Feb. 2016
By Ronald Weinger - Published on Amazon.com
Format: Audio CD Verified Purchase
What a difference a label makes. when Ms Sommers signed with Columbia she was immediately placed into the "adult contemporary market", where Columbia long held dominance. She was in the arena of Dinah Shore, Rosemary Clooney, Edyie Gorme and Barbara Streisand. Ok, no additional pop chart hits, but there is not a single song in this collections that is unlistenable. The arrangements are perfectly balanced and showcase her still distinctive voice as never before. The market may not need a hundred versions of "Alfie" (nor "Fool on the Hill", but that is a different story), but there is no denying that her version is more than just a throwaway cover. There are no gimmicks on these recordings, no attempts to make her someone else. You have Joanie Sommers with direction, something sorely missing on the WB recordings. I could listen to this collection over and over.
An 'A' on packaging with important and appropriate liner notes.
13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "I`M ALL SMILES" TOO 6 Sept. 2013
By George Moffatt - Published on Amazon.com
Format: Audio CD Verified Purchase
A terrific Columbia album from the mid-sixties. Joanie Sommers is marvelous as always, but I missed the LP "Come Alive!" when first released. There are a couple of older songs here, but most were current songs from Broadway and Hollywood. Now they have become standards. Joanie, the arrangements by Mort Garson and the band really swing on this. Great bonus tracks are the dozen singles. Three of these are from the TV original musical "On The Flip Side". Extensive and loving notes by Alan Eichler.
Thank you Columbia for going into the vaults for this treasure. Keep it up, please. I wish you would release "The Beginning" by Bobbe Norris. Never released on tape or CD and according to Amazon there are some singles that could be added. Go Ahead, Make My Christmas.
7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars That completes Joanie for me 23 Sept. 2013
By Jay Holder - Published on Amazon.com
Format: Audio CD Verified Purchase
I think I have all of Joanie`s recordings now and I was glad to get this album to complete my collection. As usual Joanie is great with good choice of material orchestra backing in STEREO. The additional bonus tracks are also very good.
6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars At last joanies columbia album on c d. 9 Sept. 2013
By Chaswill - Published on Amazon.com
Format: Audio CD Verified Purchase
I have always enjoyed joanie sommers singing. What i didnt realaize back in the 60s is what a great singer she is. Come alive proves what a wonderful song stylist she really is. I recently purchased come alive on vinyl and i am delighted to have it on c d with all the bonus tracks as an extra special treat.
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Joanie where have you been? 8 Oct. 2013
By Ole Tom - Published on Amazon.com
Format: Audio CD Verified Purchase
I always enjoyed Joanie Sommers' music in my younger days. With the British Invasion a lot of fine performers and worthwhile music got swept aside and she seemed to have disappeared. I have played this CD over and over again and thoroughly enjoyed it.
Were these reviews helpful? Let us know

Pages with related products. See and discover other items: real gone jazz

Look for similar items by category