FREE UK Delivery on book orders dispatched by Amazon over £10.
Only 3 left in stock (more on the way).
Dispatched from and sold by Amazon. Gift-wrap available.
The Nearness of You has been added to your Basket
+ £2.80 UK delivery
Used: Very Good | Details
Sold by PRE-LOVED BOOKS
Condition: Used: Very Good
Comment: We are committed to providing each customer with the highest standard of customer service. All books are picked, packed and dispatched from the United Kingdom.
Have one to sell?
Flip to back Flip to front
Listen Playing... Paused   You're listening to a sample of the Audible audio edition.
Learn more
See this image

The Nearness of You Paperback – 5 May 2016

4.3 out of 5 stars 11 customer reviews

See all 4 formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Amazon Price
New from Used from
Kindle Edition
"Please retry"
Paperback
"Please retry"
£8.99
£1.79 £0.01
Note: This item is eligible for click and collect. Details
Pick up your parcel at a time and place that suits you.
  • Choose from over 13,000 locations across the UK
  • Prime members get unlimited deliveries at no additional cost
How to order to an Amazon Pickup Location?
  1. Find your preferred location and add it to your address book
  2. Dispatch to this address when you check out
Learn more
£8.99 FREE UK Delivery on book orders dispatched by Amazon over £10. Only 3 left in stock (more on the way). Dispatched from and sold by Amazon. Gift-wrap available.
click to open popover

Special Offers and Product Promotions

Enter your mobile number or email address below and we'll send you a link to download the free Kindle App. Then you can start reading Kindle books on your smartphone, tablet, or computer - no Kindle device required.

  • Apple
  • Android
  • Windows Phone

To get the free app, enter your mobile phone number.



Product details

  • Paperback: 320 pages
  • Publisher: Piatkus (5 May 2016)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 0349410593
  • ISBN-13: 978-0349410593
  • Product Dimensions: 13.4 x 2.2 x 19.7 cm
  • Average Customer Review: 4.3 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (11 customer reviews)
  • Amazon Bestsellers Rank: 483,005 in Books (See Top 100 in Books)

Product Description

Review

When twenty-something Taylor makes a tragic discovery one morning while walking her dog, all of her relationships, both present and past, are thrown into chaos. The Nearness of You is a quiet, thoughtful novel that looks at all the different types of love we experience in our lives and how they shape who we are. It tackles a difficult subject in a very sensitive way. I enjoyed this book very much (Dorothy Koomson, bestselling author)

Book Description

Perfect for fans of Kelly Rimmer or Dorothy Koomson, THE NEARNESS OF YOU is filled with tension and heartache that will stay with you long after the final page

See all Product Description

Customer Reviews

4.3 out of 5 stars
Share your thoughts with other customers

Top Customer Reviews

Format: Paperback
The Nearness of You is the promising debut novel by Sareeta Domingo and it is Taylor Jenkins story. When Taylor meets Ryan, they share a strong connection. However, Ryan is Marcy, her best friend’s boyfriend and much as they try to ignore the connection and feelings they have they find that they can’t especially when Marcy goes away.

The Nearness of You was a heartfelt story about love, loss, and friendships. My heart went out to Taylor she had not had an easy life, and she was still struggling to come to turns with what had happened to someone very close to her. I felt Taylor's insecurities and fears were believable and realistic.

Taylor and Ryan were sweet together and you could feel that they were struggling with the feelings that they had for each. I like Ryan and the way he was with Taylor. Marcy was a great best friend to Taylor and I like the relationship they shared.

There is a love triangle aspect to the story, which was one of the reasons why I wanted to read this book, I say I don’t like them but I know that I really do. I did feel that as love triangles usually go this one wasn’t as high on the angst and drama as I was expecting. Don’t get me wrong, it wasn’t necessarily a bad thing because I still enjoyed the story, but I do think the author could have explored this aspect a little further and given me more romance.

Overall, I enjoyed this book, I adored the cover I think it’s very striking with those colours and the fact that it was set in London where I live was also a bonus. I would definitely read more from this author in the future, as I like her writing and the way she way was able to deal with a sensitive and weighty subject matter.

If you were looking for an emotional read one that is more than a story about a love triangle, then I would recommend you give this book try.
Comment One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
Format: Paperback
First of all.. Don’t you just love that cover?? That cover was definitely the thing that made me want to read it before I even read the book description. But after reading the book description I definitely wanted to read ‘The Nearness of You’ even more.

‘The Nearness of You’ is definitely a book that will stay with me. It’s heartbreaking, sad and moving. What definitely made this book unforgettable, is the way this book just felt real to me. It’s hard to explain what I mean with that, but I’m going to try.. The emotions in this book were just so good described you almost started to feel them yourself. For example with the romance part, you know that it is wrong but you still want it to happen.. but then again not really. Okay.. I’m not making much sense. LOL! Let’s continue..

The main character Taylor has had a hard life. She went through what no one should have to go through. But the one thing that keeps her going is the friendship between her and her best friend Marcy. But Marcy is very different than Taylor. Marcy is sparkly, happy and outgoing. While Taylor just feels down and doesn’t know what to do with her life. One day, Taylor meets Ryan who makes her feel all kinds of thing she never felt before. She feels like he understands her without knowing her. But afraid of what she feels, she leaves without getting names or phone numbers. Months later she meets him again, but now he is Marcy’s boyfriend. Yep.. It’s really that bad!! Sigh..

This book really grabbed me. Although Taylor doesn’t think so herself.. I found her character very strong and brave. To get through what she went through.. I don’t know if I would have been able to go on. Her melancholy and her feelings are just so understandable.
Read more ›
Comment One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
Format: Kindle Edition
This debut novel from author Sareeta Domingo, follows Taylor Jenkins and her battle to come to terms with her mother's suicide, and the realisation that she is falling in love with her best friends boyfriend.

Taylor and Ryan crossed paths in a chance meeting in a London cinema, a moment that left them both with a feeling of something left unresolved, and with no way of contacting each other. That is, until Taylor's best friend Marcy introduces her to her new boyfriend, who is in fact, the very man she let get away that fateful night.

Not only is she struggling to deal with this reality, but Taylor is also trying to come to terms with the aftermath of finding a man's body floating in the River Thames, which brings up memories of her own mother's death. She is feeling lost and alone, and needing to decide what path to take in order to live a contented life.

When Marcy asks Taylor if Ryan can stay with them since he has no place to stay, she can't say no without raising suspicions, but when Marcy gets a gig dancing overseas, Taylor and Ryan are forced to spend more and more time together, and it's not long before they need to confront the fact that they have feelings for each other.

There is a love triangle element, and although things are wrapped up quite nicely (and maybe a bit too quickly) in the end, I felt it was realistic, and I appreciated the friendship between Taylor and Marcy and how it was dealt with.

The Nearness of You reads more as a women's fiction than a romance and since I am a total romance junkie I perhaps didn't enjoy it as much as I could have. I absolutely loved the tension and angst between Taylor and Ryan, and adored reading the parts of the book where you could feel the yearning and the want.
Read more ›
Comment One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse

Most Recent Customer Reviews


Look for similar items by category


Feedback