Buy Used
£3.03
+ £2.80 UK delivery
Used: Very Good | Details
Condition: Used: Very Good
Comment: Expedited shipping available on this book. The book has been read, but is in excellent condition. Pages are intact and not marred by notes or highlighting. The spine remains undamaged.
Have one to sell?
Flip to back Flip to front
Listen Playing... Paused   You're listening to a sample of the Audible audio edition.
Learn more
See this image

Let the Old Dreams Die Hardcover – 30 Aug 2012

4.5 out of 5 stars 30 customer reviews

See all 5 formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Amazon Price
New from Used from
Kindle Edition
"Please retry"
Hardcover
"Please retry"
£3.03

Man Booker International Prize 2017
A Horse Walks Into a Bar has won the Man Booker International Prize 2017. Learn more
click to open popover

What other items do customers buy after viewing this item?

Enter your mobile number or email address below and we'll send you a link to download the free Kindle App. Then you can start reading Kindle books on your smartphone, tablet, or computer - no Kindle device required.

  • Apple
  • Android
  • Windows Phone

To get the free app, enter your mobile phone number.



Product details

  • Hardcover: 400 pages
  • Publisher: Quercus (30 Aug. 2012)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 0857385496
  • ISBN-13: 978-0857385499
  • Product Dimensions: 15.6 x 3.8 x 24 cm
  • Average Customer Review: 4.5 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (30 customer reviews)
  • Amazon Bestsellers Rank: 245,982 in Books (See Top 100 in Books)
  • If you are a seller for this product, would you like to suggest updates through seller support?

  • See Complete Table of Contents

Product description

Review

'A compelling voice, a simply brilliant collection from one of the horror genre's best living authors' (British Fantasy Society)

'an example of some of the finest short horror fiction you'll find today' (Reader Dad)

'Lindqvist has let loose a wayward brood of stories to enthral, unsettle, intrigue and, yes indeed, sometimes scare the living bejeezus out of us' (This is Horror)

'Lindqvist's imagination is full of monsters, and he's brilliant at finding new ways of approaching well-trodden ground. His real talent, though, is the way he writes people' (SFX)

'Lindqvist's knack for slick story-telling, inventive twists and cinematic set ups means we wouldn't be surprised if Hollywood are back in touch soon' (Timeout)

'skilfully put together, a beautifully written masterpiece of subtle power in which every story shines like a dark gem' (Fear)

'These stories, which are surreal, complex, gives the reader insight into the human psyche ... A stunning collection' (Terror-Tree)

'This collection of chilling short stories will have you wishing your DLR journey was just a few pages longer' (Wharf)

'very gripping, soulful and imaginative. It's perhaps the best collection of stories I've read since Clive Barker's Books of Blood' (Starburst Magazine)

Book Description

A collection of spine-tingling short stories, including the sequel to the international bestseller Let the Right One In.

See all Product description

Customer Reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars
Share your thoughts with other customers

Top Customer Reviews

Format: Kindle Edition Verified Purchase
As a fan of surreal, supernatural and horror fiction I can only urge you to read this compilation of short stories by John Ajvide Lindqvist as they're some of the best and most unique tales I've read in the genre for a while.

The compilation comprises the following stories;

Border, Village on the Hill, Equinox, Can't See It! It Doesn't Exist!, Substitute, Eternal/Love, Let the Old Dreams Die, To Hold You While the Music Plays, Majken, Paper Walls, The Final Processing.

If you've already read Let the Right One In, or seen the movie, you should find it interesting catching up with Oskar and Eli in Let the Old Dreams Die while The Final Processing returns to meet up with the incredibly odd characters from Handling the Undead. For me, by far the best story of the compilation is the totally surreal and completely off-the-wall 'Border' with it's odd themes of folklore and hidden identity. There are elements of Border which hooked me in so deeply I was mesmerized by the tale of Tina and Vore and their growing love story.

I've read all of John Ajvide Lindqvist's novels and he has a talent for mixing the real and unreal in long, rambling chapters that take time to progress and develop. I had wondered how he'd manage to cram his usual themes of human/inhuman into a shorter format and manage to create the necessary tension and suspense but he has, and he's done it perfectly.

Let the Old Dreams Die is an absolute must for fans of horror and supernernatural fiction and there's something here, from a woman keeping a corpse as a companion through to the unique relationship between Tina and Vore, to satisfy most tastes. If you enjoy more traditional horror then Village on the Hill could be for you.
Read more ›
Comment 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
Format: Kindle Edition Verified Purchase
This is a wonderful collection, especially for fans of Let The Right One In and Handling The Undead. The first story, 'Border', is worth the purchase of the book alone. Powerful, elegiac and starkly written, this collection is testament to Lindqvist's talent for short fiction that commands attention. Unmissable.
Comment 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
Format: Hardcover Verified Purchase
If you are looking for a book of short stories which are pitch black in tone, unsettling and thought provoking then you need look no further.

I have devoured every book by this Author and I would put them in the top of the quality horror section of my imaginary library!

The stories in this book are completely gripping (I didn't want to put my Kindle down). If you love the horror genre or are John Lindqvist afficianados then you will love this as much as I did.

A five star read!!
Comment 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
Format: Kindle Edition Verified Purchase
Does an ancillary love story to "let the right one in" which clears up any misconceptions you might have on that story.

Finishes off his walking dead story in a way which.if it had been included in the original novel, would have made it a five star story for me.

Then has a bunch of independent Chillers which show what a great writer he is.

Great stuff.
Comment 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
Format: Paperback Verified Purchase
Lindqvist is often compared to Stephen king but in my opinion he is better.
Absolutely love his writing and this book of short stories feels like it dabbles in a few different genres.
Superb book
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
Format: Kindle Edition Verified Purchase
I am a massive fan of John Ajvide Lindqvist, I have loved all of his books so far and I cannot wait for his next one to be released. `Let the Old Dreams Die' is a collection of stories which are surreal, complex, dark and as always, gives you an insight into the human psyche, where ordinary people experience the extraordinary.

I was particularly looking forward to the stories `Let the Old Dreams Die', where you find out what happened to Oskar and Eli from `Let The Right One In' alongside a story of great love and `The Final Processing', which continues the story of `Handling The Undead', I enjoyed `The Final Processing' more than `Let the Old Dreams Die' , it was more focused on the characters from the original story which I enjoyed, I wanted to know what had happened to Flora, Elvy and Hagar and the `reliving'.

All of the stories are individual and interesting, all of the characters are easy to relate to, which made the book even more of a pleasure to read.

An excellent book written by an amazing writer.
Comment 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
Format: Kindle Edition
I bought this collection of short stories as I had read that the title short, `Let the Old Dreams Die', covered off what happened to Oskar and Eli in "Let the Right One in". And while that is not the main direction of the tale's narrative, it does dot the "i "and cross the "t". Brrrrr.....

Lindquist really captures presents the Scandanavian world view in these stories. It's just different than the typical anglocentric work I would have read to date, and this adds significantly to dissconnect in some of the stories.

Well worth a read
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
Format: Kindle Edition Verified Purchase
This makes an interesting read as it's a collection that explores some of the characters from the authors other books. The chapters are varied in length focussing on different stories including some original plotlines besides his other material characters. Would recommend if you have bought other works of this author.
Comment 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse