2 used from £37.23

Have one to sell? Sell on Amazon

Symphony Nos 3 & 8 [IMPORT] Original recording remastered, Import

See all 2 formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Amazon Price
New from Used from
Audio CD, Original recording remastered, Import, 13 Jul 1999
Available from these sellers.
2 used from £37.23

Product details

Track Listings

Disc: 1

  1. Symphony No.3 In E-Flat, Op.55 'Erotica': I. Allegro con brio
  2. Symphony No.3 In E-Flat, Op.55 'Erotica': II. Macria funebre: Adagio assai
  3. Symphony No.3 In E-Flat, Op.55 'Erotica': III. Scherzo: Allegro vivace
  4. Symphony No.3 In E-Flat, Op.55 'Erotica': IV. Finale: Allegro molto
  5. Symphony No.8 In F Major, Op.93: I. Allegro vivace e con brio
  6. Symphony No.8 In F Major, Op.93: II. Allegretto scherzando
  7. Symphony No.8 In F Major, Op.93: III. Tempo di Minuetto
  8. Symphony No.8 In F Major, Op.93: IV. Allegro vivace

Customer Reviews

There are no customer reviews yet on Amazon.co.uk.
5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star

Most Helpful Customer Reviews on Amazon.com (beta) (May include reviews from Early Reviewer Rewards Program)

Amazon.com: 0.0 out of 5 stars 0 reviews
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Eroica, even better #8 27 Feb. 2013
By Jon Miller ('Kirk') - Published on Amazon.com
Format: Audio CD
The Eroica is 2-3 minutes slower than those of Szell, Reiner, and Munch, but most of the difference in timing derives from the first two movements. Steinberg conducts the first movement in a slightly slower than "con brio" manner, but the final two movements, especially the Finale, are slightly quicker-the Finale is ablaze // the third movement of his Emperor concerto with Rudolf Firkusny. The funeral march marches as Erich Kleiber instructed,and both conductors demanded extreme clarity as well as emotional depth-try the solo clarinet et al
in the fugue plus the unexcelled horns in the third movement trio. The finale is the best that I have heard; very quick urgent and extremely dramatic.

All of these qualities apply to #8 except that the outer movements are equally frenetic-the second movement
metronome is more playful and delicate, while the third movement is dominated by an extremely beautiful
sinfonia concertante-like Trio for clarinet and horn- it is at least as lovely as those of Szell, Jochum/RCOA and BPO, and Colin Davis/Dresden. The Finale is a quick romp.

Peers: #3- Erich Kleiber/RCOA/Decca; Szell/Cleveland/Sony; Reiner/CSO/RCA; Jochum/RCOA/Philips and BPO/DG; Haitink/RCOA/Philips; Rowicki/Warsaw PO/Lys
#8-Szell, Reiner, Jochum, Davis/Dresden, Munch/BSO/RCA, Klemperer/Testament only/PO
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superb 11 April 2008
By David Saemann - Published on Amazon.com
Format: Audio CD
William Steinberg was a connoisseur's Beethoven conductor. He recorded the complete symphonies in stereo for Command, of which Nos. 2,4, and 7 were issued on CD by MCA. What we have here is an earlier monaural recording. The Eroica is from 1955, while the Eighth is from a year earlier. The Eroica has some of the finest monaural sound I've ever heard. The blend of the different sections of the orchestra is beautiful. Dynamics are faithfully rendered, and the sound of the orchestra simply glows. For Steinberg, the sound of a Beethoven symphony must be euphonious. There is nothing eccentric about his Eroica. The orchestra is allowed to shine at sane, sensible tempos, and the whole has a structural integrity rarely equalled on record. I would say that this and Felix Weingartner's 78 rpm version are my favorite recordings of the work. In the Eighth, the recorded sound has slightly less depth, but is still very good. This is an uptempo, spirited version, straightforward without any tricks. This CD is an essential component in William Steinberg's recorded legacy.
12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
By demien - Published on Amazon.com
Format: Audio CD
This is a great version of the eroica symphony. Maestro Steinberg was one of those complete conductors in the same vein as George Szell except with more heart. Concentration and intensity are maintained from the first bar to the last and the Pittsburgh ensemble plays with dedication and expressiveness. The first movement is majestic and powerfull. The tragedy and strength of the 2nd movement are brought forth with a rock solid concentration and perfect tempo. It is a such a powerful moment that you feel as if BEETHOVEN is present. The scherzo is playfull and joyous with the the PITTSBURGH ensemble expressing delight in this wonderful movement. The fourth movement is a expression of victory for the warrior of this mighty score and STEINBERG brings this forth with clarity and dignity. I have heard plenty of BEETHOVENS 3rd from SZELL to KLEMPERER and i consider this version to be the definitive version. All the ingredients are there and the inspiraion flows like water.
10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Collossal Interpretation!! 31 Mar. 2004
By A Customer - Published on Amazon.com
Format: Audio CD
Having performed the "Eroica" for many years now one get pretty intimate with the recorded legacy left on CD from the golden age of record...and much to my surprise we have here one of the finest examples of just how finely wrought Steinberg's ideas about Beethoven are..there is a giant swagger and robustness of approach that surely reccommends itself here. None of this Toscannini copying or emulation...instead the structural integrity of this music is left unsullied by tempi nit-picking.
What one hears is an orchestra that is allowed to make a really wide dynamic...not this smooothly glossy overly even sound one hears from Cleveland on occassion.
Szell was always a dissapointment to me in Beethoven...he was always choosing tempos that were too slow or too fast for a given movement. Here, instead we are served up Beethoven instead of a fussy ready-made peurile Szell interpretation. Another aspect of Steinberg's immense artisty was his ideas on orchestral sound...there is none of this obscession with blend we get with Szell...instead woodwinds and brass sound like woodwinds and brass....
This is well worth investigating if you are a serious collector!
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Where have I been? 9 May 2006
By C. Wigley - Published on Amazon.com
Format: Audio CD
What a performance! I love it! I have always enjoyed Steinberg and the Pittsburgh in the Brahms Symphonies. I was so much up into Szell and Karajan in the Beethoven Symphonies. I heard Steinberg's 3rd and I almost lost it! It sounded like Bruno Walter with Szell coaching. I love it! I wanted more. But, where do you get more? I went to ebay and found a Beethoven set on lp. I am currently in the process of remastering these to CD. Every one of these symphonies are marvelous. The recording engineers did a marvelous job. It's really hard to believe that I now rank this set beside the Karajan 1963 set. What a wonderful discovery! It's a crime EMI has not re-issued the entire set.
Were these reviews helpful? Let us know