Buy Used
£0.01
+ £2.80 UK delivery
Used: Very Good | Details
Condition: Used: Very Good
Comment: Ships from the UK. Former Library books. Great condition for a used book! Minimal wear. 100% Money Back Guarantee. Your purchase also supports literacy charities.
Have one to sell?
Flip to back Flip to front
Listen Playing... Paused   You're listening to a sample of the Audible audio edition.
Learn more
See this image

The Queen's Man (John Shakespeare) Hardcover – 27 Feb 2014

4.5 out of 5 stars 262 customer reviews

See all 8 formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Amazon Price
New from Used from
Kindle Edition
"Please retry"
Hardcover
"Please retry"
£34.99 £0.01

Man Booker International Prize 2017
A Horse Walks Into a Bar has won the Man Booker International Prize 2017. Learn more
click to open popover

What other items do customers buy after viewing this item?

Enter your mobile number or email address below and we'll send you a link to download the free Kindle App. Then you can start reading Kindle books on your smartphone, tablet, or computer - no Kindle device required.

  • Apple
  • Android
  • Windows Phone

To get the free app, enter your mobile phone number.



Product details

  • Hardcover: 352 pages
  • Publisher: Hodder & Stoughton (27 Feb. 2014)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 1848548443
  • ISBN-13: 978-1848548442
  • Product Dimensions: 15.5 x 3.7 x 23.9 cm
  • Average Customer Review: 4.5 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (262 customer reviews)
  • Amazon Bestsellers Rank: 325,998 in Books (See Top 100 in Books)
  • If you are a seller for this product, would you like to suggest updates through seller support?

Product description

Review

*GOOD HOUSEKEEPING Reader Recommends*: I could not put down THE QUEEN'S MAN by Rory Clements (Good Housekeeping READER RECOMMENDS)

The sixth in Rory Clements' enjoyable series of Elizabethan thrillers featuring John Shakespeare ... Clements has the edge when it comes to creating a lively, fast-moving plot. (The Sunday Times)

Sixteenth-century London comes alive in all its tawdriness. (Daily Mail)

Enjoyable, bloody and brutish. (Guardian)

Book Description

For fans of CJ Sansom and SJ Parris, THE QUEEN'S MAN is the first in chronological order of Rory Clements' acclaimed and bestselling John Shakespeare series of Tudor spy thrillers. Clements, winner of the Ellis Peters Historical Fiction Award, 'does for Elizabeth's reign what CJ Sansom does for Henry VIII's' Sunday Times

See all Product description

Customer Reviews

Top Customer Reviews

Format: Kindle Edition Verified Purchase
Wonderful atmosphere created by this very talented writer. A well balanced mix of murder, corruption of power and investigation. I felt I was actually there.
Comment 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
Format: Kindle Edition Verified Purchase
Being a great fan of C J Sansom's Shardlake novels I thought nothing could come close but the John Shakespeare novels certainly do. Love the intrigue mystery and character building. Brilliant
Comment 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
Format: Kindle Edition Verified Purchase
Having read the later stories it was good to find out John Shakespeare's background. The story held up with a good blend of history and imagination. I like these stories. They take me on an enjoyable journey into a possible past,where not all is as it at first seems.
Comment 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
Format: Kindle Edition Verified Purchase
Hadn't discovered this series until very recently after looking for something similar to CJ Sansom they are almost as good set in Elizabethan period and there are loads of them. Brilliant
Comment 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
Format: Kindle Edition Verified Purchase
i am thoroughly enjoying this series. There is a wide range of characters, historical accuracy as well as imaginative interpretations of historical facts.
Comment One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
Format: Kindle Edition Verified Purchase
Difficult to know what's missing but stiff competition in this field.
Will try the others as fascinated by this terrifyingly complex period of history and religion at its worst
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
Format: Kindle Edition Verified Purchase
Good read
Comment One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
Format: Kindle Edition Verified Purchase
Enjoyable read, some good historical details. Felt the pace slowed middle to end but good characterisation and location descriptions.
Comment One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse