Buy Used
£0.01
+ £2.80 UK delivery
Used: Very Good | Details
Condition: Used: Very Good
Comment: Expedited shipping option on this book. Guaranteed very good quality. Used but still in excellent condition for the next owner.
Have one to sell?
Flip to back Flip to front
Listen Playing... Paused   You're listening to a sample of the Audible audio edition.
Learn more
See all 2 images

The Bleeding Land (Bleeding Land Trilogy 1) Hardcover – 26 Apr 2012

4.3 out of 5 stars 84 customer reviews

See all 8 formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Amazon Price
New from Used from
Kindle Edition
"Please retry"
Hardcover, 26 Apr 2012
£0.01

Man Booker International Prize 2017
A Horse Walks Into a Bar has won the Man Booker International Prize 2017. Learn more
click to open popover

Enter your mobile number or email address below and we'll send you a link to download the free Kindle App. Then you can start reading Kindle books on your smartphone, tablet, or computer - no Kindle device required.

  • Apple
  • Android
  • Windows Phone

To get the free app, enter your mobile phone number.



Product details

  • Hardcover: 432 pages
  • Publisher: Bantam Press; First Edition edition (26 April 2012)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 0593066146
  • ISBN-13: 978-0593066140
  • Product Dimensions: 15.8 x 3.7 x 24.1 cm
  • Average Customer Review: 4.3 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (84 customer reviews)
  • Amazon Bestsellers Rank: 421,093 in Books (See Top 100 in Books)
  • If you are a seller for this product, would you like to suggest updates through seller support?

Product description

Review

"A brilliant read. As he did with his Raven novels, Kristian weaves a colourful, authentic world in which to set his tale... and he has done it with confidence and real flair. Full of tragedy and triumph, honour and treachery, The Bleeding Land is a thrilling tour-de-force" (BEN KANE)

"Expertly plotted, full of passion and bloody drama... a book that will appeal to passionate, compassionate readers, men and women alike, fans of C J Sansom as much as fans of Conn Iggulden. Read it: you'll love every page" (MANDA SCOTT)

"With powerful protagonists, a gripping story and rollicking action, I can strongly recommend this tour-de-force. Outstanding" (ANTHONY RICHES)

"In The Bleeding Land, Giles Kristian has made an effortless transition from Viking warriors to the often tricky emotional landscape of the English Civil War. Visceral, brutal and genuinely moving, this is historical fiction at its thrilling best" (SAUL DAVID)

"Giles Kristian brings to this novel all the trademarks of his highly successful Raven Viking series, and while some of the brutality is quite hard to deal with, it is nevertheless a great read. More to come, I hope" (DAILY MAIL)

Book Description

In the tradition of Bernard Cornwell, Giles Kristian, author of the bestselling Viking adventure Raven: Blood Eye begins an epic new drama set against the tumultuous and bloody backdrop of the civil war that tore England apart...

See all Product description

Related media

Customer Reviews

Top Customer Reviews

Format: Kindle Edition Verified Purchase
Great reading, perfect understanding of the turmoil endured by families who supported the separate causes and the effect on the innocents who were expected to provision the passing armies irrespective of whether they had enough provisions to support themselves. The ferocity and cruelty of both sides both during and after the battles defy belief in this day and age. Great story telling interspersed with historical fact. A must read for any historical fiction buff.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
Format: Kindle Edition Verified Purchase
I wasn't sure if I would like this sort of story, but it is very good and kept me interested all through the book, hope the next book is as good.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
Format: Kindle Edition Verified Purchase
A reasonably good read on the subject of the start of the English Civil War.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
Format: Paperback Verified Purchase
Its ok, not as gripping as the Viking books.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
Format: Kindle Edition Verified Purchase
Really gripping read
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
Format: Hardcover Verified Purchase
Some time ago, I launched into Giles Kristian's Raven Saga. You may have seen my reviews knocking around, as they were so good I ran from one to the next seamlessly and enjoyed all three immensely. They were up there with some of the best adventure/historical fiction I've read. I never flinched from recommending them. But recently, Giles has turned his not-inconsiderable literary talents toward a new theatre: the English civil war

The civil war is not a period I know a great deal about and, while I have a passing interest in it, it's never hooked me so much that I sought out things to read about it (I much prefer looking at historical sites relating to it than reading about it.) It may be that, for me, the civil war has always been just a little too recent.

Saying that, I knew Giles was a good writer from his earlier stuff, and the promo video produced for the book pushed me ever further towards it.

And so I settled into the book not really knowing what to expect but, perhaps, waiting for a Raven-esque adventure saga with lots of God's Teeth and Damn Your Eyes and Have At Him, Sirrah -s. Ok, there are a few of those, but the novel is totally not what I expected. I suspect, furthermore, that a number of people who were real Raven fanatics will dislike this shift into a deep, thoughtful and saddening world, while other folk who would not consider Raven will flock to it.

The Bleeding Land, you see, is not a war story. It is a tale of a torn family, of the love of brothers and sisters pulled by the fickle strands of fate in different directions to such an extent that they are at war. It is a tale of love and loss and heartbreak and strength and perseverance and duty and honour.
Read more ›
Comment 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
Format: Paperback Verified Purchase
As Giles states in his Author's Notes ...."it's quite a leap from Vikings !" ...... indeed it is, but it's a leap worth taking. I went into this one not sure if I'd like it ...... but I love it !!!
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
Format: Kindle Edition Verified Purchase
Ok
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse

Look for similar items by category