£12.56
FREE Delivery in the UK.
In stock.
Dispatched from and sold by Amazon. Gift-wrap available.
Angels' Bane: The Empire ... has been added to your Basket

Dispatch to:
To see addresses, please
Or
Please enter a valid UK postcode.
Or
Have one to sell?
Flip to back Flip to front
Listen Playing... Paused   You're listening to a sample of the Audible audio edition.
Learn more
See all 2 images

Angels' Bane: The Empire of Heaven — Book I: Volume 1 Paperback – 1 Dec 2011

4.6 out of 5 stars
5 star
3
4 star
2
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0
4.6 out of 5 stars 5 reviews from Amazon.com

See all 3 formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Amazon Price
New from Used from
Kindle Edition
"Please retry"
Paperback
"Please retry"
£12.56
£12.56 £32.00
Note: This item is eligible for click and collect. Details
Pick up your parcel at a time and place that suits you.
  • Choose from over 13,000 locations across the UK
  • Prime members get unlimited deliveries at no additional cost
How to order to an Amazon Pickup Location?
  1. Find your preferred location and add it to your address book
  2. Dispatch to this address when you check out
Learn more

Man Booker International Prize 2017
A Horse Walks Into a Bar has won the Man Booker International Prize 2017. Learn more
£12.56 FREE Delivery in the UK. In stock. Dispatched from and sold by Amazon. Gift-wrap available.
click to open popover

Enter your mobile number or email address below and we'll send you a link to download the free Kindle App. Then you can start reading Kindle books on your smartphone, tablet, or computer - no Kindle device required.

  • Apple
  • Android
  • Windows Phone

To get the free app, enter your mobile phone number.



Product details

  • Paperback: 460 pages
  • Publisher: CreateSpace Independent Publishing Platform (1 Dec. 2011)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 1466395451
  • ISBN-13: 978-1466395459
  • Product Dimensions: 15.2 x 2.9 x 22.9 cm
  • If you are a seller for this product, would you like to suggest updates through seller support?

Product description

About the Author

Ryan Kunz has a love of science fiction and fantasy, writing, the outdoors, and pizza. He is one of the world's foremost self-declared experts on theoretical time travel and divides his time between several blogs, schooling, deciphering the mind games of the opposite sex, and trying to overcome his irrational fear of homeless people. Ryan is an advertising major at Brigham Young University and may one day be one of the richest men in the world.

Customer Reviews

There are no customer reviews yet on Amazon.co.uk.
5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star

Most Helpful Customer Reviews on Amazon.com (beta) (May include reviews from Early Reviewer Rewards Program)

Amazon.com: 4.6 out of 5 stars 5 reviews
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Rookie Author Hits Stand-up-triple With First Book 17 April 2012
By Colton South - Published on Amazon.com
Format: Paperback
I just finished reading book 1 of "Angel's Bane" and I am pretty impressed. But first, the reasons the book got a four instead of a five (as few as there are): Although it's nothing context doesn't easily take care of, random words such as "it" or "they" or other words dog the book with their absence or misplacement (printing error?). Second, the dialogue between characters can be a bit, well, "George Lucas" like at times, leaving a little to be desired.

That being said, the book is overflowing with action, rife with interstellar conflict and intrigue that never quite lets you know what's around the next corner. Fans of Star Wars, Harry Potter, or Ender's Game will love this book. Not only does it touch on related themes (the Knights Rehad bear a medium to strong resemblance to Jedi Knights, for example), but it also introduces enough of its own original thematic narrative to clearly distinguish itself from the "me too" sic-fi/fantasy thrillers. While at first glance the Knights Rehad may seem like cousins to the Jedi, they are really only similar enough to provoke the comparison, nor are they the protagonistic focus. (The details deserve to be left for the reader's enjoyment).

Undertones and questions that play out just below the novel's surface concerning religion, honor, utilitarianism, and more will engage the philosophical reader, while the explosions, pirates, jet-packs, and gladiators will keep the action-seeker gripped like a "grav-projecter". Well developed worlds, cultures, and rich descriptions will engulf the reader of the first of this promising series. Enjoy!
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Read, Very Impressive First Book 7 Mar. 2013
By Amazon Customer - Published on Amazon.com
Format: Paperback
Ryan Kunz does a great job at creating a fully formed universe, with a great story that is up to the task of bringing the nuances of such to life. I appreciated the plethora of allusions made to other great works, such as Star Wars and LOTR. Perhaps the single greatest quality of this book is its unabashedly Sci-fi neture. It doesn't even bother trying to stray away from the tropes that make the genre great, though it does a good enough job at differentiating itself to keep from being yet another sci-fi/Star Wars clone.

The greatest strength of the book is certainly the story. It is fast paced and intelligent, not resorting to cheap tricks to get the reader to continue. That being said, the greatest weakness of the book is its lack of quality scripting between characters as mentioned by other reviews. Given that this is a first effort though it is easily forgivable.

In sum, this book is worth the time, the money, and whatever else you have to pay to read it. I loved it the entire time. The ending is especially good, and it has caused me to greatly look forward to the next book in the series.
4.0 out of 5 stars Loads of Potential 7 Mar. 2013
By rdalebishop - Published on Amazon.com
Format: Paperback
This is a great book. One can tell that the author has passion for his craft and that he is fully invested in the world he has built. This is the kind of story that sucks you in. This is a debut novel to be proud of. Ryan Kunz is off to a great start.
5.0 out of 5 stars Riveting and Full of Potential 19 Sept. 2012
By Tasha - Published on Amazon.com
Format: Kindle Edition
I haven't finished reading the book yet, but even now I can say that it is obvious that the world Kunz has created is well thought-out and interesting. I'm excited to finish, and I hope that the next book in the series will be out soon!
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Can't wait to read 20 Mar. 2012
By Greatestprettywoman - Published on Amazon.com
Format: Paperback
I know this guy personally and I can't wait to read his book. I've read his other stuff and he's truly amazing.
Were these reviews helpful? Let us know

Look for similar items by category