Enter your mobile number or email address below and we'll send you a link to download the free Kindle App. Then you can start reading Kindle books on your smartphone, tablet, or computer - no Kindle device required.

  • Apple
  • Android
  • Windows Phone
  • Android

To get the free app, enter your mobile phone number.

Kindle Price: £3.49

Save £5.76 (62%)

includes VAT*
* Unlike print books, digital books are subject to VAT.

These promotions will be applied to this item:

Some promotions may be combined; others are not eligible to be combined with other offers. For details, please see the Terms & Conditions associated with these promotions.

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

El capitán Alatriste (Las aventuras del capitán Alatriste 1) (Spanish Edition) by [Pérez-Reverte, Arturo]
Kindle App Ad

El capitán Alatriste (Las aventuras del capitán Alatriste 1) (Spanish Edition) Kindle Edition

4.7 out of 5 stars 3 customer reviews

See all formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Amazon Price
New from Used from
Kindle Edition
"Please retry"
£3.49

Length: 320 pages Enhanced Typesetting: Enabled Page Flip: Enabled
Language: Spanish

Kindle Books from 99p
Load up your Kindle library before your next holiday -- browse over 500 Kindle Books on sale from 99p until 31 August, 2016. Shop now

Product Description

About the Author

Arturo PA(c)rez-Reverteas novels, including "The Queen of the South, Captain Alatriste," and "Purity of Blood," have been translated into twenty-nine languages and published in more than fifty countries. In 2003, he was elected to the Spanish Royal Academy.

Product details

  • Format: Kindle Edition
  • File Size: 3908 KB
  • Print Length: 240 pages
  • Publisher: Alfaguara (8 July 2011)
  • Sold by: Amazon Media EU S.à r.l.
  • Language: Spanish
  • ASIN: B00634ITL4
  • Word Wise: Not Enabled
  • Enhanced Typesetting: Enabled
  • Average Customer Review: 4.7 out of 5 stars 3 customer reviews
  • Amazon Bestsellers Rank: #270,550 Paid in Kindle Store (See Top 100 Paid in Kindle Store)
  •  Would you like to give feedback on images or tell us about a lower price?


Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
5 star
2
4 star
1
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0
See all 3 customer reviews
Share your thoughts with other customers

Top Customer Reviews

Format: Kindle Edition Verified Purchase
After being the proud owner of the paper version of all the episodes, I am incredibly happy for having received this copy as a birthday present. My favourite Spanish writer offers here a superb depiction of the Spain of the Siglo de Oro, walking us through the streets of Madrid, with the love, bravery and corruption of the period described with a perfect use of the Spanish language. Don Arturo's immense knowledge makes of this book a work of art. Highly recommended.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
Format: Mass Market Paperback
The author A. Perez Reverte was a journalist and war correspondent for Spanish press. When he speaks on the radio or TV he seems a man with deep knowledge of underworld and has bitter opinions about society. He was also very sadly impressed by the Balkan War, as he didn't conceived that cruel war in modern Europe. For all that and his problems with daily work in newspapers it seems he created the personage of Capitan Alatriste. You will not find great literary quality here, but full action. Yes, Perez Reverte knows troubled history of Spain. Summing up, this novel is similar to best sellers of adventures in English language, westerns, etc. Alatriste is a captain of the Spanish Army from the Tercios of Flandes. He has fought against reformists in Holland. His personality is well defined: "He wasn't the most pious man, even he wasn't a good man, but he was a brave man". Captain Alatriste is simply an ex military that after war, in the declining Spanish empire from XVII century, plenty of corruption, lives in Madrid and must hire his great ability with sword to win his life, and usually he his hired by powerful people and noblesse for criminal purposes. Alatriste is however a lover of letters, and friend of the Francisco de Quevedo, one of the top masters of Spanish literature. He has some dignity he has to forget for living. Perez Reverte warns Spain of today are not far of all that. A film based on the novels of Captain Alatriste has been recently made with big means and money for Spanish cinema standards.
Comment 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
Format: Kindle Edition Verified Purchase
Obra maestra de principio a fin. Me quito el sombrero.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse

Most Helpful Customer Reviews on Amazon.com (beta)

Amazon.com: 4.7 out of 5 stars 51 reviews
28 of 28 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars El Capitan Alatriste 22 Mar. 2000
By A Customer - Published on Amazon.com
Format: Paperback
Este es el primero de tres libros escritos por Pérez Reverte sobre el mismo personaje, Diego Alatriste, soldado español retirado. Pertenece al género que podría llamarse como de "el folletín resucitado", cuyo propósito parece ser únicamente entretener y divertir. El tema, aventuras de espadachines en el Madrid de Velázquez y Quevedo, es tratado hábilmente por Pérez Reverte, provocando una lectura ligera, rápida, pero nunca superficial. El retrato del Madrid "capital del mundo" es muy atractivo para todos aquellos que pertenecemos a la cultura hispana y ojalá despierte interés en los lectores por saber más de nosotros. Lo más interesante,en mi opinión, es la manera como se presentan los valores y los vicios netamente hispanos en un marco de aventuras de golpes y porrazos (o higadillos ensartados en hojas de acero de Toledo). Probablemente el autor se muera de risa si supiera que alguien opina ésto, pero leer este libro es casi como almorzarse una ensalada ligera de Unamuno, Octavio Paz, y La Guerra de las Galaxias. Una recomendación: incluir un glosario para aquellos que no estamos familiarizados con los el vocabulario de hace tres siglos, y, una felicitación a Pérez Reverte por haber conservado los términos correctos y no darnos "atole con el dedo".Ideal para pasarse un buen rato.
21 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Swashbuckling Adventure during Spain's Golden Age 1 Dec. 2004
By Marco Antonio Abarca - Published on Amazon.com
Format: Paperback Verified Purchase
Home from the Wars in the Flanders, Diego Alatriste y Tenorio makes his living as a hired swordsman. His clients include irate husbands and lenders who have problems collecting their debts. Capitan Alatriste is the archetypal veteran warrior home from the wars. He is skilled in his craft and he lives quietly by his warrior's code. We have all seen this character played in numerous movies by Toshiro Mifune, Clint Eastwood and Gary Cooper.

What makes the Diego Alatriste character interesting and sets him apart, is that he is an active participant in Spain's Golden Age. His friends include the poet Miguel de Quevedo, the dramatist Lope de Vega and the young painter Diego Velasquez. With this novel, the reader gets both a good swashbuckling adventure and a history lesson. This is one of those novels where the atmosphere is as good as the action.

At 237 pages, this is a very accessable novel for non native speakers of Spanish. One needs only a few years of college Spanish and access to a good dictionary to look up the more archaic Spanish terms. For those interested in reading the whole Alatriste series, I would recommend reading Marcelin Defourneaux's "Daily Life in Spain during the Golden Age". This will help put the series in its proper context.
15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Acción, historia y aventura 14 Feb. 2001
By Eduardo J. Tellez A - Published on Amazon.com
Format: Paperback Verified Purchase
En esta primera aventura, Diego Alatriste deberá cumplir un misterioso encargo entre conspiraciones, azares y emboscadas en estrechos callejones, entre el brillo de los aceros, en las tabernas donde Francisco de Quevedo compone sonetos entre pendencias y botellas de vino, y en los corrales de comedias donde las representaciones de Lope de Vega terminan a cuchilladas. Acción, historia y aventura se dan cita en estas páginas inolvidables. Si te gusto y quedastes facinado y no pudistes saciar tu hambre por mas aventuras del Capitan Diego A. puedes seguir sus historias en los siguientes libros del mismo autor LIMPIEZA DE SANGRE y EL SOL DE BREDA.
13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Always check the LANGUAGE NOTES before buying a book 29 April 2005
By O. Ordonez - Published on Amazon.com
Format: Paperback
I can't believe the only 2 bad reviews were given by people who din't know the book was written in Spanish. I read the book and I personally give it 10 stars for its historic content among other things.

First, the TITLE is written in SPANISH, not German nor ENGLISH!!!

Second, if you feel the vendor didn't provide an accurate description of the book such as the Language Edition don't blame the book. Further, if you want to blame somebody because you can't read the book, blame the editors for not publishing an English version. NOT ALL BOOKS are translated into ENGLISH and viceversa.

Third, for those who wrote the bad reviews give yourself 20 stars for publicly admitting that you were careless/stup.. enough to buy a book that you couldn't read. UNDER THE EDITORIAL REVIEWS you have this NOTE:

Language Notes

Text: Spanish

I hope this note helps for those would be buyers. GRACIAS.
7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A thoroughly enjoyable adventure 13 May 2001
By Alex Lukic - Published on Amazon.com
Format: Paperback
In the tradition of Emilio Salgari and Walter Scott, Arturo Perez-Reverte provides us with the benefit of his pen. I got this first series book one year after I received "Limpieza de sangre" and "El oro del rey" as Christmas presents. Fortunately, I kept them on my bookshelf's long waiting list before I decided to read "Las aventuras del capitan Alatriste". A piece of advice: read these books sequentially even though each story is a different adventure. Such characters as Gualterio Mallatesta and Luis de Alquezar get hopscotched in key episodes and knowking their backgrounds is necessary in not getting out of track. The writing is exquisite, melodic, fun, rich and succint. I view the sociological psyche of the average character as the most interesting aspect, specifically the mindsets of 17th century Spanish swashbuckling fortune-hunters, Inquisition officers, mercenaries and poets. The inclusion of renowned Spanish dramatist and poet Francisco de Quevedo is tantamount to sprinkling saphron to paella. It colorizes the story line with necessary chunks of humor. Mr Perez-Reverte's prose is laden with an enviable lexicon that approximates the reader to the reign of Phillip IV without completely abandoning that one of Juan Carlos I.
Were these reviews helpful? Let us know
click to open popover