boogie brothers, wire fir... has been added to your Basket
+ £1.26 UK delivery
Used: Very Good | Details
Condition: Used: Very Good
Comment: Our ref: U7800. One hundred percent money back guarantee. Fast shipping within 2 working days. Mail order business for 30 years.
Have one to sell? Sell on Amazon

boogie brothers, wire fire Box set

3.0 out of 5 stars 1 customer review

Price: £15.48 & FREE Delivery in the UK on orders over £20. Details
Only 2 left in stock.
Dispatched from and sold by Amazon. Gift-wrap available.
Note: This item is eligible for click and collect. Details
Pick up your parcel at a time and place that suits you.
  • Choose from over 13,000 locations across the UK
  • Prime members get unlimited deliveries at no additional cost
How to order to an Amazon Pickup Location?
  1. Find your preferred location and add it to your address book
  2. Dispatch to this address when you check out
Learn more
19 new from £9.45 3 used from £9.43
£15.48 & FREE Delivery in the UK on orders over £20. Details Only 2 left in stock. Dispatched from and sold by Amazon. Gift-wrap available.

Amazon's Savoy Brown Store

Special Offers and Product Promotions

Frequently Bought Together

  • boogie brothers, wire fire
  • +
  • +
  • Lion's Share / Jack The Toad
Total price: £41.26
Buy the selected items together

Product details

  • Audio CD (2 Aug. 2010)
  • Number of Discs: 1
  • Format: Box set
  • Label: BGO
  • ASIN: B001FW8G0S
  • Average Customer Review: 3.0 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (1 customer review)
  • Amazon Bestsellers Rank: 179,477 in Music (See Top 100 in Music)

Track Listings

Disc: 1

  1. Highway Blues
  2. Me and the Preacher
  3. My Love's Lying Down
  4. You Don't Love Me
  5. Always the Same
  6. Everybody Loves a Drinking Man
  7. Rock 'N' Roll Star
  8. Boogie Brothers
  9. Threegy Blues
  10. Put Your Hands Together
  11. Stranger Blues
  12. Here Comes the Music
  13. Ooh What a Feeling
  14. Hero to Zero
  15. Deep Water
  16. Can't Get On
  17. Born Into Pain

Product Description

Product Description

From 1974 and 75 comes `Boogie Brothers' and `Wire Fire'

`Boogie Brothers' features Stan Webb and Miller Anderson; `Wire Fire' did not get a UK release, as was the case with subsequent Decca releases. Digitally remastered and slipcased with extensive new notes.

Customer Reviews

3.0 out of 5 stars
5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
See the customer review
Share your thoughts with other customers

Top Customer Reviews

Format: Audio CD
Savoy Brown are one of the legendary names of British blues-rock and BGO continue their "two-fer" reissues of the band's albums with 1974's "Boogie Brothers" and the following year's "Wire Fire" together on a value for money two-disc package.

Only mainstay Kim Simmonds remained from previous album "Jack The Toad", with vocalist Miller Anderson and the rhythm section of Jim Leverton and Eric Dillon all joining from Hemlock who had recently released a self-titled debut album on Deram. In addition, former Chicken Shack main man Stan Webb was also on board. Originally planning to call themselves the Boogie Brothers, the reputation of the Savoy Brown name eventually saw them stick with that.

Simmonds wrote the powerful funk-rock opener `Highway Blues' and the laidback instrumental album closer `Threegy Blues'. Webb's sole writing contribution was the brooding blues of `My Love's Lying Down', while there's also a cover of Bo Diddley's `You Don't Love Me'.

The remaining five tracks were all written and sung by Miller Anderson. The superb acoustic ballad `Always The Same' features just Anderson (vocal / acoustic guitar) and Simmonds (steel guitar), while the Lynyrd Skynyrd-esque `Everybody Loves A Drinking Man' is notable for some sizzling Simmonds slide guitar playing.

Anderson's other cuts are the groovy `Me And The Preacher' (also featuring some fine Simmonds slide guitar) and the more formulaic blues-rock anthems `Rock `N' Roll Star' and `Boogie Brothers'. The album performed well in the US, but was not a success in the UK and was to be the last Savoy Brown album to be issued in the UK by Decca.

By the time of 1975's "Wire Fire" the band line-up had completely changed again!
Read more ›
Comment 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse

Customer Discussions

What Other Items Do Customers Buy After Viewing This Item?