Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

AIM Independent Music Awards 2015

The Association of Independent Music hosts the Independent Music Awards, and for the third year running we're delighted to play our part; the Special Catalogue Release of the Year was presented in association with Amazon Music! Check out all the winners from the awards ceremony on September 8, 2015.

Outstanding Contribution to Music

English rapper, songwriter, DJ and record producer Skepta has pioneered the grime sound having started out as a DJ in the Tottenham-based Meridian Crew before joining Roll Deep. Launching his own label and group Boy Better Know in 2005, on which he released his first two albums Greatest Hits and Microphone Champion, he released Doin' It Again in 2011.

Pioneer Award

Metal fan Digby Pearson founded Earache Records in 1986 championing the sound of extreme metal globally. launching the careers of Napalm Death, Morbid Angel, Carcass, Godflesh, Clutch and more, Digby has led the label through 25 years of expansion and regeneration broadening their roster to include emerging blues rock talent.

Innovator Award

Founded by Matt Black and Jonathan More, better known as Coldcut, and run for 23 of its 25 years by label manager Peter Quicke, Ninja Tune has firmly established itself as one of the most credible independent labels in the UK fostering innovative talent including Young Fathers and Kate Tempest and encouraging multimedia projects to push artistic boundaries.

Independent Album of the Year

Winner: The Mindsweep

Enter Shikari



I Love You, Honeybear

Father John Misty

Shedding Skin




Angels & Devils

The Bug

Modern Nature

The Charlatans

There Is Only You

The Xcerts

My Love Is Cool

Wolf Alice

White Men Are Black Men Too

Young Fathers

Special Catalogue Release of the Year

Best Live Act

Independent Track of the Year

PPL Award for Most Played New Independent Artist

Winners: Jungle
FKA Twigs
Ward Thomas

Indie Champion

Winner: Marc Riley, BBC 6Music
Camilla Pia, BBC 6Music
Peter Guy, Get Into This
Rupert Morrison, The Drift Records Shop
Tim Burgess, Songwriter and O Genesis Music Ltd