Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle George Michael - MTV Replugged Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
42
4.6 out of 5 stars
A Zoo in My Luggage
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£8.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


on 21 February 2013
I first read this book when aged about 11 in 1973. Gerald Durrell opened up a whole new world for me by talking about his animal expeditions to find creatures which, in some cases, were right on the brink of extinction. His work convinced zoologists to consider the environment in a broad and responsible new way who went on to encourage universities to offer courses in environmental matters. Equally, Durrell was able to open a specialist zoo on Jersey which has become a leader in conservation work and alerted thousands of people to the danger that mankind poses to our planet if we do nothing to support it.

Through humour, observation and by using beautiful prose, the author captivates a reader from page 1 onwards. I purchased this book, complete with its original 1960's cover and delightful illustrations, because I cherish the the pleasure and recall fondly my introduction to all that Durrell was able to reveal to me through his words. It would be just as much pleasure for new readers to pick up the most recent paperback.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 December 2013
Love Gerald Durrell, lovely copy, nice and clean, stories are as brilliant as I remembered them. What a great writer he was, his zoo is excellent if you ever get a chance to visit.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 July 2017
Excellent author.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 May 2016
As always .... brilliant. You feel you are there as well.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
HALL OF FAMETOP 1000 REVIEWERon 13 July 2005
Naturalist/writer Gerald Durrell, with a writer's eye for unusual detail, a great sense of humor and absurdity, and an unquenchable enthusiasm for finding unique animals, recounts his third animal-collecting trip to the Cameroons in this classic 1960 memoir, recently reprinted. Supplying other people's zoos for many years, Durrell, on this trip, intends to collect specimens for his own zoo, one which will be open to the public and which will become a "self-supporting laboratory" with a captive breeding program to prevent the extinction of these species.
Arriving on the west coast of Cameroon, Durrell uses pidgin to converse with the Africans and refers to all animals as "beef," but he soon acquires many rare animals from the local population. A frightening canoe ride through hippo-infested waters, an attempt to capture a fifteen-foot python, a search for the blue-scalped, bald-headed Picanthartes bird, and the experience of smoking out a hollow tree keep Durrell and his staff energized and excited before they head to the highlands. There, Durrell stays with the charming Fon of Bafut, a elderly king with many wives, and he and Durrell enjoy many long evenings of talk, dance, and whisky. Soon the Fon's compound fills up with hundreds more captive reptiles, birds, and animals, including a half-grown baboon, a five-year-old chimp, and a baby chimp, all of which provide innumerable, often hilarious adventures.
Durrell provides details about the caring and feeding of these animals, and he and his staff prove to be very "hands-on" caretakers, often having animals creep into their beds. The logistics of building cages and, eventually, packing them for the trip home, reveal the level of detail necessary to keep these animals healthy and calm so they can survive the trip to England. Upon his return, Durrell then begins the daunting task of trying to find a place to house these rare specimens, a task he neglected ahead of time.
A lively writer with a commitment to conservation but a tremendous sense of fun, Durrell gives the flavor of the whole trip, not just the academic details, providing realism at the same time that he reveals irrepressible humor, much of it directed at himself. His sensitivity to his surroundings, which he conveys through vibrant descriptions, makes the countryside come alive, while his anecdotes about the animals and the people he meets show his interest in expanding his knowledge while fully participating in events around him. Though there is no epilogue to bring the reader up to date on the success of Durrell's zoo or its captive breeding program, this information is readily available at: [...] Mary Whipple
0Comment| 31 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERon 25 June 2012
This is an autobiographical account of how Gerald Durrell (an already much experienced "animal rustler") assembled his own private collection of exotic animals which, in due course and against considerable odds, became the backbone of his zoo on the island of Jersey (now the Durrell Wildlife Park).

I would not normally want to read about wild animals in a zoo, but this is the story of a passionate animal lover who is committed to doing what it takes to save at least some of the species that mankind's unstoppable spread is driving into extinction. Durrell's very real affection for the assorted creatures he is determined to preserve shines through, and even surpasses his scientific curiosity and commitment to studying their habits.

Durrell's writing style is amusing, lively and enjoyable, despite some unavoidably outdated attitudes. There is an irrepressible optimism that drives the search-and-collect party into dodgy situations and their mishaps are related with both humour and humanity. The growing menagerie also provide many hilarious anecdotes with their escapades and strong personalities. To communicate with the locals, Durrell employs a kind of Pidgin English which is, in itself, humorous but the main reason to read this book (more than once, in my case) is that once again we get to meet the Fon of Bafut, a fascinating personage who has befriended Durrell & Co. on a previous expedition and is instrumental in the success of this present trip. The Fon is the most fun-loving, generous and uninhibited host one could wish for and, for me at least, the chapters where he appears are the best part of this delightful book. There are some charming pen-and-ink illustrations by Richard Thompson but I wish they had included a photo or two of the Fon himself. A truly funny book, even if you don't care about the animals. Read this for the humour, the scientific titbits are extra.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 July 2010
No matter how 'out of date' his books may be now, Gerald Durrell remains an absolute pleasure to read. Not only does he have a wealth of fascinating experience from which to draw, he has an excellent eye for detail. His style is dry, amusing, and full of that oh-so-English litotes which is so rarely seen in newer writing. I often found myself laughing out loud at his delightful way of phrasing things.

I did find the constant use of pigdin grated a little. However, this was mostly because it sounded like JarJar Binks, and I can hardly blame Gerald Durrell for something that was George Lucas' fault some 40 years after he wrote this book. I became used to reading it fairly quickly though, and it soon ceased to actively annoy me.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERVINE VOICEon 16 July 2015
This book was obviously written as a money earner by the author and is a light and amusing tale of a trip to Cameroon to collect animals for a zoo he is hoping to open. It slides over the obvious potential hardships of such a trip and concentrates on the lighthearted and funny moments in a bid to entertain rather than inform. Consequently the African people he meets and his travelling colleagues tend to be lightly sketched and rather insubstantial as characters other than as a foil for his tales about the animals.

If you read the book in this light you can see quickly that the author has a gift for amusing storytelling. Each episode in the book is carefully told to give you a bit of information about the animals and comes to an amusing conclusion. This makes the book an easy one to dip in and out of but I read a lot of it in one go and found it engaging whilst occasionally wondering if there wasn't a little bit more to some of the events - they are very obviously simplified for the sake of the book.

The book is set in the 1960s when it was written and I expect that the way that the animals were collected, travelled and kept would not be acceptable these days but the author's obvious affection and fascination with them is the dominating theme of the book. The relationship he has with the local African leader makes for slightly uncomfortable reading these days because of its occasional air of patronisation and the obvious parallels between the fascination that the author has for the African people and that for the native animals. It would not have been read like that when it was first published and should really be read now in the spirit in which it was written.

This book isn't of the calibre of "My Family and Other Animals" but is a light and amusing read.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 March 2015
The Fon of Bafut is one of the most memorable characters I've read in a very long time; he's funny, generous and likes drinking excess quantities of whisky and any other alcoholic beverage. The Fon has over 40 wives and just as many colourful outfits. The pidgin English between Gerald and the natives is charming and equally fascinating to read. As a reader of My Family And Other Animals it's nice to see how Gerald has carried on his passion for wildlife. It is very easy to read and there are many delightful animals that any person will fall in love with once they read about them. It challenged my opinion that the Africans were familiar with the native fauna as many people went to visit them while they were stationed at the Fon's compound.

As with anything that's good there are always some bad points. It is not as funny as I expected and not much information about the rest of his family is given. An introduction to the Fon would have been extremely satisfying.

Over all this book would appeal anyone with a strong sense of humour, especially if you are an animal lover.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERon 19 June 2016
This is another enjoyable and amusing book by Gerald Durrell, an account of one his animal-collecting expeditions to Bafut in the British Cameroons in West Africa. I didn't know where this was and had to look it up in my atlas; the country must now have changed its name.

Previously, while collecting animals in that country, Durrell had been permitted to stay in the Palace of the Fon of Bafut. I don't know what a Fon is, neither could I find the word in any dictionary, but Durrell states that he was a “potentate”. The Fon in question has innumerable wives and hordes of children; he is tall, elderly, and extremely entertaining.

Durrell had written about the Fon following a previous stay with him, but had become afraid that his portrait of him might have been “open to misconstruction” and the Fon might have felt that Durrell had portrayed him as a senile alcoholic. So prior to the present trip he writes to the Fon asking with some trepidation whether he, his wife Jacquie and his team might again be allowed to enjoy his hospitality. It turned out however that the Fon had been most flattered by the unexpected fame he had encountered after being depicted in depth in Durrell's book (I don't know yet which one that was); many Europeans had visited the Fon with Durrell's book in their hands, and the Fon had ended up autographing all these books, as though he himself had been the author!

Durrell and wife are accommodated in the Fon's Rest House and their extra team of two arrives later; many of the locals begin to queue up outside with animals (“beef”) they have collected to sell to them, news of their arrival having hastily spread.
We're apprised of the antics of a baby black-eared squirrel they receive, called Squill-bill small and of Bug-eyes, a needle-clawed lemur. On reading Durrell's books we realize that each individual animal has its own distinct personality, just as we humans do.

When talking to the Fon and the other locals, Durrell and the others use a form of pidgin English, only half of which I for one could understand.

The Durrells and the Fon enjoy many entertaining get-togethers, with much dancing, singing and drinking, not least the latter.

They are presented with many monkeys, and one of their favourites is a half-grown female baboon called Georgina. She has “a wicked sense of humour”, and this leads to many both amusing and less amusing escapades.

Back in England, Georgina runs riot in a large department store, so they require the aid of two constables together with Durrell's sister Margo to capture her.

At the end of the book, Durrell by a stroke of serendipity finds a suitable place to deposit his animals and set up his zoo – in Jersey.

Durrell is a master story-teller and recounts innumerable riotous episodes.

To sum up, another delightfully entertaining book by Gerald Durrell, though perhaps it does not quite reach the level of “My family and other animals”, which is my favourite. The writing is excellent, there are many fascinating descriptions of the various animals' behaviour, and humour abounds!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)