Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Fitbit

Customer Reviews

4.0 out of 5 stars
176
4.0 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£4.94+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

VINE VOICEon 8 June 2015
While not winning any awards for originality - nor beating out Romero's classic Zombie films - Zombie Flash Eaters is a great slice of Italian horror with lots of gorey scenes and a decent plot.

Set on a Afican island and featuring a eerie synth soundtrack. Zombie Flesh Eaters offers a ton of memorable scenes and some great make-up effects. It features perhaps the most memorable scene in any zombie film - an underwater shark vs zombie fight scene - totally random, but really well shot. You get the feeling that there's no where to hide from the undead on this island, not ever underwater.

The end fight against the hoards of undead decending on the hospital is really well done. in fact the film is full of great scenes, some quite shocking. This is no quicky b-move, there's really quality and care gone into shooting this film, and it shows. It's definatly worthy of any horror film fans collection.

Great picture quality and sound once again from Arrow Films.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 November 2015
Despite the minor glitch at the beginning of the initial discs, this is actually a great HD print of the film. Most of you guys know the story and you will have a challenge on your hand to find a serious gore hound that has not seen this fantastic movie uncut. Of course we all know that back in the day that the 'Strong Uncut Version' was banned for nearly 20 years.

Now we can legally see it in all its gory glory, eye splintering intact.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 February 2017
my fav horror movie off all time .
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 March 2017
Classic film that arrived in quick time thank you
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 March 2017
Great
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 December 2013
Its my favourite Movie!!!!!! i love this masterpiece, and the hd its a fine transfer...Lucio fulci its a genius, Thanks
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 March 2014
I don't think I'll ever forget the day my brother walked through the door (back in 1981) clasping a large cardboard box - on it read "Sony C5 Betamax VCR". This was it, Saturday nights were never going to be the same. Goodbye Cagney & Lacey, goodbye Ted Rogers & Dusty bin! Hello Enter the Dragon, hello The Exorcist and last but not least hello Vipco's Zombie Flesh Eaters (strong uncut version). I absolutely love this film and to top it all it's now in BluRay transferred from the original negatives and a wonderful transfer it is too; never did zombies look so good - worm infested eye sockets, purple congealed crusts cover the undead, the flies and stench of rotting flesh seem to almost seep from out of the speakers enhanced by the haunting music score of Fabio Frizzi. Who cares if there is some bad acting - bad acting never did Arnold any harm! This film has it all eye gouging, throat ripping shark wrestling, head smashing mayhem. Treat yourself to a Saturday night in as I did all those years ago - turn the lights down and the volume up and enjoy Lucio Fulci's classic "ZOMBIE FLESH EATERS"
33 Comments| 14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 June 2016
Zombie Flesh Eaters, Arrow BD release:
My last couple of reviews of European horrors (Zombi Holocaust and Deep Red) were not positive and I found the films disappointing. It is annoying to find all so often the picture quality fails to live up to the claims about so-called 'restorations' from original negatives. So then, it is a pleasure to be able to write a positive review here for this superior Italian horror film and BD release.

First off, the picture quality on the BD presentation is satisfyingly clear and sharp doing good justice to the cameraman's impressive photography. The BD sleeve's claim "brand new high definition restoration from the original negative" is fully justified here - WELL DONE Arrow!

I would be being less than honest if I said the screenplay and plot were particularly complex or meaningful. Yet it is certainly above average for the genre, and it is to the Director's credit that he manages to pull off no easy task in sustaining the film's interest by deft direction, well-framed and lush photography of the tropical island and seascape (fully realised by the original 2.35:1 aspect), and the dependable acting of the principal cast boasting Richard Johnson as the doctor and Ian McCulloch. Some moments of genuine suspense generated by the taught editing, tight framing and camera angles and use of sound (including silence) on the boat on New York Harbour were well crafted; one was left wondering whether a zombie was about to leap out at the visitors on the boat at any moment.

The highlight of the film has to be the well-shot underwater sequence in which some naked scuba divers meet up with a zombie and a great white shark. To see a zombie grappling with a real great white and trying to bite its neck was incredible! The actor must have had a hidden oxygen supply underneath his prosthetics but it never showed. However it was executed, it was convincing. My only baulk was that the female scuba divers were only half naked. I can't understand how the Director managed to arrange crew insurance cover for this sequence.

Gore was satisfyingly abundant and realistic as one would hope for in such a film, the only exception being the scene in which a zombie pulls a girl towards a piece of sharp wood (I won't say which part of her body as that would spoil the scene). The tension was there but alas the prosthetics didn't do the scene justice and looked fake.

I am giving this film four stars because of the mind blowingly impressive zombie/great white sequence and as a mark of respect to Arrow for clearly spending a lot of love and attention on this release. The film was a pleasure to view. And review!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 February 2017
The item came really fast, in perfect condition.Everything is as described. The story is great - classic zombie horror from 70's ,picture quality is perfect.100 % entertainment.The Blu-ray disc from BLUE UNDERGROUND is REGION FREE and uncut, which is good.The price is cheap so, don't hesitate - BUY IT NOW!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 May 2015
3 *
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)