Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle New Album - Foo Fighters Shop now Shop now



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Very concise with great example pictures. Note the brits ..... this book is written by an American and to that end has words such as wrench and overhaul. Once you get your head round these little isms you too will apprieciate this book and all it contains.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 April 2017
Given as a gift
Recipient very pleased.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 June 2017
Good product and service!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 March 2017
As expected
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 April 2017
Excellent
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 September 2015
This book is useless and complicates everything. More for the already trained mechanic. Lack of pictures and bike jargon make this book complicated and useless for the newbie home mechanic. Also extremely boring. Really wanted to love it but put me off my passion of bike!! Use park tools they have guided colourful pictures and simple but fun explanations
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 October 2016
Now you can watch videos and read web guides on how to maintain a mountain bike but they often skip steps that they assume you already know or have strange angles on the videos. I've learnt more from this book in a week that 6 months of online guides and videos. It is written in a simple but comprehensive way, the hand drawn exploded view diagrams are really helpful and even though the technology is changing very fast it still covers the basics so well. If you take some time to learn some new skills and techniques it will also save you some money and time in the future. One of the best bits of the book has tips and tricks for emergency repairs with some really innovative ideas and suggestions. If you have a MTB and want to look after it better get this book.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 September 2002
Since buying this book I've changed bottom brackets, chainsets, installed chains, adjusted gears and brakes... I'm a mechanical novice and it's great understanding what makes your bike run smoothly. The illustrations DO work very well, especially where components are exploded. (The black & white photos used in many other manuals just don't work with the complexity of MTB components- you can't see any detail.) Top marks for the drawings and the excellent text. And it's fun. Buy it!
0Comment| 57 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 May 2014
I've purchased this book for some mountain bike specific maintenance as I already had the road bike version, unfortunately having got this version I'm finding that there is lots of duplication between the two books and not enough detail on some of the topics I would like to see in a mountain bike book which would be things like maintaining suspension shocks which is covered but very briefly for a few specific types.

The book itself is a good broad guide to bike repair and maintenance although it does lack detail in some areas so as your ability grows the book may not give you all that you need.

If you already have the road bike edition then searching online is probably better than using this book, what I would like to see would be a "Zinn and the complete book of bike maintenance" which covers both road and mountain.
0Comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 April 2012
this book has saved me plenty of money by helping me prevent me damaging my bike in inexpert attempts to maintain it. i've changed my chainset, bottom bracket, re-run cables, fitted a chain, and even changed out the whole frame since buying this book. Very happy indeed.
0Comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)