Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars
13
4.4 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 6 April 2010
This book, "Your Right To Know" by Heather Brooke, is a very informative guide to ordinary members of the Public on how to deal with Civil Servants in Government Departments and Quangos as well as Council Officers in Local Government. It appears that most of the so-called Public Servants are not interested in serving the Public. They are more concerned to keep information secret, which the Public has a right to know, and serve only themselves and their colleagues. The central message of the book is persistence which the author showed in her 5-year campaign which resulted in the Parliamentary Expenses Scandal. There are many helpful hints and suggestions which are of great assistance for those who are unfamiliar with the devious ways of bureaucrats.
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 July 2007
Brooke walks you through how to go about making a successful request and how to get the most from the Freedom of Information Act. This is an invaluable book for all those who want to use the Freedom of Information Act to access public information. Personally I use it as a resource and find myself referring to it when faced with new problems or if I want to find out who to contact and in which Government department. The template letters in the back are also very helpful.
0Comment| 18 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 July 2009
I, for a long time, have been a fan of people like Mark Thomas, not because of what their politics are but the way that they actively exercise our rights in the name of comedy and civil liberties - Buy, beg or borrow Mark Thomas's DVD Seriously Organised Criminal. That was the inspiration for me buying this book and I have used it to seek to get information out of a certain north Cambridgeshire council who will remain nameless.

Public authorities do not tell you that you have a right to know, they would much rather that you didn't. This book explains your rights and where to expand your understanding further, the Act itself is as all laws is only as good as how it is used and the legal precidents set at tribuneral and the rulings of the information commissioner.

The book explains how the act has been recieved by public authorities, Health Service, Local Authorities etc and explains the exemptions upon which information requests can be refused. The standard letters for requests and responces to refusals, should be invaluable to the citizen activist, lobbyist or journalist who is seeking to raise the veil of secrecy and condesention towards the general public of the nanny state.

Well worth having on anyone's quick reference shelf.
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 June 2009
Handy to have in your library. It's comprehensive and easy to read. The relevant legislation is quoted which is a great help when dealing with "jobsworths"
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 October 2010
Heather explains freedom of information; the law, how it works in practice and how we the public can and should use it. She also explains the absolute importance of FOI in support of democracy.

After reading this book, I lodged an FOI request with my local council, to which I am pleased to say I got a prompt and detailed reply.

This is an informative and empowering book. I highly recommend it.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 October 2015
A good book and well worth the read, HEATHER BROOKE wrote the book and did all the work could we at least get it right and take that irritating little man's name off - he wrote a note at the front of the book that's it
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 September 2013
Book was required for a module in which we had to write an investigative piece.

As well as the book being written so wonderfully and a brilliant foreword from Ian Hislop, a journalist himself, it is a very useful thing to posses and it is one of the few books I have kept after finishing university. Heather Brooke should be a familiar name to any aspiring journalist and so this is a must have.

Detailed templates for Freedom of Information requests are also included, which makes sending of those requests that much easier, especially if it is your first. Templates can also be adapted to suit your needs, though there are a few included for different situations.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 January 2013
Fine as far as it goes. But quite out-of-date now. Really needs to be brought up to date very soon if its to be any use.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 January 2013
The law as it stands has many pitfalls for the common man but this helpful little book is full of ideas to help us all get our just rights.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 June 2013
Not one for 'pulling punches', Ian gives the facts and, in his inimitable fashion, virtually implores the reader to reach opinion based on those facts.. excellent.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)