Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars
11
4.5 out of 5 stars
5 star
8
4 star
2
3 star
0
2 star
1
1 star
0
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£13.48+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 30 October 2009
Anyone with an interest in maps or graphics will adore this book. It contains a wide range of maps and plans covering everything from real geography and politics to imagined spaces and dreams. If I have one niggle it's that it could have been larger format and in hardback - more of a coffee table book - but then it would be much more expensive! This is a great value book full of engaging words and pictures and I thoroughly recommend it.
22 comments| 15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 March 2009
Very interesting book- gives an overall glance at many imaginative and scientific cartographic creations out there. Beautiful line illustrations to expressive acrylic applied. I recommend this for any map-lovers or art students, like myself, who are curious about personal geographies.
0Comment| 18 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 November 2010
Excellent book with some very nice layout and images of all kinds of wonderful maps. The only reason I would avoid give a 5 star is because some of the maps are not large enough and you cannot always see all the detail you would like.

That said, if you are an artist or interested in mapping, get this book. It has some amusing and interesting articles and has a lot of content to get through so its well worth it!
0Comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 December 2010
I don't think i would recommend this book for anyone interested in mapping more than superficially. There is maybe a bit better collection with maps than Google images would give you, and some nice stories. But what was missing- deeper explanation and info how it works, what mapping is...and what it means.. etc..
AS said above- some maps are not large enough to see the details, to read the text in it, which was pretty annoying, because they were tone of the most interesting.
I own another book- The Map as Art, by the same author, and it seams much more interesting. And the images collection is better, with more deep examples.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 December 2013
i like all sort of maps like space maps, star maps, mind maps, world maps and etc and this book got maps through out history.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 October 2013
My son wanted this to help with inspiration for his A level art-work. He did very well in the exam and still uses it today
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 March 2013
What a visually stunning book. I have to admit that I've not read the words yet because the images are so beautiful.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 October 2011
This is a beautiful book. Katherine Harman's selection of maps is really well curated within 'You are Here'. The quality of the print and design makes this book not only informative and interesting but a wonderful object in its own right.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 December 2011
This book will be much appreciated by map lovers, but not only. This is definitely a book everybody should have. A masterpiece.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 April 2016
I love this book, so sensual and imaginative
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)