• RRP: £10.76
  • You Save: £0.57 (5%)
FREE Delivery in the UK.
In stock.
Dispatched from and sold by Amazon. Gift-wrap available.
You Are Having a Good Tim... has been added to your Basket
+ £0.00 delivery
Used: Very Good | Details
Condition: Used: Very Good
Comment: A copy that has been read, but remains in excellent condition. Pages are intact and are not marred by notes or highlighting, but may contain a neat previous owner name. The spine remains undamaged. At ThriftBooks, our motto is: Read More, Spend Less.
Have one to sell?
Flip to back Flip to front
Listen Playing... Paused   You're listening to a sample of the Audible audio edition.
Learn more
See all 2 images

You Are Having a Good Time: Stories Paperback – 5 Jul 2016

3.8 out of 5 stars 3 customer reviews

See all 2 formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Amazon Price
New from Used from
Paperback
£10.19
£8.97 £4.31
Note: This item is eligible for click and collect. Details
Pick up your parcel at a time and place that suits you.
  • Choose from over 13,000 locations across the UK
  • Prime members get unlimited deliveries at no additional cost
How to order to an Amazon Pickup Location?
  1. Find your preferred location and add it to your address book
  2. Dispatch to this address when you check out
Learn more

Great Discounts
Shop the Books Outlet. Discover some great deals on top titles. Shop now
click to open popover


Frequently bought together

  • You Are Having a Good Time: Stories
  • +
  • The Sellout: WINNER OF THE MAN BOOKER PRIZE 2016
Total price: £15.52
Buy the selected items together

Enter your mobile number or email address below and we'll send you a link to download the free Kindle App. Then you can start reading Kindle books on your smartphone, tablet, or computer - no Kindle device required.

  • Apple
  • Android
  • Windows Phone

To get the free app, enter your mobile phone number.



Only on Amazon: One product for every need Only on Amazon: New Releases


Product details

  • Paperback: 208 pages
  • Publisher: Fsg Originals (5 July 2016)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 0374293864
  • ISBN-13: 978-0374293864
  • Product Dimensions: 12.8 x 1.5 x 19 cm
  • Average Customer Review: 3.8 out of 5 stars 3 customer reviews
  • Amazon Bestsellers Rank: 475,310 in Books (See Top 100 in Books)
  • Would you like to tell us about a lower price?
    If you are a seller for this product, would you like to suggest updates through seller support?

Product description

Review

"Stark and cutting . . . The book's power comes from Barrodale's ability to distort and project the familiar into something new, like a visual artist playing with shadows cast on a gallery wall." --Nicholas Mancusi, The New York Times Book Review

"Each of the 10 stories in Barrodale's collection is a gem: elegant, subversive, and surprising. Barrodale depicts an impressive breadth of settings and characters. At the heart of each story is a tenuous relationship: in one, an actress explores her attraction to an abusive director; in another, a psychologist navigates a mother-daughter relationship; in a third, a man who eats the same meal every night pursues a mysterious woman." --Travel and Leisure

"These short tales from Vice fiction editor Amie Barrodale focus on precarious relationships: moments with psychiatrists, actresses, and misfits--people who make us nervous. For fans of Lydia Davis and David Foster Wallace, her debut is incisive, risky, and a little irreverent, and a real writer's book." --Elle

"There is a fascinating grotesqueness here, from the mean, broken, oblivious characters to the funny, ugly scenarios they're placed into. Even the structures of the stories are disconcerting: They always open so deep midscene -- so breathlessly ready to go, so breathlessly already going -- it's disorienting, like a film that starts with a character in midfall off a cliff. But the grotesqueness is also cut with moments of beauty, moments when we zoom in to the gold-and-white luminosity of a hand-thrown clay bowl or a psychiatrist treating his patient's expensive boots with Vaseline or a wife's way of telling her husband he has a sharp nail ('There's a wolverine') and searching for it with her tongue. The result is somewhere at the intersection of discomfort and pleasure. So is the world of You Are Having a Good Time beautiful with grotesque details, or grotesque with a little bit of beauty? The answer seems to be, 'Yes.'" --Carmen Maria Machado, NPR.org

"Stunning . . . It is Barrodale's extraordinary gift to get so right in tone and voice characters who never get it right. Many writers can hold up a polished mirror in front of a reader and ask, Look familiar? Barrodale brilliantly manages the far trickier task of holding up a broken mirror and allowing us to find ourselves in the shards . . . Self-consciousness might be Barrodale's theme, but the writing itself is wily, razor sharp, at times hilarious, and occasionally feels like the fast rip of a Band-Aid. One story, 'Catholic, ' about a young woman stumbling through a hazy romantic relationship, is an instant classic. As it turns out, the collection's title is a promise." --Christopher Bollen, Interview Magazine

"'Tis the season for debut short-story collections written by women. I recently finished a galley of Amie Barrodale's You Are Having a Good Time. Just when the detriment of modern technology to contemporary relationships began to feel like a tired subject, Barrodale hit me with a totally bizarre new take. An unorthodox therapist, a mysterious woman named Koko, and an aggressive tailor are just a few of the characters who make this one of the strangest, most colorful, and ultimately unforgettable books I've recently read." --The Nation

"It's almost uncivilized how precisely Barrodale renders life as a banal grotesquerie in which you have the wherewithal to decide nothing . . . Barrodale elevates anecdotes into art . . . [She] is preternaturally imaginative." --Kaitlin Phillips, Bookforum

"Wily and pleasingly claustrophobic." --O Magazine

"The 10 stories in Barrodale's stellar debut collection explore the complications of modern relationships. Rejecting uniformity, the collection spans a variety of geographies, life stages, and experiences . . . Barrodale is comfortable working in an impressive range of styles, and will surely pick up a number of admirers with this standout debut." --Publishers Weekly (starred review)

"This unusual, sometimes-unsettling debut story collection provides the reader with an unvarnished look into the inner lives of a mix of curious characters . . . You never know where [the stories] will take you or whether, at the end of the trip, your life won't feel at least a little changed. An unrepentantly offbeat collection by an admirably free-spirited writer." --Kirkus Review

"[Barrodale's] writing is fierce, intimidating, and well worth our attention." --Jay Slayton-Joslin, Cultured Vultures

"Amie Barrodale's stories make me think of an updated John Cheever--that is to say she is witty, soulful, and sharp all at once. You Are Having a Good Time is delightful and touching." --Mary Gaitskill, author of The Mare

"These intensely sexy and intensely funny stories skitter along the edge of madness. Amie Barrodale is a Nathanael West, deeply concerned with morality and with pushing the edge of what makes a story a story." --Akhil Sharma, author of Family Life

"Amie Barrodale's stories are the stuff of David Lynchian eeriness riding just beneath the surface of everyday contemporary life." --James Franco

About the Author

Amie Barrodale's stories and essays have appeared in The Paris Review, Harper's Magazine, VICE, McSweeney's, and other publications. In 2012 she was awarded The Paris Review's Plimpton Prize for Fiction for her story "William Wei." She is a former staff writer for The Onion and is currently the fiction editor at VICE.


3 customer reviews

3.8 out of 5 stars

Review this product

Share your thoughts with other customers

Showing 1-3 of 3 reviews

26 April 2017
Format: PaperbackVerified Purchase
19 October 2016
Format: PaperbackVerified Purchase
14 November 2016
Format: Paperback
2 people found this helpful
Comment Report abuse

Most helpful customer reviews on Amazon.com

Amazon.com: 3.9 out of 5 stars 14 reviews
Saraswati
5.0 out of 5 starsHilariously funny and heartbreaking
5 July 2016 - Published on Amazon.com
Format: PaperbackVerified Purchase
14 people found this helpful.
L. Giles
5.0 out of 5 starsSmart
13 June 2018 - Published on Amazon.com
Format: PaperbackVerified Purchase
Amazon Customer
5.0 out of 5 starsGreat
5 September 2018 - Published on Amazon.com
Format: PaperbackVerified Purchase
Emily
5.0 out of 5 starsLoved the stories
13 July 2016 - Published on Amazon.com
Verified Purchase
7 people found this helpful.
Perry
2.0 out of 5 starsI read great reviews of this book but woof
8 May 2018 - Published on Amazon.com
Format: PaperbackVerified Purchase
One person found this helpful.

Where's My Stuff?

Delivery and Returns

Need Help?