Shop now Shop now Shop now Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Pre-order now Shop Men's Shop Women's

Customer Reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars
4.4 out of 5 stars
Price:£49.34+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 7 December 2010
If you're looking for a some free weights to use, these are a good choice. Lots of advantages here...

-reasonably priced
-come with a carrying case
-not plastic, made of metal, so one pair is all you'll ever need

Is there anything bad about them? Well, they are heavy (just kidding). Seriously though, I can only think of two disadvantages. Some people might be bothered by the rough handles. If this is the case, a) you will get used to them over time, but you could get callouses, and b) try some plastic wrap on the handles if need be.

Other than that, the only bad thing I can say is that to change the weights, the collars aren't the clip-on kind that make plate changes go quickly- rather they're the screw-on type- which take longer to get on and off, and some might find it a bit cumbersome if you're changing the plates around a lot.

All-in-all a good item to purchase if you're in the market for some dumbbells. And those with shoulder problems might also want to check out Treat Your Own Rotator Cuff for some good rehab/prevention exercises for the shoulder.
1414 comments| 152 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 May 2010
I've had the weights for a couple of weeks now. They arrived within 2 days, which was ridiculously impressive considering it was free delivery and an incredibly cheap price. The box they came in is sturdy enough, and easy to move around. The only real negative critism I can make of the packaging is that it can be awkward to repack. The weights have to be standing almost perfectly upright for the case to shut, and it can take a while to get the 12 of them to do that. Perhaps it'll become easier the more used to it I get, but it would have been nice to have some individual slots to place them in.

Upon first getting the weights out, they do smell a little odd. However I haven't found the smell to linger inside a room; the smell seems to stay exclusively on the weights. They slot onto the bars perfectly, with the spinlock collars again being a perfect fit (as opposed to some less well made spinlock products). Other reviews have mentioned the collars becoming loose; this hasn't happened to me yet so I still have full confidence. The rubber washers on the bars and the collars prevent the weights from making noise. Unfortunately the rubber washer on the collars is prone to becoming unglued and falling out - but they're hard to lose and easy to reglue if you're upto it.

I loved the variety in weight. To be able to start a workout using heavier weight than you're used to in an attempt to use progression, then when that becomes too much to be able to quickly and easily drop down to a lower weight to finish the workout is fabulous. They really do change quickly, with a wide range of different weight to go between. In addition when you get to the stage where these weights are no longer a challenge new discs can be bought and added without the need to buy a further set of bars or collars. Buying a set of fixed weights only mean the smaller weights have to be thrown out as you're no longer able to use them. These weights should be good for a long long time.

Finally a lot of the reviews mention the roughness of the bars. I didn't notice it myself, but my sister had a go with picking one up and immediately asked me why it was so rough. It won't do any harm to just grin and bear it if you do find the bars rough (unless you have some kind of skin complaint) as it'll just make your skin tougher. It won't make your skin harder, drier, simply more capable of handling rough objects without harm. If you really can't take that however, gloves will remove the issue entirely. Past reviews have recommended using clingfilm, I may be completely off the mark but that sounds plain dangerous. Sweat and smooth smooth clingfilm in the middle of a tiring workout.. Sounds like a recipe for harm.

In conclusion then, for the price what you get is outstanding. The product does its job, and the variety is fantastic. The case could be slightly better designed, and the collar washers better fitted, but those complaints are so small it's unreal. If you're looking to get some weights, these have my complete and full 5 of 5 recommedation.
0Comment| 103 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 June 2008
Went for this as it is arround half the price of most of the other sets.
I purchased it Friday night and it arrived on Monday. So it looks like Amazon have fixed their problem sourcing the weights.
The metal bar is abrasive on bare hands (probably quite good if you use gloves though). However, this was quickly solved using a few layers of clingfilm as suggested by Raj B earlier on.
All in all. A good purchase!
11 comment| 56 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 September 2008
These weights are perfect for the non-pro. The spinlock collars are a good fit and have a rubber washer to stop the weights making a noise when in use. The case is heavy duty, but will only really be used when transporting the weights, i.e. not very often. The bars are very rough, so invest in a pair of weightlifting gloves, or a pair of woolen gloves.

The weights are quite small, too. Much smaller than York's sand-filled ones, so they are much easier to handle - you can do tricep exercises without hitting your back. Very handy.

As another reviewer has said, the weights come with a sheet of exercises and you do need a bench for some of them, but you can get away with lying on the floor on a few pillows if a bench is out of your price range (though Amazon do sell some for less than £50 now, for example: York DB4 Dumbell Bench).

Overall, I'm very happy with these weights, and will look into the 50Kg set soon... York 50kg Cast Iron in a Case with Wheels
0Comment| 23 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 June 2009
* Nicely packaged in a reusable case with a handle.
* Come with detailed exercise programme poster
* Extremely easy and quick to change the weights on with the spinlocks.
* Good weights for a beginner (0.5kg, 1.25kg)

The bars are a bit rough but if you start lifting weights you will have to get gloves anyway.
review image review image review image
0Comment| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 October 2015
1) Cheap bars
2) Cheap collars
3) Rusty weight discs
4) Missing one collar
5) No chart provided (it is advertised)
6) The case was old, dirty and had a dent

From the amount of tape and postal papers the case had on it (and no one cared to remove), I am sure that particular set I received had been delivered and returned at least 3 times before. And deservingly so.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 January 2015
The actual product itself (the weights) are great and of very high quality for the price. They are solid and sturdy. The delivery was also top notch considering it was delivered the day before Amazon said it would be.
The only issue I have is that one of the clips on the case was broken so when I removed it from the box the actual weights etc nearly fell out. It also means I can't use the handle to carry it as the clips are on the side. However, I do appreciate that this is probably just a one off and if I was to order it again, it would be fine. That's why I have given it 4 stars and not 5 though.
review image
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 June 2014
Like others mine arrived and was missing parts, in my case the locks to secure the weights to the dumbell. The box is flimsy low grade plastic and thinner than a politicians promise. The stench on opening the box was over powering, what do they cover these things in ??, the grips are covered with a flimsy silver metallic paint which comes off leaving your hands looking like Michael Jackson infamous silver gloved hand. The quality is shocking, an utter waste of money and whoever does quality control at York needs to give their head a serious wobble. In addition I have had to waste three days of my life waiting for them to be picked up and returned. Do you have a relative that you cannot abide, someone you hate with a passion ?? .. buy them a set of these to say "Up yours you oxygen stealing waste of skin" in that special way. If these were a horse .. I'd shoot it.
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 February 2016
I have to say that I am slightly disappointed. A couple of the weight appear to be rusty and the box is dented and scratched. I would expect this sort of quality second hand but I bought it brand new.
review image review image
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 June 2008
I agree with the last reviewer that these 2*10KG dumbells are good value for 25 pounds. Also, on the fact that the spinlock bars included have a very rough surface that irritate your hands, since i had no ambitions of deveoping huge calluses or blisters on my palms i covered the roungh surface with a few layers of cellophane (cling film), which seems to alleviate most of the irritation.
The excersize wall chart provides a good number of workouts for several body areas, however you do need a bench for some.
As for late deliveries i got mine within 2 days - ordered on a saturday, arrived monday 9 am, however i did start a one month free trail on amazon prime with this order, and it may be a good idea to do the same before buying this item to avoid a 6 pound delivery charge (read terms and know where to change settings before commiting!).

Good Points - Cheap, Does the Job Well.
Bad Points - Rough bars, Smells of paint a bit to start off with.

33 comments| 30 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.
See all 15 answered questions

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)