Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars
26
4.8 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 1 November 2001
As a yoga teacher, I found this book to be a superb resource to dip into. Donna really knows her stuff and takes great care to explain the postures in great detail - not just on the physical level but also on more subtle levels. A beginner might well be put off by the wordiness of this book but for someone with a sincere interest in yoga and getting the most out of the postures, I would highly recommend this book.
0Comment| 56 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 November 2001
There are many books on yoga, particularly grounded in the Iyengar tradition. Donna Farhi's book manages to combine an earthy practical approach, with the subtlety of where postures touch the spiritual boundary. While many teachers try writing books on yoga but somehow miss the mark, this book for me reads like a perfected pose looks.
0Comment| 21 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 October 2000
This book has very detailed info on alignment, by a teacher coming from an Iyengar background, but is most definitely not just a posture book. It discusses the 'inner world' of yoga, and its life-enhacing possiblities. Whether you come from an iyengar background or not, you will find much to inspire you. Essential!
0Comment| 19 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 January 2007
I've been renewing the copy of this book that I borrowed from the library for months now, and am about to buy a copy from Amazon. If you want to try to learn Yoga from a book, then this is definitely the one to buy (I've compared it with at least 10 other Yoga books). Donna's explanation of how to do the postures is second to none. Also, her emphasis on being gentle with yourself will ensure that you don't injure yourself, or end up aching so much that you can't move for a week. By following her advice, you will start to feel the benefits after your first session. The book covers all aspects of Yoga, including spiritual and ethical. I've used Yoga videos as well as other books, and this is far and away the best instruction out there.
0Comment| 20 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 September 2013
Received my book quickly. Haven't read the whole thing yet but it's perfect for a yogini wanting deeper knowledge about yoga. I'm currently studying to be a yoga teacher myself and the information in this book is a very valuable tool.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 December 2014
Just starting to read love Donna Farhi's books and getting loads from this book so far. Will take time to read as lots of exercises to try out and practice. Clear instructions and explanations which you often don't get. Learning lots and I have practiced yoga for many years.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 March 2009
What a fantastic book. A definate one to have for a teacher or student.I can't put it down.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 January 2014
I really like the way in which Donna Farhi writes. the book is very practical, but also emphasises the spiritual aspect of yoga.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 February 2013
This book is well written and contemporary- with lots of very helpful advice . It is deal for my BWY Yoga foundation course.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 April 2013
Ordered this book as already had one of Donna Farhi's books. This one is well written with big clear drawings of the body which are really useful. Recommend this book
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)