Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

TOP 500 REVIEWERon 4 August 2016
This is the "Yellow Submarine" on DVD - a full-length animated film, from 1968, featuring a very psychedelic Beatles on a mission to save Pepperland from the Blue Meanies ... It's a cartoon classic - and this 2000 DVD edition has been digitally re-mastered for better video and audio quality. Yet, just to say, the movie has subsequently been fully restored and issued on Blu-ray (see Yellow Submarine [Blu-ray] [2012]) and the improvements are amazing. As such, while I have enjoyed watching this DVD version, I do suggest that you consider the more recent 2012 release.

The story involves a musical paradise, full of peace and love, being attacked and conquered by the Blue Meanie invasion force - intent of ridding this place, Pepperland, of joy and colour. Yet one man, Captain Fred, manages to escape in his yellow submarine ... and he goes in search of the Beatles - who, through their singing, possess the means to stopping the meanies. Fortunately, the Beatles agree to take part in this quest - and the adventure begins. On their way to Pepperland, we witness the Fab Four visit a myriad of strange and wondrous places (as well as meeting the Nowhere Man). And, finally, as the Beatles sing so the evil powers of the Blue Meanies fade away.

This is a very surreal animated film, made in 1968 - immediately following on from the 'Sgt. Pepper' and 'Magical Mystery Tour' phase of the Beatles career during the Summer of Love. It's fun and entertaining, not least because of the fantastic music. Four (then) new songs were included in the movie: 'All Together Now', 'Hey Bulldog', 'Only A Northern Song' and 'It's All Too Much'. Several other Beatles songs also feature, including 'Eleanor Rigby', 'When I'm Sixty-Four', 'Nowhere Man', 'Lucy In The Sky With Diamonds', 'All You Need Is Love', and the title track 'Yellow Submarine'. The album is available: Yellow Submarine Songtrack.

It's a shame that Lennon, McCartney, Harrison and Starr didn't provide the voice work in the film, although the voice actors do a great job. And, fortunately, the Beatles make a (brief) appearance at the end. The animation itself is brilliant, albeit often creatively weird. If you're a Beatles fan then I highly recommend this movie. It's fun for children and adults alike, and now stands as a timeless classic.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 June 2017
Pepperland Excellence
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 September 2017
This is a review for the dvd sold by SEA MEDIA. Watch out: this is an inferior quality Korean version. Poor sound and resolution. This is not up to standard and certainly not worth the money.
Brilliant film, but avoid this version.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 June 2016
Classic Beatles. Well worth a watch once in a while.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 May 2017
Okay, but small
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 September 2017
A very good product that brings back evocative memories.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 September 2007
The picture has got a simple and clear plot, but all those absurd, crazy jokes and strange characters could really blow your mind if you're not accustomed to John Lennon's jokes. It all reminds me of 'Alice in Wonderland' a lot. One should accept the picture 'as is'. Though my 3-year-old daughter loves it a lot! No need to talk about music - it's outstanding! In general, it's different and a definite must-see.
0Comment| 16 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
"Yellow Submarine" is one of those movies that, for me, is pure nostalgia. It was my first introduction to the Beatles, and one of the first non-Disney animated movies I saw.

Even though it makes absolutely no sense, "Yellow Submarine" is still a delightfully weird, acid-tripping story that bounces all over a colorful galaxy of hallucinatory nonsense. And yes, it stars the Beatles as heroes riding around in a Yellow Submarine, seeking to defeat the Blue Meanies. No joke.

Under the sea, there is an idyllic land known as Pepperland, where music rules. But then the music-hating Blue Meanies invade, petrifying the people with green apples and sealing away St. Pepper's Lonely Hearts Club Band. Fortunately Old Fred the sailor manages to escape in a yellow submarine, to find help.

He finds it in Liverpool, where he enlists the depressed Ringo, and subsequently Ringo's four buddies John, Paul and George. So the yellow submarine sets out to Pepperland, but encounters many strange dangers along the way -- the Sea of Time, the Sea of Science, a monstrous vacuum, giant stomping boots, the Foothills of the Headlands (which is full of giant heads), the "nowhere man" in his "nowhereland," and the mind-bending Sea of Holes.

But when they get to Pepperland, they find a ruined shell ruled over by the Nazi-like Blue Meanies. Can the Beatles elude petrification/capture, and somehow manage to bring music back to Pepperland?

"Yellow Submarine" has almost no story, and the dialogue often makes little sense. This is a movie that is all about the visuals -- colorful, wild, acid-tripping visuals that seem to be trying to dazzle your eyes. It's a world filled with sea-anemone trees, flowers, patterns, giant grimacing teeth, a flying glove, time travel, stomping boots and strange puffballs with faces.

Seriously, it's like someone fed LSD to Dr. Seuss and Terry Gilliam at once, then told them to make a movie about whatever they saw. It's awesome.

Most of the story involves the Beatles careening wildly from one bizarre, surrealist world to another. The animators didn't make any effort to make anything seem normal, even in the real world -- for instance, John Lennon is introduced as Frankenstein's monster, who drinks a potion that poofs him into his human form. "Hey Ringo. I've just had the strangest dream," he says casually.

And they do a pretty good job of integrating the various Beatles songs into the story. For example, the time-bending "Sea of Time" leads to a rendition of "When I'm Sixty Four" -- although some, like "Lucy i the Sky With Diamonds," just sort of pop out of nowhere.

Don't watch it for the story -- "Yellow Submarine" is all about the Beatles songs and the dazzlingly colorful visuals. A must-see for animation fans and/or fans of surrealism.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 June 2003
This film combines the graphic style of Peter Max and the cinematic psychedelia of "Fantastic Planet", adds the humor and musical talent of the Beatles, and manages to transform the genre of the "musical" into an entirely new flavor of music video.
The Beatles had already invented the music video with earlier filmed renditions of songs released after their Beatlemania touring days had come to an end. Those films were released as substitutes for the real Fab Four, touring the world in their absence. Yellow Submarine was an altogether new species, conceived as a whimsical but coherent story - sort of a WWII Lite, surrounding songs from the Rubber Soul, Revolver, and Sgt. Pepper albums. It somehow manages to deliver not only a series of exceptional animated "music videos", but also a funny and engaging Beatles movie, every bit as entertaining as "A Hard Day's Night" and "Help".
Yellow Submarine was produced while the Beatles were on sabbatical in India with the Maharaji, and had no input to speak of in the creation of the film. They however, along with their fans and the movie-going public, were quite pleased and impressed by the results.
This film will appeal to fans of The Beatles, fans and students of animation, and anyone who enjoys a well-made cinematic fantasy.
--- Greg A.
0Comment| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 February 2011
I'm so happy that I finally acquired this movie! I saw it as a kid, but only now, at my mature years I fully grasped the more subtle levels and symbols of this masterpiece. A "must-see" for anyone.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse