Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
20
4.6 out of 5 stars
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£9.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 21 April 2014
For anyone who likes CS Lewis this is a great little book for daily reading. It does help though if you have a background knowledge of the other works of CS Lewis otherwise some of the references he makes to his other books might confuse the uninformed reader! It is a great way of reading some of the great writings of this very talented and knowledgeable man in 'bite sized' pieces. It's a good way of doing some thought provoking reading when reading is often seen as a bit of a 'luxury' time wise!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 March 2013
C. S. Lewis's writings have entertained and helped shaped my thinking over the year and I already have most of the books that the extracts come from. What I was looking for was a book with something fairly brief to read last thing at night. This one works reasonably well and unlike some other daily reading books, this one does include something for 29th February (leap years).
4 stars because some of his language and ideas now strike me as old fashioned - not wrong but equally not quite how I might express things these days.
If you are looking for something thought-provoking that encourages faith then this might be useful to you
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 February 2005
This book provides a new reading to correspond to each day. It takes simple extracts from C S Lewis' major works. For new and old readers of Lewis' works it provides an interesting synopsis of this inspired and inspiring man, and may well encourage further reading. I found I could relate to many of his view points, many of which were moving and profound, especially those relating to his wife Joy. It also puts key dates of his life at the bottom of the page for each day.
I would highly recommend this book.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 April 2016
C S Lewis is, I guess, by far the most quoted Christian writer of the last century - and his writing style lends itself to a "through the year" compilation like this one. Highly recommended for Lewis fans!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 November 2013
Anything by C.S.Lewis is worth its weight in gold. This is a book of daily readings and every one is a gem from this outstanding writer. Don't hesitate to buy this or give it as a gift.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 February 2015
I find the majority of the chosen parts of Lewis's are as I had read them when 20 years old (Now 87!) but the greater part of 'those 'days' which I have found again have taken me right back to the day I knew I had the right book! Unavoidably pertinent and clearly well organised by CSLewis - as is the case (don't we all know?) for all his wonderful guidance.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 August 2014
Disappointing. Instead of being short extracts suitable for a daily reading it is often just a straight extract over three or four days from one of C. S. Lewis's books. Not nearly enough editorial work done. A lazy production counting for its sales on the reputation of Lewis.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 January 2015
A very good overview of the writings of C.S. Lewis. Though maybe a bit academic for some he always puts his point over in a way that all can understand.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 May 2014
Cannot be used as a replacement for reading through the unedited books, which surely constitute the most readable Christian literature in print today.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 July 2016
Excellent as it takes quotes from different writing of Lewis and beings a challenge to each days reading which is very good on a daily basis
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse