Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Fitbit

Customer reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
46
4.6 out of 5 stars
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£9.98+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 26 June 2017
Prompt delivery and well packaged. Looks good yet to read, was encouraged to read after the author's presentation of her current book at the Wellcome Foundation in London
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 April 2017
Excellent, well written and profoundly moving in places.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 December 2016
This is one of the best heart breaking books I have read to date. want to know about the horrors of war and the selflessness of man when caring for his comrade, this is the book for you.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 March 2016
A good account of the unsung heroes of the First World War who worked behind the lines, or in some cases in front of it, to rescue and treat the wounded.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 January 2016
Bought as a present for my husband who had heard a talk on the subject by Emily Mayhew. He thoroughly enjoyed the book, on a little known aspect of WW1, and found it very readable.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 February 2016
Wonderful hook. Easy to read
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 May 2016
excellent book amazing accounts of some wonderful dedicated people.
Book in excellent condition & rapid delivery service Thank you.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 August 2016
Delivered as promised
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 August 2015
I have studied WW1 history for many years and thought I had read it all when I now know I have not due to the many first person account laid out in this informative book that brings home just how awful the suffering was for so many and how our systems were completely overwhelmed by the wounded. So many things came to light in this book and to think that only the diaries and writings of those volunteers and military that tell us of the huge amount of information that has been hidden. It seems sad that so many people who should have been applauded for their arduous and gruesome work, like the London Voluntary Ambulance, its nurses and even the dispatch rider simply walked away after the war forgotten and unknown even to this day. It was the actions of these men and women tending to the wounded with such care that really made me think. I could rave on and on about the details and how many injustices there were after WW1 but the one person who I wish I could go back in time if I had a time machine to help out was the poor bearer who was so badly wounded and was denied a disability pension and died in poverty in the early 1980's. All his suffering over the years was not even deserving of a small pension to save him from an awful existence, forgotten and a nobody until now when this book highlights his bravery. His wounds were awful yet he uscarried on suffering from his wounds until the day he died. Sobering thoughts and I am glad Emily Mayhew found his and other people stories to tell.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 July 2016
thought this was an excellent read.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)