Shop now Shop now</arg> Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars
19
4.8 out of 5 stars
5 star
16
4 star
3
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item
Share your thoughts with other customers

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 9 May 2012
I bought this book having read parts of Christopher Schwarz's other popular book "Workbenches: From Design and Theory to Construction and Use"

The reason I decided to buy this book is that I really enjoy Chris's ethos on woodworking especially how he champions hand tool use whenever possible. This book departs from the former as it looks at a whole host of different benches, rather than just two, including those for specific operations such as a power tool bench.

It contains a lot of similar ideas to his previous book, and actually develops further the guidelines to building an ideal bench. Each bench that is contained in this book is critiqued (usually using the aforementioned guidelines) to give you an idea of the advantages and disadvantages.

The best way to approach the ideas laid out in this book is with the knowledge of what kind of woodworker you are. You may find like me that no particular bench in this book is the one you want to build. The author himself encourages the reader not to replicate his designs but to invent their own using the inspiration of the book coupled with an idea of the tasks they will need to use their bench for.

This book also helped me to realise that one of the benches I currently use could be much more workable, there is a brilliant section on improving existing benches and also a look at some of the most recent developments in workholding.

If like me you are contstantly chasing the perfect design for the ultimate bench it is important to realise that this is an exercise in futility as what you learn by building a bench, especially by hand seems to automatically instill and inspire new and better ideas for your next. This book helped me skip parts of that process by elminating some ideas I wanted to try but also gave me the problem of about 15 new ones I want to implement.

I would recommend this book to those looking to build their own first bench, and also to those who are undertaking this task for the umpteenth time.
0Comment| 19 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 March 2011
I've just received this book and read it cover to cover. This is the workbench book I've been waiting for, much more practical than the others (and I've read ALL of them) and a great help for designing and building your own perfect workbench. If you're looking for advice on building a workbench, as opposed to a history of workbenches over the ages, then this is the one book you should get.
0Comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 February 2013
Christopher Schwarz has a delightful style and his research and the content are a pleasure. It's a good read even if you're not thinking of buying or making a bench. If you are, however, there are plenty of ideas to set the mind thinking.

One reservation I had was that it's an American publication. Have no fear, apart from the US ways of talking about timber sizes, it's not intrusive.

If you're thinking of building a bench (and you're unlikely to think of buying one after reading this), then this book is a must.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 March 2013
Covers a variety of workbench designs, with useful critiques. Does contain plans but not entirely prescriptive and suggests a variety of options, vise hardware etc. Having read this from cover to cover a couple of times I am now building my first bench
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 November 2015
Once again delivery was incredibly efficient arriving before Amazon had sent tracking info.
The info in the book is excellent helping me get the design of my new bench worked out and adding some features I have never seen or considered. Well worth the money.
On a sour note I have reduced the rating because of poor print quality. When you buy a hardback book you expect a higher quality however the black and white pictures in this book have white lines running through them and are a bit washed out, still quite clear but obviously a cheap print job.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 August 2014
For anyone thinking of building their own wood workbench. If you only buy one book on the subject, this is it. Written for woodworkers in an easy to understand style. Interesting chapter on adapting what you got. It's american so all dimensions are in feet and inches, is perhaps the only downside for European readers.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 June 2015
This guy must be *the* worldwide authority on workbench design. The book contains detailed plans and instructions, with foto's, for the construction of two fantastic workbenches. But even better, Christopher Schwarz begins by explaining the reasoning behind the designs. On the fly you'll learn a lot about woodworking. Therefore, read this book before you buy or build your own workbench.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 August 2014
Want to know how to build a workbench no matter what sort of woodworking you do? Look no further! Fantastic book and I loved the humour injected into the bits Chris wrote
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 April 2015
Excellent. A must have if you're building a bench. Just finished mine and the book was a key part in planning and for reference. Brilliantly written, decent photos and good touch of humour.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 February 2016
Easy to follow...packed with pictures so you can actually see what it is you are building. From easy to complex plans. Something for every level of skill
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse