Buy Used
+ £1.80 delivery
Used: Good | Details
Sold by musicMagpie
Condition: Used: Good
Comment: Buy with confidence from a huge UK seller, all items despatched next day directly from the UK. All items are quality guaranteed.
Have one to sell?
Flip to back Flip to front
Listen Playing... Paused   You're listening to a sample of the Audible audio edition.
Learn more
See this image

Work 2006: The Scotsman/Orange Short Story Collection Paperback – Illustrated, 3 Aug 2006

See all formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Amazon Price
New from Used from
Paperback, Illustrated
£6.99 £0.57
click to open popover

Enter your mobile number or email address below and we'll send you a link to download the free Kindle App. Then you can start reading Kindle books on your smartphone, tablet, or computer - no Kindle device required.

  • Apple
  • Android
  • Windows Phone

To get the free app, enter your mobile phone number.

Amazon Original Books on Sale
Browse a selection of over 160+ Kindle Books currently on sale from 99p. Learn more

Product details

  • Paperback: 209 pages
  • Publisher: Polygon An Imprint of Birlinn Limited (3 Aug. 2006)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 1904598838
  • ISBN-13: 978-1904598831
  • Product Dimensions: 13.8 x 2 x 21.6 cm
  • Average Customer Review: Be the first to review this item
  • Amazon Bestsellers Rank: 1,812,627 in Books (See Top 100 in Books)
  • Would you like to tell us about a lower price?
    If you are a seller for this product, would you like to suggest updates through seller support?

Product description


Well-known names and talented new writers are all to be found in this volume of the very best entries to Britain's biggest and most prestigious short story competition - The Scotsman and Orange Short Story Award. Entrants were given a single word - work - to trigger the imagination. Twenty of the best stories from the competition sit alongside specially commissioned stories from Janice Galloway, Duncan McLean and Brian McCabe. Last year's winner of the GBP 7,500 first prize was Kirstin Zhang with her story, "The Enemy Within", a subtle, multi-layered story about the deceptions that affect an Indonesian worker's life. Over one thousand entries were received in 2005.

About the Author

Bernard MacLaverty was born in Belfast in 1942. He began his career as a lab technician before studying at Queen's University, Belfast. He has written screenplays, TV and radio scripts, as well as short story collections and novels, including 'Cal', 'The Great Profuno', 'A Time to Dance', 'The Anatomy School' and 'Grace Notes', which was awarded the Saltire Scottish Book of the Year Award and was shortlisted for the Booker Prize. He has lived in Scotland since 1975.

Customer reviews

There are no customer reviews yet.
Share your thoughts with other customers

Where's My Stuff?

Delivery and Returns

Need Help?