Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Blind Boys of Alabama Shop now Fitbit

Customer reviews

3.7 out of 5 stars
11
3.7 out of 5 stars


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 27 July 2014
An interesting book which provides a fundamental understanding of the stages to starting of Christian Meditation. The author asks the reader in his introduction to decide if we "... want to be at peace". I found this quite thought provoking and prompted some deep thinking on my part. The process of following his steps to achieving the ultimate goal I found quite difficult to follow at times and I will have to persevere with the book and the steps described to reach an understanding of the method. I remember hearing at the closure of some church services I have attended that we must strive to reach "the peace that passes all understanding" and this is not an easy state to achieve. However I shall carry on with the book and try the methods / steps described.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 March 2013
Just like meditation itself this book is hard at first because John Main is writing from. Different level of understanding from the rest of us. His language can at times be poetic and hard to grasp but I kept going and it was worth it. After a while I began to understand what he was saying about the purpose of Christian meditation. I would recommend this book.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 July 2011
I have very much enjoyed reading Word into Silence and would recommend it to anyone who is seeking to develop an uncomplicated meditative practice and or is finding their way to contemplative prayer.
0Comment| 16 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 March 2016
A beautiful quiet read that brings wonderful inner calm
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 March 2015
Simple and profound books which set out very clearly the process of Christian meditation. Ideal also for anyone interested in the subject of mindfulness and its connection with mediation
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 September 2012
If i were to recommend one book by John Main this would be it. John Mains teaching on how to meditate is simple (in the best sense of the word) but has great depth and clarity. This is a book that I keep on coming back to. For all those interested in Christian contemplative prayer I would also highly recommend reading Martin Laird 'Into the Silent Land'.
0Comment| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 May 2014
Really practical advice on how and why to meditate in a Christian way. I have been meditating in this tradition for over a year now and it has brought me real inner peace.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 November 2016
Another John Main classic.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 June 2014
The Bible tells us many things about prayer and meditation:
- Blessed is the man ... whose delight is in the Law of the Lord, and on his law he meditates day and night (Psalm 1)
- Love the Lord your God [...] with all your mind (Matthew 22)
- When you pray, do not keep babbling like pagans (Matthew 6)

Incongruently, John Main's book describes meditation as reciting a mantra over and over again, trying not to think about anything, for 20-30 minutes.

The rough idea of the book is that by reciting a mantra over and over again, you will silence the voices in your head, and discover your inner self. Which - because we're created in the image of God - is how to know God. This could be quite a dangerous thing to do, since you're not really knowing God but your own nature, which is fallen and contaminated by sin.

It extols the benefits of meditation - some of which might be true - backing it up with ostensibly vaguely supportive verses from the Bible and from other contemplative writers such as John Cassian. Almost(?) every chapter returns to what feels like the central theme of the book - the mantra - and ascribes to it all the benefits it talks about.

Completely and notably absent from the book are important Christian themes, such as sin, forgiveness, the Cross, repentance, sharing the Gospel and studying the written word of God.
Part of me was left wondering what the author supposed would happen if a non-Christian started meditating in this way. Would he also come to know the Christian God? That would suggest the best way of growing the Kingdom of God is not to evangelise, but to teach everyone this neat method of meditation.

It is very tempting, when reading this book, to think that you have found a shortcut for knowing God and loving others, that isn't founded in praying to God, studying the Bible, preaching the Gospel and repenting of sin. But I fear that this may actually be a very dangerous and misleading idea, leading you away from the one true God, and in towards yourself.
22 Comments| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 June 2014
John Main's guidance is clear profound. It is simple but not easy. Basically, it is a way to empty the mind of thoughts and images, a way of coming to inner silence and stillness. It is an invitation to wait expectantly, aware of God's presence. John Main's teaching has enriched the lives of many all over the world. This book is an excellent introduction.
11 Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)